Reviews

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Great Stay on Crown

My husband Jamie and I stayed for my Crown floor/Crown lounge familiarization stay and had a great time! I very much enjoyed the Crown lounge and I actually still can't stop thinking about how luxurious the Crown floor sheets are!

- Mary Macdougall
Dartmouth

Dear Mary:

Thanks so much for taking the time to complete a Guest Survey.  As a member of our Reservations team,  I am sure it is so helpful to stay in our hotel, o that you can really speak from experience when communicating the different room types. I always feel that it is only when you stay that you realize how  ultra-comfortable our accommodation is, and that every convenience is there.  How would you ever know that the linens are so "unforgettable" otherwise!

As you mentioned separately, the rooftops across the way on the Citadel side of our building are an eyesore. I am still hoping Halifax will soon mandate green rooftops as Toronto has recently. Thanks again, Mary, and I hope you and Jamie enjoyed your stay.  You're a wonderful colleague and friend.

Sincerely,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Tuesday, August 28, 2012

25th Wedding Anniversary

My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary on August 22, 2012 at the Prince George. On our Honey moon we we stayed at your hotel and thought it would be fantastic to stay there 25 years later. Our experience from our check in was fantastic. We stayed on the Crown floor and the room was great and the lounge was great as well. On check in our room was upgraded to the room with a very nice bathroom and then later on a complimentary bottle of red wine was sent to our room. Very nice touch. We were also given late check out. We have told our friends about this great hotel and the awesome service. Thank you very much and we will back the the Crown floor hopefully soon. John and Donna Cooke

- John Cooke
Halifax

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Cooke:

What a great idea to return to The Prince George after 25 years to celebrate this special anniversary!

Thanks for the great feedback and for posting such a positive review.  I am so pleased that we were able to "spoil you" a little bit by upgrading you to our Crown Floor.

I do hope that you will continue to spend every special occasion at The Prince George!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Fantastic 25 Anniversary at the Prince George Hotel

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Prince George hotel last week. I decided that for our silver anniversary I should go all out. The hotel lived up to all of our expectations. The room, the continental breakfast and the time we spent at the pool and the outdoor space next to the pool made our stay very relaxing.

- Steve Lerette
Halifax

Dear Steve:

A Silver Wedding Anniversary should definitely be celebrated in style - so I am very pleased that you chose to spend it at The Prince George - and that we lived up to your expectations!

The Perfect Harmony package was the perfect choice for such an event.  Thanks for the feedback and I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel for special events in the future!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Excitement; Happiness; Comfort.

From the moment we found out the wedding we were attending was being held at the Prince George, I was very excited at the thought that we would be spending a night there. As someone from Dartmouth, I had never had the opportunity to stay in the Prince George before, but I have stayed in a few hotels in Halifax at different times. However, I have always thought of the Prince George as the nicest hotel in Halifax. I was travelling with my common law partner to Halifax for a couple of weeks for a vacation and to attend the Huang/Burn wedding. We also had our 5 month golden retriever puppy with us, but I assumed he would be staying with my mother for our evening away. However, we ran into trouble when we discovered both my mother and my brother would not be able to look after our puppy Teddy for the night as both would be away. I immediately thought "maybe the hotel is pet friendly." I actually thought it was a long shot, but I went on the website and saw that indeed it was pet friendly. I clicked on the link and was very happy to read the cute write up about the pet friendliness of the Prince George. It also made me happy to know that our puppy would be able to be with us for the fun. We were at the Prince George the afternoon before the wedding for the rehearsal and I found my partner checking us in a night early. What a treat! That way we would be able to enjoy the pool area and have our room for the full day the next day. With my partner standing as a Groomsman in the wedding, we were hoping for an early check in, but were told that it wasn't guaranteed the room would be ready. The wedding was at 2:30 and check in wasn't until 3, so we were really hoping for a space to get ready in prior to. I was happy with the service from the concierge who helped trolley our bags to our room, to the check in clerk who handed us a wonderful welcome kit for our dog. When we arrived on our floor, I must admit that the decor wasn't as nice as I thought it would be. I think I felt it was a bit outdated for the price and hype around this hotel. I did find out from the concierge that a full renovation was expected next year. I imagine that will be really nice when it's finished. Our room was nice and clean. Bathrooms were lovely. I thought the hand soap was really nice, but I realized at one point that I was scrambling for some hand cream and couldn't find any in the bathroom. We enjoyed breakfast at the buffet in the morning. It was a nice array of food, both hot and cold. The line up for the omelet station was a bit large, so it took a while to get one, but it was delicious when I did finally get it. I did order room service at one point and the tray that arrive was very well done. We were all surprised at seeing door bells outside each door, but it was nice for other guests to not have the knocking sound coming from each room. The beds were very comfortable too. Our only downfall is that we were driving a F150 truck and while we could drive in the parking garage, we managed to hit one of the wooden signs that hang down and scratched the top of our truck slightly. For the most part these signs can be avoided, but if there is another car coming in your direction, that makes it more difficult. Also, there is one point where two signs are hanging perpendicular to each other and that makes it hard to avoid as well. Maybe new signage (painting on the concrete) can take place during your renovations, so that larger vehicles can drive easier in your garage. Overall, I'm happy to now be able to say I stayed at the Prince George. I would be happy to be able to test drive a room once the renovations are complete :)

- Lauren Connors
Labrador City

Hello Lauren:

Wow - thanks so much for writing such a complete and detailed review of your experience at The Prince George!  I'm so glad that you were able to bring Teddy with you - and I hope he enjoyed his accommodation as well! 

