Reviews

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

A delightful experience

we were in deed fortunate to spend 3 days in the Edward Suite at the Prince George Hotel. except for trying to figure out how the shower nozzles worked, it really was a perfect location from which to tour Halifax. The bed was exceedingly comfortable, the ambiance of both rooms just right to suggest comfort and quality- high class and dignified hotel. The concierges and doormen could not have been more helpful and the printout of directions made travel easier. Gio restaurant as well was excellent. we were so pleased that when my husband returns on business in 2 weeks, he will again stay at The Prince George. Unfortunately the suite across from ours seemed to host an innumerable number of partying young women who were pretty noisy. As the bedroom is bit far from the other suite, we were able to sleep. Afternoon tea in the lounge might be a nice addition.

- Patricia & Howard Goldblatt
Toronto

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Goldblatt,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Guest Survey following your recent visit to The Prince George.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay - thanks for your kind comments and observations.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.





Yours sincerely,

Nicholas Carson | General Manager | The Prince George Hotel
1725 Market Street | Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, B3J 3N9
telephone 902-425-1986 | reservations 1-800-565-1567



Sunday, July 29, 2012

what a great place to stay

This was our first visit to Halifax and we had booked 2 nights for 10 of us. We were certainly impressed with the service and friendliness of all the staff. The breakfast was very delicious with everything we could ask for. Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will certainly stay next visit. Great location also!

- Sheri Rivard
Blind River

Hello Ms. Rivard!

Thanks so much for your positive review and your kind compliments on our staff and service.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Friday, July 27, 2012

Great Stay at the Prince!

Our family and friends really enjoyed our stay at the Prince George. Front desk- very friendly and helpful. The lady there even gave us directions as to how to get on the highway back to Moncton! Pool was excellent and clean as were the pool towels. Accommodation was clean and very acceptable Location was superb - we walked everywhere. Overall the staff were very pleasant. Hope to return some time soon, Carol Hawkey

- Carol Hawkey

Thanks so much, Ms. Hawkey, for submitting such a positive review!  I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and received such helpful and welcoming service from the Front Desk.  I will forward your kind compliments on to Paige at the Front Desk.

Appreciate your feedback and very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Wednesday, July 25, 2012

A wonderful stay on our first visit to Nova Scotia!

Great service by the staff. Friendly & helpfu. Concierge staff was especially helpful in planning our days, and making sure we knew how to get from here to there.

- David Meyer
Marblehead

Hello, Mr. Meyer:

I was so pleased to learn that your first visit to Nova Scotia went so well - and I have forwarded your kind compliments to our Concierge team.

Thanks for the feedback and I do hope that you will return some day - and stay once again at The Prince George!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Lovely

My partner and I very much enjoyed staying at your hotel. The staff were super friendly and very helpful and a delight to interact with. The room we stayed in was very nice and was turned over properly each day.

- Jay Fleming
Toronto

Dear Mr. Fleming,

Thanks for the great feedback.  I was delighted to learn that your stay was excellent.

I have passed your kind compliments onto Simon and the staff in the Terrace!

Have noted your request for moisturizer\body lotion - which we do have available upon request.  Will make sure it is placed in your room before any future visits!

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Very nice hotel

Good location near everything with the option of strolling outside or using the indoor link to the waterfront. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the air conditioning in the room and throughout the hotel was ice cold which was very refreshing during the hot weather we had. There were lots of available amenities which, unfortunately we did not have time to utilize such as the pool, the outside terrace and gym facility which were all very nice. Best liked: Ice cold air conditioning, clean room, friendly staff, underground self parking, indoor link to downtown. Least liked: Tried to check in at 3:00 pm and had to wait nearly an hour for room to be ready; not a deal breaker and understandable considering how busy it was during the Tall Ships Festival.

- Stephen Douglas

Hello, Mr. Douglas,

Very much appreciate your excellent review of the hotel;  it's not often that we are praised for our ice cold air conditioning (!) - but this year has been quite different in Halifax.