We try to ensure all our guests are aware that our parking lot clearance states "5ft 11" because there are quite a few areas where the ceiling is lower because of pipes, signage, etc.  We have designated spots for vehicles that are oversized - available through our valet parking - so please do not hesitate to ask for assistance if you stay with us again - which I very much hope you will.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 27, 2012

Absolutely great!

Location is great but service is superbe. Will book there next visit no question!

- Bertin Hache
Dieppe

Dear Bertin:

We love hearing that our service is superb!  Thanks so much for the compliment.

We all look forward to welcoming you back and hope that The Prince George will always be your hotel of choice in Halifax!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 27, 2012

It was great!

The best was the concier - Mark. He went and got our bags from my car that was already parked in the valet parking, and brought them to our room while we was in meetings all day. Then we were leaving after the checkout time so he then took ourbags and put them in the car for us so we didn't have to leave them at the front desk. Super!

- Angie Brown
Block House

Dear Angie:

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our Guest Survey.

I was very pleased to learn that Mark was so helpful to you and made everything run smoothly!  I will be sure to forward your compliments on to him!

Apologies for the cold air conditioning - in this hot and humid summer, it is sometimes challenging to create just the right temperature in every area of the hotel.  I appreciate the feedback.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 27, 2012

The Prince George exceeded my expectations

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay in halifax. The Prince George exceeded our ecpectations and we would be very happy to stay there agin as well as recommend it to friends, family and colleagues. Kindest regards Norah Higgerty

- Norah Higgerty
Richard Robbins International Inc.
Haute Aboujagane

Dear Norah:

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our Guest Survey request.

We constantly strive to exceed expectations and your feedback reassures us that we are on the right track!

Very much appreciate your review.  Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Sunday, August 26, 2012

Honeymoon in Halifax

My wife and I stayed at The Prince George for our honeymoon from August 11-15. We had one of your executive suites with the living large package. The room was beautiful, especially the bathroom. The staff were all very courteous and helpful when we needed directions or advice on where to eat. We ordered room service on our last night, and the food from Gio was AWESOME! And made us wish we had eaten there earlier in our trip! All in all we had a great time and would definitely return. The only negative thing I can say is the painting in our room was crooked, which drove my wife bonkers. Thanks for making our honeymoon memorable! Mike & Lynette Mullen

- Mike Mullen
Gloucester

Dear Mike:

The painting in the suite is now straightened...and I'm so sorry that it drove you crazy, and I do know what you mean!  I really appreciate you reporting this as it could have gone unnoticed.

So glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon and thanks for staying at The Prince George.  We are known for our excellent food and have an outstanding Kitchen team!  I do hope you will return for an anniversary in the future and book for dinner!

Many congratulations to you both - we wish you a lifetime of happiness!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Sunday, August 26, 2012

A First Class Experience

We have travelled extensively throughout the world but this was our first trip to Nova Scotia. We were very impressed with the quality of service at all levels in your hotel. All the staff we dealt with were courteous and efficient. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the Keurig coffee maker was a nice touch. Your location is within walking distance to the many attractions Halifax has to offer. We liked that you are close to the harbor but far enough away to avoid the crowds and the noise. The continental breakfast was very good, and we had an excellent dinner in the dining room one evening.

- Harold and Betty Ann Mori

Dear Harold and Betty Ann:

Thanks so much for submitting such a positive review - and thanks for staying with us on on your first visit to Nova Scotia (and hopefully not your last!!).

Be assured that I have passed along your very kind compliments to Lynn Davis, our Guest Service Manager.  Thanks again for the feedback.  Hope you had a great vacation!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, August 24, 2012

We Love The George

The Prince George is our hotel of choice when we want a night in town! It is clean, and modern feeling, the staff are friendly and attentive. This last stay gave us the best sleep yet. After the humidity of out of town the air conditioned room was a treat! We love walking around downtown and everything is accessible from the hotel. The continental buffet breakfast seemed lacking in options this time, but our favourite granola parfait was there, though we missed the oatmeal biscuits.

- Terry & Jim Fanning
Head Of Jeddore

Dear Terry and Jim:

I was delighted to read your feedback - and, yes, getting away to a hotel with air conditioning when the air is so humid is a great way to get a good night's sleep.  Glad that you did!