We do have a great location, right in the centre of downtown and within easy reach of the waterfront.  I do hope that you were able to experience some of the Tall Ships festival.  So sorry for the delay at check-in - we do our utmost to ensure rooms are ready by 3 pm, but with a 1 pm check-out, we occasionally run behind on busy days.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Wednesday, July 25, 2012

This was a great hotel and near everything!

From the front desk when we arrived late at night to the room service to the maid service and dont forget the great retaurant GIO's--it was all impecable service from everyone- All the members on your team impressed--they all provided exceptional customer service We had the escape package and that was a very good bargain for what was provided --Thank you We will certainly come back if we come to Hlifax in the future.

- Ibraham Ahmed
Linden

Dear Dr. Ahmed,

Great to receive your positive feedback! 

So glad to hear that everyone impressed - and especially pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant, Gio, and the Perfect Escape Package.  Thanks for your kind compliments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Carson, General Manager



Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Excellent accommodations and a very nice stay!

Our stay, from Sunday to Sunday, could not have been more pleasant. A mix-up in our reservations (our fault, not yours) was most gracefully resolved by Jessie. He was more than accommodating in making arrangements to correct the problem. Very much appreciated. The concierge service, front desk personnel and housekeeping staff were all outstanding and very helpful throughout our entire week's stay. I would not hesitate to recommend the Prince George and will certainly stay there again when I return to Halifax. Thank you and best regards.

- Julie Curran

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Curran:

Thank you so much for responding to our Guest Survey so positively!  I was delighted to learn that Jesse was able to quickily correct a mistake in your reservation when you checked in.

Appreciate your kind comments and observations and have passed your compliments on to both Vincent and Virgil in our Concierge department.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Tuesday, July 24, 2012

An Unexpected Relief

I am very glad to have the opportunity to respond to this request for our opinion on our recent stay at the Prince George Hotel. We found the room to be very comfortable and clean, and it was very convenient to walk down to see the tall ships at the wharf (our first priority for choosing the Prince George). We enjoyed the pool and hot (very hot!) tub, and the family enjoyed our supper at The Keg right across the street. The Prince George would usually be out of our price range, but we were pleased with what we saw on your website, and decided to pay a little extra for our single-night stay. We are very glad we did! Our stay ended on a Sunday morning. I went to the underground garage to load the first few bags into our mini-van, only to find that I had left a light on in the van and the battery was dead. When I asked your concierge that day (one was Mark and I do not remember the name of the first gentleman with whom I spoke) about contacting a service to come and give us a boost -- expecting a long wait, potentially significant expense and a serious change in our plans -- he immediately brought out an emergency charge pack for me to use. We quickly brought down all of our luggage and I took the pack down with me; Mark said he was helping another guest and would be down in 5 minutes. To my relief, the van started on the first try, just as Mark got there. I asked him how much this cost -- I would have been very glad to pay at this point -- and he replied that it was free. We can't thank your staff enough for this one act that prevented what could have been a huge change to our vacation plans!

- Jeff Alexander
Deux-Montagnes

Hello, Mr. Alexander:

Thanks for posting such a positive review.  Glad you were here during the Tall Ships Festival and found the location of the hotel so convenient.  It was a great few days.

We all know that "sinking feeling" when we realize that our plans are foiled by a vehicle that won't start - and the usual hassle that follows!  I was so happy to learn that the problem was quickly fixed by our Concierge team and the emergency charge pack.

Appreciate your positive review and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Tuesday, July 24, 2012

A Long Overdue Stay at a fine hotel

I met Mr. Carson a few years ago while staying at the Cambridge Suites in Sydney, NS. At that time he suggested that I should try The Prince George the next time I was staying in Halifax. It seems like we have stayed almost everywhere in and around Halifax except the Prince George. This past weekend was a great experience. The hotel was fantastic, the staff very polite and attentive. We were extremely impressed and have decided that The Prince George will be our Halifax home away from home when travelling to Halifax, which we do quite often. In addition to being a great hotel, the location in downtown Halifax is excellent, and provides easy access to everything that is going on in the city. If you want to go somewhere else, the parking garage provides excellent egress to the main streets leading in and out of town. The value provided is impressive. Thank you,

- Jim Pratt

It was great to receive your positive feedback, Mr. Pratt, and I was delighted to learn that my hotel recommendation worked out so well!  Thanks for the kind compliments on our employees and customer service.  To be selected as your new "home away from home", well, I could not ask for more!