Thanks for the review and observations - request for oatmeal biscuits has most definitely been noted.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 23, 2012

Wonderful stay in luxurious hotel!

We loved our stay at the Hotel. The bed linens were very luxe and comfortable, the pool area was clean and inviting, and the Bed and Breakfast package was a wonderful value. The location was also an excellent jumping off place for Halifax's attractions. The only thing I would recommend changing would be the temperature of the air-conditioned common areas and the room settings. They were set at 19 C in the guest rooms, and were much too cold for us, as well as for other guests with whom we spoke. In Arlington, VA, we turn the heat on when it gets this cold! We changed our room temperature as soon as we arrived, only to have the housekeeping staff put it back at 19. The common areas were also unpleasantly chilly, even for summer. However, this was a small issue, and we enjoyed our stay very much--thanks!

- Lori Rottenberg
Arlington

Dear Lori:

Thank you for completing a guest survey - and thanks for the review.

Sorry that you found the air conditioning too cold for your taste.  Our Room Attendants are asked to leave the setting at 19 degrees when servicing the room so I imagine you were constantly adjusting the temperature!

Thanks so much for your positive review - I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again if your travels bring you back this way!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 23, 2012

relax stay, beautiful ambiance and wonderful staff

Every trip to the Prince Georges as been noting but overwhelming service. the staff are so professional that they make everyone fell important doesn't matter which floor you stay on!

- Pierre Leblanc
Dieppe

Dear Yannick:

Every guest at The Prince George is a VIP - and I am so glad to learn that our employees make you feel special when you stay with us!

Thanks so much for your great feedback - we love to be noted for overwhelming service!!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 23, 2012

Location, hospitality, comfort - what more could you ask for !

Appreciated the friendly and helpful staff from the moment we stepped into through the front doors, to the front desk to and breakfast room. Patiently answered all my questions. Breakfast staff were kind and accomodating to my two kids - even going so far as to prep special nutella bagels and p&b sandwiches for the lunch! Made their day (and mine that much easier!) Location was second to none, and we took full advantage. Thank you.

- Jennifer May

Dear Jennifer:

Thanks so much for responding to our Guest Survey and reviewing the hotel so positively!

It's good to know that your children were made to feel so welcome - you can't go wrong with Nutella and peanut butter!  I'll be sure to extend your thanks to the Terrace server who made your day go a little bit more smoothly.

Noted your comment about late night dining - we are surrounded by some excellent take out establishments and our Concierge and evening staff have a complete listing and can always help - so don't hesitate to ask!

Thanks again for the feedback,

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 23, 2012

Great stay at a great hotel. Good location and courteous helpful staff.

We loved the Prince George. we toured the whole island and went to Cape Breton as well. We stayed at 4 locations in Nova Scotia. the Prince George was by far the best. The staff were courteous and helpful. the accomodations and the food and the location was great. We would certainly come again. 5 star

- Laura Jackson
Hillsboro

Dear Laura:

Wow! Sounds as if you travelled all over the Province and I am really pleased to learn that The Prince George scored your highest rating!  Hope you enjoyed your vacation - you must come back and visit again.

Thanks for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 23, 2012

Very Elegant

I had just arrived in Halifax after 23hours of flights from Australia to see my girlfriend, We booked a standard room and was informed that we we had been upgraded upon our arrival which was a very nice surprise! The room was amazing and my girlfriend absolutely loved it! The furnishings and layout was awesome. We had Breakfast the next morning out on the patio, and even though we were a little late for breakfast the staff still accommodated us and set a table for us. the Breakfast was good and the service was great. I will definitely be recommending and revisiting your hotel. Thanks Again

- Joel Winters
Ascot

Dear Joel:

I think that you deserved an upgrade to a suite after 23 hours of travel to get from Australia to Nova Scotia!

So glad that everything worked out so beautifully - especially that you were able to have breakfast out on the patio.  It's a great spot when the weather is fine!

Thanks for the positive feedback and I do hope that your travels will bring you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Keith Urban Concert August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, we stayed in the suite it was wonderful, beds very comfortable, beautiful bathrooms not just one but two. Very clean room and had a great sleep. Hope to make another journey to Halifax and we will be staying at the Prince.

- Mindy Cardinal
Burton

Dear Mindy:

So glad that you chose to stay at The Prince George for the Keith Urban Concert.  Heard it was great!

Thanks for posting such an excellent review - a good sound sleep is key for any successful hotel stay.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your favourite hotel in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Will return

Best=location Worst=valet and bell staff (except the guy behind the desk inside, Victor maybe? Older black gentleman, he was good)

- Jared MacInnis
Edmonton

Dear Jared:

Thanks so much for completing a Guest Survey - but please accept my most sincere apologies for the poor service you encountered at the end of your visit.  Be assured that I have followed up with those involved and I am at a loss to comprehend why our Concierge would stand back and watch you load your own luggage.  Not the Four Diamond service that our guests expect and thanks for bringing this to my attention.