Greatly appreciate your comments!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Prince George continues to set itself apart with the ultimate in Customer Service!!

As a frequent guest of the Prince George Hotel, I can atest to the consistent emphasis placed on providing the ultimate in Customer Service. The staff are trained to provide a no-hassle experience to all guests and they exhibit teamwork to ensure guests are treated in an exemplary fashion. Although I may have the opportunity to stay elsewhere, closer to my business, etc, I always choose the Prince George due to the staff's attention to detail and consistent, friendly manner to which guests are treated. Please keep up the Great Work... A devoted Guest... Ken Paruch PS: The new lounge on the Crown Floor is a terrific idea... a testament to the ever changing search to excel and provide new and exciting enhancements to the Guest Experience at PG...

- Ken Paruch
Nova Scotia Power Inc
Sydney

Ken, it's always our great pleasure to welcome you to The Prince George.  Thank you so much for regularly expressing your appreciation regarding our employees and the excellent customer service you experience.  So glad that you are enjoying the new Crown lounge, Six Seventeen - we are constantly looking for ways to improve..so if you notice anything missing, please let me know!

Thanks again,

Warm regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Monday, July 23, 2012

We felt the service was great.

We felt the special attention on our anaversy was nice. The amenities on the 6th floor and service was great. It was our first visit to Halifax and your Hotel Made it special . Thanks Ken and Sandy Lampman

- Kenneth Lampman
Stoney Creek

Hello Mr. Lampman,

Thank you so much for choosing The Prince George for your special celebration.  I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the special extra touches that can make a good stay great!!

Happy anniversary from all of us!

Yours sincerely,
Nick Carson, General Manager



Monday, July 23, 2012

Excellent as always.

As a frequent guest to the hotel I am amazed at the consistency in your high level service and the cleanliness of the facilities. I'm never disappointed. Even when small inconveniences occur (the parking station wasn't working properly) you always have staff readily addressing the issue as soon as possibly making the inconvenience virtually non-existent (as was the case with the parking).

- Danny Nickerson
Lower Woods Harbour

Hello, Mr. Nickerson:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey.  As a regular guest, it is always a pleasure to hear from you and gain your feedback.

I was so pleased to read your kind comments and have passed your compliments on to Anders at the Front Desk.  Apologies for the "small inconveniences" and thanks for applauding our service in this regard.

Look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Sunday, July 22, 2012

I loved the Prince George

To be honest, there was nothing I disliked. I thought the service, accommodation, location and amenities were all first class. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

- Linda Cupples

Hello Ms. Cupples,

I was delighted to read your positive review and very pleased to note that you could find no fault!!!  That's great to hear.

I do hope that your travels will bring you back to Nova Scotia - and The Prince George.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Thursday, July 19, 2012

We had a great time

The location is ideal. Staff were freindly and helpful. Amenities were great - kids enjoyed the pool. Food was great - we had Sunday brunch and a breakfast during our visit.

- John Momot
Thunder Bay

Hello Mr. Momot,

Thank you so much for your kind compliments.  I was delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments onto our servers in The Terrace. 

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Thursday, July 19, 2012

Halifax visit

We enjoyed our stay at Prince George while attending the Tattoo. Everyone was very helpful, the location was great and have no complaints, only praise. Thank you. Shirley Levings

- Shirley Levings
Perry

Hello Ms. Levings,

Thanks so much for taking the time to respond to our guest survey!

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the Nova Scotia International Tattoo.  Always a wonderful spectacle!

I do hope that your travels will bring you back to Halifax - and The Prince George.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Monday, July 16, 2012

First rate in every area

All staff were excellent and gave great service. The room was very comfortable and the lounge served us well. We used it a lot. Made a big difference to our stay. Would definitely come back and will highly recommend to others thinking of visiting Halifax.