So glad that Virgil assisted during your stay and I do hope that you will not be deterred from booking with us again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 21, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at your hotel.

The lack of a gift shop is the only issue that I could mention. The room and the suvice were both exceptional. Your staff members are polite and helpful. I shall return! Barry Benjamin

- Barry Benjamin
Athens

Hello Mr. Benjamin:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey!

So glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.  Although we do not have a gift shop like many hotels these days, we do have a selection of frequently sought items available in our "Travellers Essentials" menu - hopefully everything that you forgot to bring and more!  Please do not hesitate to ask our Concierge if you need anything - and we will do our utmost to get it for you.

Thanks again for the survey and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Everything we expected!

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The service was top notch in every way! Beds were fantastic bathroom were very clean any this hotel is very central to everything I would deffently recommend this hotel. I will be back

- Elisha Ross
McGray

Dear Elisha:

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am very pleased to hear that you received top notch service and that you have never stayed in a better hotel. We always do our best to ensure the best service remains consistent every time you stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to wowing you in the future! 


Can't wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 20, 2012

beautiful hotel and friendly staff

I have stayed here quite a few times and plan on staying there in the future. clean rooms and we love the pool. I really like the hours the fitness and pool area are open.

- Kelly Cunningham
Lower East Pubnico

Dear Kelly:


I was delighted to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us and continue to stay with us in the future. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

King regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 20, 2012

A Happy Anniversary

We were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was upgraded to a wonderful room on the Crown floor with room service breakfast. Then we were surprised again with a bottle of bubbly delivered to the room. We'll be back for sure!

- Larry Burke
Burke & Burke Design
Shad Bay

Dear Mr. Burke,

Thank you for your time in providing us feedback about your most recent stay. First off, I would like to say Happy Anniversary and thanks for staying with us on your special milestone. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room and bubbly; we just wanted to make sure your anniversary was extra special! 


We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Prince George Hotel in the future! 

Kind regards, 

Nick Carson
General Manager



Sunday, August 19, 2012

Very impressive time away

We were visiting Halifax for the Canada/Russia Hockey Challenge and in all honesty we were upset when we first booked the hotel as we were hoping to be able to book into the Marriott Harbourfront but it was completely filled. We went with our second choice, the Prince George and I must say it might have become our new "go-to" hotel in Halifax. Everything about this hotel was impressive! The rooms were very nice, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the pool and gym were very very nice! The location of this hotel is quite possibly the best in Halifax. I parked my vehicle Friday afternoon at 3:30pm and didn't see my vehicle again until Monday around 11:00am when I checked out. With the convenient location, we were able to walk to the rink, Spring Garden Road, and to the Waterfront. The only issue is the hotel price is a bit steep. I was hoping for a better government rate as when I travelled on business and stayed at the Marriott Harbourfront their federal government rate was $125/night where as I paid $189/night at the Prince George. That would be the only reason for me not choosing the Prince George in the future.

- Chas Mcneill
Richmond

Dear Chas:

I really appreciate your review of our property, especially since you were initially not happy that you had to stay here!  I was delighted to learn that you were pleasantly surprised and I do hope that I can encourage you to return. We do offer competitive government and seasonal rates which are set for each year in the fall - so please continue to check as we would love to welcome you on a regular basis.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Saturday, August 18, 2012

EXCEPTIONAL

I had read several reviews on trip advisor before I booked this hotel. Since the reviews were so great I had high expectations. From the moment I arrived and pulled my car up outside the hotel I knew that everything I had read about The Prince George was true. I was immediately greeted by a friendly, warm, courteous gentleman who reassured me that my car would be just fine outside while I checked into the hotel. My room was beautiful, clean and nicely decorated. Everything I could possibly need or think of during my stay was available in my room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the linens superb. The location of the hotel is perfect. I had a great view of the city and the citadel. Everything was in walking distance; restaurants, shops, siteseeing, harbor, etc. I had some concerns about the parking accommodations, however, that along with everything else was perfect. The garage was conveniently located around the corner from the hotel lobby entrance. Elevator access took me directly into the hotel. Space was plentiful and roomy, no hassle. But the most wonderful thing about this hotel which stands out above everything else is the exceptional staff. I was a single woman traveling alone from the USA. I had some anxiety about being alone in a new city but I have always wanted to visit Halifax and I was so excited to be there. The staff were so wonderful and made me feel so at home that they immediately put all my fears to rest. Each and every employee I interacted with (especially Rayanne, Paige and Anders) conducted themselves in the upmost professional manner. They were kind, courteous, helpful and always willing to go above and beyond to satisfy your needs. In conclusion, my expectations concerning this hotel were exceeded ten fold. The service at this hotel is superior to anything I have experienced elsewhere. I would return to this hotel again and again and I would highly recommend it to others. Halifax is a great city and the people who live there are so wonderful!!!! I can't wait to return.

- Sandy Walsh

Dear Sandy:

Wow!  I could not ask for a more positive review of The Prince George.  Thank you for your glowing compliments regarding all of the employees you met during your visit.  Your kind words have been forwarded to Rayanne, Paige and Anders at the Front Desk.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Saturday, August 18, 2012

We will be back!

We had a wonderful stay at your hotel. Our room on the 6th floor was very comfortable, especially the bed. Nice view and we also enjoyed the lounge. Great location, Halifax is a lovely city and very walkable everywhere from the hotel. We went to Gio a few times, great happy hour and had a terrific dinner there. We also enjoyed your Sunday buffet as well. With our daughter settling in Halifax and working at the Cambridge Hotel we will definitely be visiting often from Massachusetts and staying at the Prince George Hotel. Service from everyone was excellent. Thank you. Wendy Goldsmith

- Wendy Goldsmith
Newburyport

Dear Wendy:

I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Prince George - and to Halifax.  Since your daughter has settled here, I hope that you will stay with us whenever you travel from the US to visit her.  Even better, she is working for Centennial Hotels!

Thanks for your positive comments regarding our Sunday Brunch and dinner in Gio.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, August 17, 2012

We loved our stay at the Prince George.

My wife and I usually stay at the Delta Barrington when we visit Halifax (about four times a year.) The Prince George was even nicer than the Delta. Wonderful service and a lovely room. If we could get the NSTU rate, I think we would switch hotels. The only complaint I would have is the in-room coffee was not pleasant to drink. Everything else about our stay was wonderful.

- Peter Crouse
NSTU
Liverpool

Hello Peter:

Thanks so much for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey.

I really appreciate your feedback and do hope I can encourage you to stay with us again when you travel to Halifax.  We strive to offer competitive rates that vary seasonally throughout the year (often with inclusions like parking or breakfast) so please call our Reservations office directly for the best rates and ask about packages that might be in effect during the dates of your visit.

I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the in room coffee - the Keurig machines were installed just this year and I do need your input regarding the quality of the coffee they produce.

Thanks again!

Kind regards.

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, August 17, 2012

An excellent hotel and location for anyone wanting to relax and enjoy the city downtown.

The Prince George Hotel is an excellent hotel with an excellent location. My wife and I visit the hotel every so often so we can enjoy the downtown area. We like the idea of doing something in the downtown and can just walk to the different stores and boardwalk area. The hotel check-in was quick and efficient and the staff were excellent. The only complaint I had was that they did not explain to me exactly what my entitlements were. I had gone to the restaurant for breakfast thinking I had the full breakfast when I only was entitled to the Continental Breakfast which was at another location in the hotel. This was not a major issue and I appreciated the benefits I did have. I was upgraded upon my arrival to the Executive Suite and that alone was worth every penny. The rooms were excellent and I could not think of anything that was negative for accommodations. I was impressed. My wife and I were very pleased. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others should the opportunity arise.

- William Kelly
Antigonish

Hello Mr. Kelly,

Thanks so much for the positive review and I was delighted to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy our Crown Floor!  So sorry that the breakfast arrangements were not communicated clearly when you checked in; as you probably discovered, there is a lounge on the Crown floor specifically for Crown floor guests, which serves a continental breakfast - and there is also a tray service where you can enjoy your breakfast in your room if you wish.

I very much appreciate your positive comments on our hotel, customer service and location and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, August 17, 2012

A stay fit for the Queen

From check-in to concierge requests to check-out my stay at the Prince George was refreshingly relaxing. I came to Halifax for a work conference but was able to find time to unwind and relax each evening as I returned to your hotel. It is a great location and your staff are extremely accommodating. Thanks for a great stay!

- Michelle Gillis
Scotsburn

Dear Michelle:

Thanks so much for your positive review - and I am so pleased that your stay was "fit for the Queen"!!!

Sorry about the parking situation during your Conference - there was an extremely popular hockey game at the Metro Centre next door and although we try to save sufficient spaces for our guests, on this particular evening, it was somewhat chaotic and we failed.  I do apologize.

I very much appreciate your feedback and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 16, 2012

Superb!

Here was my rating on Trip Advisor: 5 of 5 stars Excellent stay at the Prince George Hotel! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and our stay in the Edward Suite was superb! Top notch service and very clean hotel. The bathroom was very impressive with an extra large shower and big jacuzzi tub and the king size bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend you try this hotel!!! Stayed August 2012 4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality 5 of 5 stars Rooms 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service Ask Wendy S about Prince George Hotel

- Wendy Southworth
Fredericton

Hello Wendy!

Many thanks for your great review and for giving us such high marks on Trip Advisor as well.  Your feedback is much appreciated!

If you plan to stay with us regularly, you might like to sign up for our Prestige program.  Details are on our web site at https://secure.princegeorgehotel.com/prestige/.   Basically, we keep track of the number of nights you book with us annually and you can earn a Prince George gift card at the end of each year as long as you stay 10 nights and more during the year.

Thanks again for your feedback and I do hope that The Prince George will become your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 16, 2012

Perfect night away!!!

We recently had a one night stay at the Prince George Hotel and we absolutly loved it. We stayed on the crown floor. We love being able to run down the room and grab a orange and a pop, check emails and relax. Our guest room was perfect the bed are so comfortable. We love staying at this hotel. One thing that i would recommend would be to check into the parking system. We had our ticket validated when we first arrived and then when we went to leave later on that day we had to get our ticket validated again and unfortuntely when i went to go out shopping that evening again i ahd to get it validated. It finally got it right when we were on our way out the next morning. But overall very happy with our stay we will be back again.

- Angela Waite
Kensington

Hello, Angela:

Thanks so much for your review, and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed our new Crown Floor lounge, which we've named SixSeventeen!

I am sincerely sorry about the hassles with your parking ticket. The frustration you experienced by getting repeatedly "stuck" at the gate and needing to return to the desk to get another ticket should not have happened. We've since had the system serviced, and I thank you for telling me about it.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 16, 2012

An extraordinary visit

We arrived a little early for check in, and the lady at the desk was very helpful in getting us a room with a view of the harbor. The room was ready soon and the check in was smooth, and the. Room beautiful. Of the many nice features the shower was the highlight!. We used the concierge, ate in Gio, used room 617, and everything was above expectations. While it did not stop me from nibbling, the nuts and raisins were a little stale. We had a wonderful 2 day stay, and definitely will stay with you again! You were recommended by Richard and Janet Southby of Washington DC, who are very close friends.

- Stephen Fisher
Washington

Hello Mr. Fisher!

Thank you so much for reviewing our property so positively - and I am thrilled to learn that the hotel was highly recommended to you!  I was delighted to learn that everything was above expectation (except the nuts and raisins - appreciate the heads-up!). Thanks you also for your kind compliments regarding Steven, our Concierge - which have been passed along to him.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 16, 2012

Outstanding Staff and Location

Super location to get around downtown Halifax. The staff is friendly, helpful and courteous whether it be the concierge, front desk or houskeeping staff. Rooms are clean and very comfortable and the amenities what you would expect in a high end hotel. Will definately stay there in future trips to Halifax.

- Francis Martin
Cornwall

Hello Mr. Martin!

Thanks so much for the positive review - and for describing our staff as "outstanding"!  That's what we love to hear!  I was also interested to learn that you found the best "deal" on our own hotel booking site - appreciate this mention.

Very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 16, 2012

Excellent stay

Very nice accomodations. What I really liked about the hotel is that the bellhops "ask" if you need assistance. We stayed at teh Chateau Frontenac just prior and I really don't like the bellhops assuming and demanding to take your luggage. Nice and clean and close to everything.

- Don Patrick
Oshawa

Dear Don:

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review.  It is interesting to note your comment regarding our Concierge and the fact that they always ask if you need assistance - rather than just presuming. Thanks for the mention, which will be passed on to the team!

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Great Hotel!

This is my 6th time staying at the hotel and always a pleasure and I always recommend to others.

- Charles Galea
Toronto

Hello Mr. Galea:

Thanks for submitting such a positive review - and I hope you continue to make The Prince George your hotel of choice!

Your kind compliments have been passed along to Rayanne at the Front Desk!

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 14, 2012

FANTASTIC!!!

We`re a military family and unfortunately my husband has been posted to Edmonton without us, (it may be a year before we see him again ~ he left this morning, *Tuesday*). We chose to stay at the Prince George Hotel for our last weekend together as a family for a special treat, and a "special treat" it certainly was! We swam in the pool, soaked in the hot tub, had a beyond amazing Sunday Brunch and the staff was so nice! Thank you for making our last family weekend together very special.! Sincerely, The Queenan family.

- Kenneth Queenan
Hammonds Plains

Dear Queenan family:

I was so glad to learn that you were able to spend such a great weekend together at The Prince George before Kenneth left for Edmonton - and we wish him all the best.  A year will just fly by!  It's never easy though, is it?  Thanks for the kind compliments which have been passed along to Teri-Lynn.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again when your family is together again!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 13, 2012

Great Hotel

Had a great stay at the Prince George as always. I told all my friends and family what a great hotel years ago, and they all go there now and they say the same. Thanks Andre Johnson

- Andre Johnson
Dieppe

Dear Andre:

Many many thanks for the excellent review and the recommendation!  We always believe that our best advertising is through word of mouth - so thanks for spreading the word!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 13, 2012

The finest of them all!

Prince George is the best in Halifax! I can say this because I stayed at most of the hotels. Once I stayed at Prince George, no other compares. It is clean, classy and tastefully decorated. The air quality is exceptional, the beds are a dream and aveda products provided are amazing! The pool area is heaven. You are in a glass haven surrounded by beautiful gardens on the exterior. The Hot tub truly is the best I have ever been in, in a hotel! Prince George does not skimp on quality. The staff is the most friendly people in the tourism industry! Lastly, the restaurant offers amazing food! So, when you factor in all these wonderful qualities of a hotel and place it in the heart of the downtown, how could you choose any other? I know I wouldn't! Thanks Prince George for making my getaway a complete and utter fantastic vacation away!

- Nicole Burgoyne
New Glasgow

Dear Nicole:

We could not ask for a better review of our hotel!  Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely description which covered just about everything - even the air quality!  We could not ask for more.  Thanks so much for giving us the number one spot!  We really appreciate your delightful comments and recommendations and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Sunday, August 12, 2012

Beautiful Hotel. I would return time and time again.

we had a family wedding at your hotel in 2011. Our visitors from Ireland and Alberta were so impressed with accommodation, service,food and the staff were so accommodating. Big thanks to Penny McKinnon who organized everythiong. We loved your patio and used it lots. That is the reason that we returned again this year and plan on returning again very soon . The Prince George is so central , walking distance to downtown, the harbour, restaurants and shopping and of course to your museums and galleries., Looking forward to our next trip to Halifax and The Prince George Hotel.

- Eileen Cunningham
Viking,

Dear Eileen:

Thanks so much for writing such a positive review in response to our Guest Survey!  I was so pleased to learn that your family "from away" were impressed with The Prince George when they stayed last year and I have passed your kind compliments on to Penny MacKinnon.

It's good to know that we have remained your favourite hotel in Halifax and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,


Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, August 10, 2012

Excellent service and very nice accomodations.

We enjoyed the location, easy access to great restaurants,shopping and churches. Everyone was extremely helpful. Thank you We will stay again when we come back to Halifax

- Brent Dibartolo
Ottawa

Dear Brent:

Hope you enjoyed the wedding - and delighted that you had a good stay at The Prince George.  We certainly have a great location - right in the centre of everything!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, August 10, 2012

Fantastic Girls Night

My daughter wanted to take me camping! But I told her instead of sleeping on a cold, hard ground and eating cereal I wanted to show her my idea of camping! So.......we drove to Halifax and the Prince George Hotel and stayed on the Crown Floor and I showed her what my idea of camping was! To say the least, I think she was very impressed. The room was fantastic, our evening was fantastic and our swim in your pool the next day was fantastic tool. The front desk personnel made were very nice and made Cassie feel very special which was so important to our stay and our mother-daughter time together! The one thing we both were disappointed in was the breakfast buffet in the lounge on the Crown Floor. Having stayed many times at the Halifax Delta and Moncton Hotel Beausajour, it did not compare well and she commented several times on that. Overall, it was a fantastic stay and we will be back again! Thank you.

- Barbara Fisher
Chester Basin

Hello Ms. Fisher:

Your guest survey reminds me of a Girls' Weekend I arranged once called "We Love Not Camping"!
Thanks for "camping out" at The Prince George and I'm so glad that everything went so well.

Have taken note of your comments regarding the breakfast buffet - the quality of breakfast is vitally important to an overall excellent stay and I am so sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. Not what we want to hear - but the only way we can make positive change in the future.

Hope you will return to our campsite again in the future!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services



Thursday, August 09, 2012

Great stay at The Prince George

We loved everything about The Prince George, the location, a short walk from all the downtown Halifax attractions was a definite bonus. The room size was perfect, the staff attentive and friendly. The view was great. The bed was extremely comfortable. The coffee in the room was good, and the coffee in the lobby a nice touch. Housekeeping did a great job each day. The Terrace was great for breakfast and the service there was fantastic. The hotel provided all the amenities we could wish for.

- Gary Coe
Toronto

Hello, Mr. Coe!

Sounds like you had a great stay at The Prince George - no complaints...I can't ask for any more than that!  And a nice compliment for Christine.

Many thanks and hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, August 09, 2012

Great hotel

My first visit to halifax and I enjoyed the PG hotel very much

- Paul Jenkins
Coldwater

Hello Mr. Jenkins,

I was delighted that you chose The Prince George for your first visit to Halifax!  Thanks for the positive review and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, August 08, 2012

A well run hotel.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. People were very friendly and helpful. We will stay there the next time we come to Halifax. Very clean.

- Andy Myers
St Catharines

Dear Andy:

So glad that you enjoyed your stay - and thanks for the positive review. Hope you will continue to book with us. Even though we are not directly on the Halifax waterfront, I feel that we do have a better view of the city, downtown area and the harbour - than our competition "down the hill"!!!!

Look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, August 08, 2012

Responsive and professional

Hi, My name is Jim Gilbert and I am the Managing Director at Atlantic Lottery. Recently, I had the opportunity to host a group of ~20 people for 2 days at the Prince George Hotel and also use your conference facilities. We had planned on finishing day-2 at noon. But, we ran a bit behind. I made a call to amend our contract and have some sandwiches and snacks for the group. Within minutes, a very professional team arrived to feed our group. Just wanted to share with you that makes a big difference. As a customer, I was very pleased. The facility was great and the service even better. Thanks very much to the team on their responsiveness. Jim Gilbert

- Jim Gilbert
Atlantic Lottery Corporation

Dear Mr. Gilbert,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write and I was delighted that everything went so well for your group!

We realize that plans change - and more often than not, meetings do not finish as scheduled and so we are more than happy to adapt to your needs.  I was so glad that your request was taken care of promptly!

Very much appreciate your positive review.  Thanks again!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, August 08, 2012

great job on the Noskwith/Schwartz Bar Mitzvah!

Just a quick note to complement your team on the 2 parties your hotel did for the Bar Mitzvah I just attended. Your team out did themselves on the food and serve for both the Saturday night function and the Sunday brunch. It was a delight surprise, the food was spectacular and the service exceptional. Thank you Elizabeth Carson

- Zachary Carson
Calgary

It was our pleasure to host the Bar Mitzvah this past weekend and it sounds as if a good time was had by all!  Thanks so much for the feedback - I will share your description of the food as "spectacular" with my terrific Kitchen team!

Thanks from one Carson to another!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Wednesday, August 08, 2012

elegant & cosey

We find your hotel elegant, cosey and very profesinaly managed. We sure enjoyed our stay and hope to visit you again. Yuli & Raffi Levit

- Rephail & Yuli Levit

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Levit:

Thank you so much for the positive review following your recent stay!

I was delighted to learn that you found our hotel "cosy yet elegant".  A lovely description.

I do hope that your travels will bring you back to Nova Scotia in the future.

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, August 07, 2012

ANOTHER GREAT PRINCE GEORGE VISIT

This was another great visit to your Hotel. My wife and I try to visit your Hotel several times a year for a "Halifax" weekend all the way from Tantallon. As usual, the staff was exceptional, room was immaculate. Can't say enough!

- Glenn Stevens
DND
Glen Haven

Hello Mr. & Mrs. Stevens:

Thanks for choosing The Prince George for your "Halifax getaways"!!  Delighted to hear it was another good one!  

See you again soon, I hope!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager



Tuesday, August 07, 2012

Accommodations were pleasant and centrally located

Our experience was great! The room was clean, tastfully decorated and the amenities at the wedding were lovely. We will be back! My only comment is that I wish the movie services were not so easily accessible or maybe accessible by a special code. When I was in the shower, my kids ordered two movies at a cost of $16.99 and $17.99. Oh my... The pool was lovely overlooking the terrace and we really enjoyed the white wine that was already in the room :) Thank you, Jennifer Matthews

- Jennifer Matthews
Dartmouth

Dear Jennifer:

So pleased to learn that you enjoy the wedding and your stay at The Prince George!  I am quite sure you were not so pleased to learn that your children had ordered two movies without your permission.  Feel free to speak with our Front Desk in future (and this is the case in most hotels) as we can block the movies and only allow access when you are ready to order.

Thanks again for the feedback and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, August 06, 2012

wonderful hotel

We stayed 2 nights on vacation. The location was great, the room clean, the ammenities great and the buffet breakfast was first class. Overall, a great experience.

- John Barry

Hello Mr. Barry!

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay.

I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and have taken note of your kind comments!  So sorry that you had some problems with our parkade signage;  be assured that we appreciate this kind of feedback.  Signage that seems clear to us may not be so for everyone else!!!

Thanks again and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Nick Carson
General Manager



Sunday, August 05, 2012

A True Get Away

My dear uncle booked us a 4 night stay in early July, at The Prince George Hotel, Halifax. It was much more than we ever expected. I am not sure where to start, could it be the quality of the soaps, shampoo, or the bed linens? We were very impressed one morning when the front lobby coffee pot was empty, my poor uncle just walked outside to join us out on the terrace only to have a staff member walk over to where we were sitted with a fresh cup of coffee in hand, without him even asking! Now that is service. In one of the rooms we did have some trouble with the shower faucet, but for the 2 other rooms we occupied they were extremly clean and just delightful to stay at. I give your hotel strong recommendations to all my friends & colleaques. Once Again hats off to Lynn, and all the other staff members for making our stay in Halifax a wonderful time. Rhonda Masse Hugh Rutter, Montreal, Qc.

- Rhonda Masse

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey!

I was delighted to learn that everything went so well - and that the experience was more than you expected!  It's always nice to be "treated" and I am sure that your uncle was equally pleased.

Apologies for any problems with the faucet in one of the rooms you occupied.  Thanks for bringing this to my attention so that it can be quickly fixed.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson,
General Manager