- David O`hara

Hello Dr. O`hara,

Thanks so much for such a positive review - and I hope that you enjoyed the Conference here in Halifax!

Very much appreciate your compliments on our 6th floor lounge "SixSeventeen" and your recommendation of our hotel to others visiting the City.

Thanks again.

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Monday, July 16, 2012

beyond excellent

I truly appreciated your first class service. Everyone on your team whom I connected with were warm, generous and caring. Thank you.

- Lois Ferguson
Mississauga

Hello Ms. Ferguson,

Greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you so much for mentioning our employees.  It's wonderful to note that you received such a warm welcome!

I very much hope that we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Monday, July 16, 2012

Will not hesitate to return!!!

Everything was excellent! Hotel located close to where we wanted to be.

- Gerald Moffitt

Dear Mr. Moffitt,

Thanks so much for your positive review.  Location is so important when choosing a hotel and our guests appreciate our close proximity to everything Halifax has to offer!

So glad that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Thursday, July 12, 2012

A perfect stay

Recently stayed at the Prince George Hotel due to a wedding and was thrilled with the experience. Great rooms, great amenities, and a staff that CONSISTENTLY went above and beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome and at home. I'd highly recommend this property to anyone needing a stay in Halifax.

- Adam Francis

Dear Mr. Francis,

I was so pleased to read your kind comments and can't thank you enough for your wonderful compliments on our staff.  I was delighted to learn that the employees with whom you came in contact consistently went beyond the call of duty and you can be sure that your survey will be shared with everyone!

Hope you enjoyed the wedding and thanks for staying with us!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Wednesday, July 11, 2012

We will return and stay at The Prince George Again

From the moment we drove in, we liked the location and found the hotel easily. We were welcomed by kind Bell Men and had a efficient check in with the same woman who checked us out, I am sorry I can not remember her name. Everyone who we met was approachable and professional. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed, we were on the 6th floor with a lovely common room to use the computer, have a tea or pick up a snack. We walked everywhere in town and found the valet efficient when we needed out car. We did not dine at one of the restaurants but did order room service and were very pleasantly surprised by how good the food was. We would say from The Palace Hotel in San Francisco to The Grace Bay Club in the Turks and Caicos, The Prince George surpassed them both with the quality of room service. Not only would we recommend the hotel to others but we will definitely return.

- Anne Sage
Bristol

Dear Ms. Sage,

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that your in room dining experience surpassed your expections. I will be sharing your lovely comments with the staff; as they love to hear when such a positive impression is made. I thank you for your recommendation and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Thanks again for sharing your experience with us!

Warm regards,

Nicholas Carson,
General Manager



Wednesday, July 11, 2012

awesome hotel and staff

I booked this hotel to take my wife to Halifax celebrate her birthday. we were not dissappointed with anything with our stay at the Prince George Hotel. The room was first class and we had my wife's birthday supper at Gio's and they treated us like royalty- the service was first class as was our meals! the location of the hotel was very central to everything that we wanted to see. we would recommend this hotel to anyone-it was a first class!

- Bruce Radke

Dear Mr. Radke,

I was delighted  hear that you spent your birthday with us! I am so pleased that you recieved first class service when staying and dining with us. I have discovered the young lady serving you was Karine Leblanc-Michie; I have passed on your wonderful comments to her, as I am sure she will be very happy to hear of your appreciation.  Again, I thank you for your wonderful review and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you to The Prince George Hotel and gio in the future!


Warm Regards,

Nicholas Carson,
General Manager



Tuesday, July 10, 2012

What a great Canada Day weekend at the Prince George in Halifax

Really enjoyed our now annual visit to Halifax and our accomodations at the Prince George. Really love the deck and my wife enjoyed the pool as well as the sauna. Close to everything that we enjoy in Halifax

- Trevor Arbuckle
Paradise

Dear Mr. Arbuckle,

I'm very pleased to learn you enjoyed your Canada Day weekend with us. The deck is always popular during fine weather, and I'm glad to hear you also enjoyed the pool and sauna. It's great to know you're making Canada Day visits a regular thing.  Although you cannot book for next year on our website at present, you can make a reservation now by phone when you are ready to, at 1-800-565-1567.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Nick Carson, General Manager



Tuesday, July 10, 2012

in a word-excellant

could not find fault with one thing,from service to accommadations.

- James MacDonald
Sydney

Dear Mr. MacDonald,

Thank you so much for your positive review .... excellent is a word we love to hear!

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Monday, July 09, 2012

Now that's what I call superior customer service!

Dear Mr. Carson, From Mr. Norton's kind offer for our complimentary stay at The Prince George to make up for a previously very uncomfortable visit we had, to the outstanding customer service we received throughout our recent visit and the very comfortable stay we had this time, I was more than pleased with the wonderful experience we had at the PGH! From a lovely hand delivered note and tray of goodies from the always lovely Penny Cameron, to a room on the Crown floor which now has the wonderful lounge for guests to enjoy at their leisure and convenience, to the great view we had from our room, and by far the friendliest staff of any of your industry partners, our visit was wonderful. I will definitely be booking the Crown floor from now on :) As always, I will continue to highly recommend The Prince George to all of my friends and to my Credit Union, CUMIS and Cooperators colleagues. Please pass on my very best regards to Penny Cameron and Craig Norton. Thank you and all the best, Michelle Zareski Regional Assistant Altantic Region CUMIS Insurance Cooperators Group of Companies

- Michelle Zareski
Atlantic Central
Halifax

Dear Ms. Zareski,

Thanks so much for taking the time to send me such a glowing review. I make a point of sharing reports such as yours with the individuals mentioned, and Craig and Penny are most grateful to know your visit was such a success. I'm glad to hear you like "SixSeventeen", our new Crown Service breakfast lounge feature. Thank you also for permitting us to include your review on our website. I very much appreciate your continuing recommendation, and hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Nick Carson, General Manager



Monday, July 09, 2012

As usual, an excellent stay at the Prince George.

Over the last 25 years or so we have had the pleasure of visiting your hotel on at least 3 prior occasions. On our most recent stay were pleased to find the same high standards have been maintained in every respect. Suffice to say all areas mentioned above met or exceeded our expectations. Frankly, there is nothing to be said regarding anything we liked the least.

- Mark Fowler
Riverview

Dear Mark Fowler:

Thank you for sending in your feedback.  It's very gratifying to learn that you've experienced the same high standards on each of your visits - and since your first visit was about 25 years ago, that must have been when we were just the new kid on the block. I'm very pleased to hear your stays have always been enjoyable, and I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Thanks for taking the time to send in such an excellent report.

Sincerely,
Nick Carson, General Manager



Monday, July 09, 2012

Perfect stay in Halifax

Everything met or exceeded our expectations. I especially appreciated the soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers (less waste - more green ;)

- Pamela Hobson
Nashville

Dear Ms. Hobson,

Thanks for sending in your feedback.  I'm glad to learn that your stay was enjoyable, and that you appreciated the reduced wastage that results from our use of soap and shampoo dispensers. Should you have a chance to return to Halifax in future, I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Nick Carson, General Manager



Monday, July 09, 2012

Very impressed with reception, dinning and my room.

Having dinner was a real treat. Being a widower the staff made me feel real important guest of the hotel. Explaining each feature of the meal made me fee real good. At breakfast same thing. I felt so good I took my picture with one of the watressess and the chef Your people are going an outstanding job for the Hotel I will return next year for the Tatotoo Ron Murdock Oshawa Ontario

- Ron Murdock
Oshawa

Dear Mr. Murdock,

I was pleased to hear that dinner you enjoyed with us was a real treat and the staff you encountered made such a positive impact. It gives us great pleasure to get to know our guests and make them feel welcomed as if they are at home. I thank you for passing on the kind comments about your stay and I do look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager