Reviews

Sunday, September 30, 2012

A welcome change!

After a long flight from the UK, my wife and I found that the hotel which we had originally booked was totally unsuitable in terms of site & distance from downtown Halifax. Almost immediately on arrival, I found the Prince George website & having spoken to the very helpful reservations staff, managed to book our next 2 nights there. I cannot fault the hotel in any way - staff were very personable and helpful, the room was elegant and extremely comfortable, and the location was great - just about 10 minutes walk from the waterfront, and less than 5 minutes from the citadel. We stayed on floor 6 - and the provision of a complimentary lounge with drinks, coffee, snacks etc was greatly appreciated. There is no doubt that this hotel is spot on in every way. Other guests we spoke to were generally regulars and confirmed our feelings that we had probably found the best hotel in Halifax. I suppose my one and only gripe is that coming from the UK, we expect parking to be complimentary, so the $20 a day fee was a bit of a surprise.

- Ken Anderson

 Hello Ken!

I was delighted to learn that you found The Prince George after such a long flight.  I am sure that all you wanted to do was get settled and relax! 

Thanks so much for the great review of our hotel and services.  It's good to know that we were "spot on" - exactly what you were looking for.  All of the downtown hotels charge for prking, although the charge is sometimes hidden in a higher room rate.  Should you return to Halifax, check our website as we often have packages that include parking and\or breakfast in an all inclusive rate.

Thanks again for the feedback!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, September 28, 2012

First Stay at the Prince George

This was my first stay at the Prince George and I have nothing but glowing remarks for my stay. It was clean, quiet and the staff were all very helpful.

- Frieda Maclaren
Charlottetown

Hello Frieda:

Thanks so much for responding to our survey and I was delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I have forwarded your kind comments on to Deanna in Room Service and very much appreciate your thoughtful compliments on the service she provided.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, September 28, 2012

One wonderfull stay like always while in Halifax

I always stay at the Prince George Hotel while in Halifax. On a recent conference in halifax I was booked to stay at the Westin Hotel. There is no comparison to The Prince George. The rooms at the Westin were dirty with stains on the carpet, the door to the room would not close properly, there was no fridge in the room just a chiller. The Prince George is the the best hotel in Halifax, the rooms are very clean , they are very big and have everything in them that you would ever need. The Staff are very friendly and make you feel like you are home and go out of their way to help you. So when I am in Halifax and which is at least once or more each month I always stay at the Prince George.

- Martin Macphee
Nova Scotia Power Inc
New Victoria

Dear Martin:

Thanks so much for writing such a positive review - it's always a pleasure to welcome you.

I really appreciate your comments on our guestrooms, our staff and services.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your favourite hotel in Halifax!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, September 28, 2012

My stays at your hotel never disappoint

Check-in was smooth and quick, we were given a complimentary upgrade to the 6th floor which was awesome, especially the breakfast room. Staff were super courteous and very accommodating. I cannot think of one thing I did not like

- Dale Weldon
Johnson Inc
Fredericton

Dear Dale:

Thanks for trying so hard to find fault with your recent stay at The Prince George!!  I was delighted to learn that everything went so well and very much appreciate your kind compliments on our staff and service.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, September 27, 2012

Favorite place in NS to stay!

Love the Prince George, had the privilege of staying in the George Suite last time there, amazing!

- Scott & Katherine Gates
Margaretsville

Dear Mr & Mrs. Gates:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Guest Survey following your recent visit to The Prince George.

I was delighted to learn that The Prince George is your favourite hotel in Nova Scotia and so pleased that we were able to "spoil" you a little bit in the George Suite!

Thanks so much for the recommendation and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Excellent Service

From the moment we got out of our car we expirenced excellent service at the Prince George. We were impressed with our comfortable room, very clean and thoughtfully designed with two arm chairs. Very pleased with the free Internet access. Impressed that we were given the opportunity to decide when we wanted our room cleaned. My only criticism would be the lack of choices in the lounge for breakfast and no cocktail hour snaks in the evening that often provided by other hotels (like the Hilton) in their executive lounges. Other than that, I highly recommend te Prince George!

- Anita Tarab
Huntington

Dear Anita:

Thanks for taking the time to answer our Guest Survey!

I was very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and have passed your compliments onto our Concierge team.  I welcome your feedback on the sixth floor lounge, Six-Seventeen, as the room is continually evolving and I love to hear what those who use the room appreciate and look for.

Very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back,

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 25, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

This hotel is a combination of above average accomodations combined with friendly professional and courteous service. I wish I could say this is my experience everywhere I stay...but honestly it is NOT. I always look forward to my stay in your hotel (I have stayed there several times).

- Scott Anderson
Certified General Accountants of Nova Scotia
Brandon

Hello Scott:

Thanks so much for responding to our Guest Survey with such a positive review!

As a seasoned traveller, I greatly appreciate your kind compliments regarding our customer service in every area of the hotel.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 25, 2012

First Class Service from the Prince George Hotel

Our family held a family wedding this past weekend, Sept. 22nd at the Prince George Hotel. The venue, food and services were excellent. We definitely will be recommending the Prince George to all of our friends for their family celebrations. I have no negative feedback whatsoever as everything was absolutely perfect!

- Betty Ann Brennan
Dartmouth

Dear Betty Ann:

I was delighted to learn that the wedding celebrations went off without a hitch - due in no small part to the unflappable Penny MacKinnon!  Thanks so much for your kind compliments which have been passed along to all concerned!

All of the downtown hotels charge for parking - although sometimes it is a hidden charge in a higher room rate.  $25 is our charge for daily valet parking, $20 for daily self parking.  I do appreciate that this additional cost can add up when you are staying with us for multiple nights.  When planning future visits, you might like to consider some of our special packages available throughout the year, many of which include parking and\or breakfast in an all inclusive room rate.  Those are always listed in the Specials section of our website at:

http://www.princegeorgehotel.com/specials-and-packages/

I do hope that everyone in your party had a great weekend - and thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Excellent

All the staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were good and the staff seemed surprised to get a tip. Vincent and Russell were extremely helpful.

- Gary Holman
Richmond

Hello Gary!

Thanks so much for posting such a positive review.  I will most certainly pass on your compliments to both Vincent and Russell in our Concierge department.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Thanks for a very enjoyable, too-short stay!

My husband and I stayed just one night to attend a professional function and loved everything about our stay. We were on the Crown floor and appreciated the additional services that were included. The service was wonderful and the accommodations first rate. We loved the lounge on the Crown floor and were also able to take advantage of the pool and hot tub. The only dissappointment was that the sauna was out of order. Otherwise, absolutely no complaints. Thanks for a very enjoyable, too-short stay!

- Denise Murray
Sobeys Inc.
Stellarton

Dear Denise:

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.  Thanks for the great comments!

I do hope that you will be able to return for a longer stay next time.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel, amazing service, super comfortable beds

Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in with our friends. Your staffe was so nice, so accommodating, very helpful. Gio food was amazing and your breakfast terrific. We are coming back Saturday.

- David & Sandy Leibowitz
Deerfield

Dear David:

I really appreciate your positive feedback;  thanks so much for writing such a glowing review of our staff, our service and our beds!

Look forward to welcoming you back at the weekend!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 25, 2012

The Prince George is a terrific hotel!

The check in was professional, the room was wonderful (however, I was surprised there was no small bottle of lotion in the room); the bed was comfortable. It is a warm, safe feeling hotel. This is important to a woman traveling. The restaurant (Gio) is the best in the Atlantic. I am on the road every week and I can say that I rarley have experienced service such as I received at Gio's. I had previously registered for an electronic statement, I stayed last Wed. night and I have yet to receive this.

- Linda Morrison
Valley

Hello Linda!

It was great to have you back with us again and I really appreciate your comments and observations. 

Although we do not automatically supply body lotion (because of the wastage and the small plastic bottles), we do always have some available upon request and I have made a note to ensure it is available for you next time you visit.

You probably did not recognize any faces at the Front Desk - but thanks for your feedback;  it's important for us all to know how we "come across", besides being efficient!

Hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 24, 2012

Another Great Stay at the PG

AS always our stay at the PG was great. From the bell hop service with Kent, Russell Andy and Stephen to the check-in counter service , service in the Prince Suite set up by Virgil and room service staff was great. In the dining room Ada is always so friendly and professional and the waitresses Natalie and Terri just to mention a few are so friendly and accommodating. The husband and wife team of John and Rola are so welcoming. Alex Isenor is so friendly and professional, a treat to have him wait on you or tend to a request. The People who work at the PG are the reason we stay there so often on our Halifax visits.

- Roddie & Judy Munroe
Credit Union Deposit Insurance Corp
Prime Brook

Hello Roddie & Judy:

I really appreciate your warm and positive review and want to thank you for taking the time to name the employees who really make a difference to your stay and who keep you coming back. 

It is always an absolute pleasure to welcome you and I do hope that The Prince George will always be your Halifax "home away from home".

Thank again,

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 24, 2012

Lovely Hotel - conveniently located

The hotel room was clean and well furnished. The service was efficient. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was fabulous! Room service was very prompt. The hotel staff were all very helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel.

- Jordanna Lake

Dear Jordanna:

Thank so much for taking the time to send us your feedback.

I was delighted to read your kind comments and really appreciate the recommendation!  Apologies for the Bailey's shots and thanks for reporting this so that we can follow up and ensure all of our product is fresh.

Your suggestion for a higher quality hot chocolate is something that we should definitely consider!

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 24, 2012

Play is incrediable.

I have been staying at your Hotel for over 20 years I have nothing to complain about I am treated like a king and that is why I keep coming back .You go out of your way even to help my daughters who are at university when they stay there.

- John Wilcox
Glace Bay

Hello John!

Thanks so much for writing - and it is simply our pleasure to welcome you and your daughters when they visit.
And we will always do our utmost to ensure The Prince George continues to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.  I understand that you were wait-listed last week - and I was so pleased to see that we managed to get you in!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 24, 2012

Would stay again

Have not stayed at the Prince George in quite a few years. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very nice and comfortable. Would definately stay again and will recommend this hotel to friends who are going to Halifax for a visit.

- Jo-Ann Sigut
amherst

Dear Jo-Ann:

Thanks so much for the positive feedback and welcome back to The Prince George!

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Felt Like a King

This is my third our fouth stay at the your hotel, it just gets better abd better with each stay. I called and made the booking recently, i asked if there were any special rates availably, yes there was!!. As a business traveller this is very importand to me. I arrived to be met with the conceirge taking our cases to the rooms and parking the car, above all else he remebered me. Checked in and was given a hand written not form the lady that took my booking,this is very nice made feel as thought i was a king!!! The rooms are as always suberb and the service levels of the hotel staff are of the hightest i have encountered in North America. The food in Gio is amazing again along with the service. I shall be returning to the hotel on the 21st, just over night but i am so looking forward to coming home. Thanks to all your staff Gordon Berturelli.

- Gordon Berturelli

Dear Gordon:

Wow!  Thanks for the great compliments and I am delighted that we are able to make you "feel like a King"!

I am most certainly passing your kind compliments on to our bartender, Jordon, our Concierge team and everyone who has helped to make The Prince George your "home away from home".

We all look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Consistently Great!

I love staying at the PG! I worked in hotels for 10 years with companies like Delta and Fairmont and the PG leads the pack in terms of service, quality and overall experience. The Door person is always friendly and the GSA's are great...always say welcome back. I do have a comment about my profile. I stay there quite a bit and this time I booked it seemed like my profile was gone and the only one there was when my husband and I stayed a few years ago. Strange. Not that it matters but might be nice to track the stays and have the current profile. I also stayed in a room that seemed to have thin walls. Now I have never experienced this at the PG before but I could hear everything the gentlemen next to me was saying....and it was quite late. This happens for sure but I was suprised. I think it was the room (435?) Anyway it was still a great and I love staying there. Thanks so much, Kerry Lynn Mercer

- Kerry Lynn Mercer
Stellarton

Dear Kerry Lynn:

Thanks for the feedback and your loyalty to The Prince George.  Apologies for the confusion regarding your profile.  We do have have your complete profile and all your stays tracked as a Prestige guest - I am sorry if the agent was unable to find it in our system when you last booked.  I will make sure that everything is current and all of your stays are properly logged in your profile!

I have also made a note to ensure you are always placed in a quiet room that is non-connecting.

Thanks for the feedback and I do hope that The Prince George continues to be your favourite hotel in Halifax!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Prince George is a beautiful place to stay

My wife and I have stayed at the Prince George Hotel several times over the past three years. The purpose of our visits was to celebrate our wonderful years of marriage. Your extraordinary and professional staff that assisted us on each of our visits made our special occasion a memorable time. The staff makes us feel special and this means a lot to Helen and me. On our departure we always tell your staff that we will return each year, as this is our special place to be for our anniversary. We like "The George Suite" as this is our special room. This is a glamorous and spectacular room. We have been treated to a bottle of wine and a tray of cheese and fruit in our room. In our opinion this is very classy and this makes us feel special. The parking valet always makes the comment, thank you for coming back. Is your staff advised that we have spent time there before? We feel this is special greeting which makes us feel welcome. We will celebrate our special time together again at the Prince George and will highly recommend your hotel to our family and friends. Well done - it is always a pleasure to stay at the Prince George Hotel. The Cunninghams

- Al Cunningham
Bridgewater

Hello Al and Helen!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review.  I am delighted that you choose to spend your wedding anniversaries here at The Prince George and we, in turn, will always try to make these occasions very special!

I am so sorry that an earring went missing during your stay and, unfortunately, it has not been found - but I will certainly let you know if, by chance, it should become found. 

I know that I speak on behalf of everyone here at The Prince George in wishing you a very happy anniversary - and we all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Great Room

Room was very nice and exceeds expecations.

- Deanna & Lyle Harnish

Hello Deanna:

Thanks so much for completing our Guest Survey and I was delighted to learn that everything went well.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Our 33rd Anniversary Celebration

The Service was excellent, accomodation, location & amenities was exceptionable especially the surprise gift of Champage and Fruit and Cheese tray and the free drinks at Geo. This made our Anniversary a most memorable one. The only thing I can think of is that the pool was a little to cool from the last time we stayed which was quite a few years ago and there was no weight scales in the fitness room. When I am away I try to keep a close watch on my weight and make sure I don't celebrate too, too much. Other than that our stay was fantastic.

- Raymond & Judy Beaver
Dartmouth

Hello Raymond and Judy!

Thanks so much for the positive review and I am delighted that you chose to spend your anniversary at The Prince George!

Appreciate the feedback on the pool temperature - passed to Maintenance who inspect daily - and the lack of scales in the Fitness Centre (there were scales in the room originally, so I will look into this!).

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 17, 2012

Very comfortable & hospitable stay.

The Prince George was recommended to me by a resident of Dartmouth. I also checked ratings on Hotels .com and found yours to be within the price range that I was looking for. I liked that fact that it was close to many amenities of town & I was able to walk & see some of the city. The room ws clean, modern & comfortable. I had recently aquired a new laptop & was not familiar with how to connect to the Hotels Wireless. When my Room Service dinner arrived, your employee graciously assisted me in accessing the internet. I was terribly grateful!! I am looking forward to booking again with you on my next visit to Halifax!

- Catherine Uens

Hello Catherine!

Thanks so much for writing such a positive review.  I'm so glad that you chose The Prince George - and were not disappointed.  It was nice of your Dartmouth friend to recommend us!

Very pleased to note that we were able to help you with Internet access - helps to make things go much more smoothly when there is someone there to assist with "one stop shopping".

Thanks again and I hope The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 17, 2012

Short and sweet

I arrived at the hotel at supper time on Friday, and left before noon Saturday. It was a quick stay, but the front desk staff were friendly, and the room was confortable. I will be staying again.

- Brian Moses
South Ohio

Hello, Dr. Moses:

Thanks for submitting such positive feedback on your visit - albeit short and sweet!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 17, 2012

Great hotel to stay at in a far away place!

I left the same feedback on Tripadvisor.com, but I will repeat it here. This hotel was very good. The bed in my room was sooooooo comfortable! It was like floating on a cloud. The guest room was very clean and all the furniture and interior material were first rate. I was here because of a meeting that was held in your meeting rooms. The meeting space was good but the conference break food and lunch were simply fantastic! You really have a fantastic operation as the details were sweated out and the final product was fantastic!

- David Franklin
Indianapolis

Hello David:

Thanks so much for posting a similar review for us on TripAdvisor.  I really appreciate your positive review! 

Apologies for the less than happy demeanour exhibited by our Chef at breakfast - certainly not what I like to hear but thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Thanks for the recommendation - and Nova Scotia is not that far away!  Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 17, 2012

Excellent as usual

Room was clean, beds comfortable. Room cleaned daily on a timely basis.

- Gordon Chesley Laurie
Michelin Tire
Laval

Dear Gordon:

We love to hear "excellent as usual" - because consistency is really the key!  And that's what we strive for.

Thanks so much for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Better than a spa!

When we cross your door,we feel welcome by your friendly and efficient staff. The location is perfect and the food at your restaurant is definitely fine dining. The barman is excellent,he excel in proposing the perfect drink.Of course,the rooms are clean and so comfortable.

- Denise Leblanc
Dieppe

Dear Denise:

Thanks so much for a great review!  Jordan's wonderful cocktails in Gio are gaining popularity!

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

See you again soon,

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Wonderful Experience - would go back in a heartbeat

I am a travel agent and got a special rate which already made me excited about staying at your hotel. The reservations staff that answered the phone was EXTREMELy friendly and helpful - a great first impression, I am sorry that I forget her name - Heather I think... We requested early check in and my friend who works at a hotel says everyone requests that so don't be surprised if you don't get it. I was really hoping we would as we arrived at 9:30am and had been up since 4:30! Sure enough our room was ready! After a nap we went to eat at the restaurant GIO (I was part of a wedding party and the rehersel was that afternoon so we couldn't stray far) I am so happy we ate there cause it was delicious and the staff were extremely friendly but not in an in your face way, again the food was AMAZING! Our room was very clean, lots of towels and we thought the showers without doors were really cool - something we will keep in mind when we build a house.

- Margaret Breau
Toronto

Hello Margaret:

We love the words extremely friendly and amazing to describe our staff and service.  Thank you so much for the great compliments; it sounds as if everyone went very well indeed!

I do hope that The Prince George will become your hotel of choice in Halifax!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 11, 2012

a remakable experience..a true testament to service.

the service was remarkable - I added some last minute requests to impress my wife for our 10 year anniverasary this was not an issue and I didnt get any push back. In fact the person who took my order for the champagne, flowers and chocolates which I was very detailed about came thru in a winning fashion. My wife and I were greated upon our arrival with smiles and because the room wasnt quite ready we were compensated with a couple of drink tickets iin the fabulous Gio, where the experience continued, great service. Thank you

- Brent Jennings
Surrey

Dear Brent:

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay - and it was absolutely our pleasure to help with your special requests.  We could not get exactly what you wanted - the caramels are just not available in the Maritimes although we wish they were!!!!

Thanks for choosing to stay at The Prince George and I hope you and your wife had a great anniversary celebration.

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Wonderful time

Everything was very clean. I have not stayed at a place that had more pleasant people. from the moment we arrived, everyone was not only friendly, but happy.

- Lynn Nelson
PIctou

Dear Lynn:

It's great to get your feedback and I am so glad that you appreciated the great team of people who work in every department at this hotel.

I very much hope that your will choose to stay at The Prince George whenever your travels bring you to Halifax!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Very impressed.

Attended a wedding, the service was fantastic, the food was great, the music was too loud for me (I'm old) but the younger ones loved it. The rooms were nice, beds very comfortable. It was so convenient to have the ceremony & reception at the same location. What more can I say than "Thank you" Mary Gilbert

- Mary Gilbert
Fredericton

Dear Mary:

You are most welcome - and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the wedding held here at The Prince George.  It's so convenient when both the ceremony and the reception are held in the same location!

Thanks so much for your positive comments.  I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Excellent accommodations, friendly service, overall fantastic hotel!

Attended the Summersonic concert in the Garrison Grounds on Citadel Hill. Stayed at the Price George Hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful rooms and accommodations.

- Jay Macleod
Kensington

Dear Jay,

Thanks so much for staying with us during the weekend.  Glad you enjoyed the Concert at the Garrison Grounds.  It really completes the evening when you can just walk back to the hotel from the concert venue.

Thanks for the positive feedback and very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 11, 2012

THE BEST BAR NONE...dot dot dot

I was attending my niece's wedding and I took my dog with me because I had noone to look after him The service we received was more than I could have expected. Location was perfect. I know you dont need the advertisement but I am a Home Hardware Dealer and I am telling anyone who will listen..When you come to Halifax THE PRINCE GEORGE is the place to stay From Michelle ( I think ) who helped us to VIrgil and Steven with our cars and Simon in the restaurant. An amazing experience I had the springer spaniel that carried Curious George with him and he caused quite a stir when we went for walks Again Thank you

- Colette Schaller-Beaton
Kentville

Dear Colette:

Wow!  We enjoyed having you with us and were truly delighted to meet Curious George!

Thanks for your kind compliments which have been passed to Simon, Virgil and Stephen.  Word of mouth advertising is invaluable and we really appreciate your recommendations!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 10, 2012

not as pleasant as usual

Positives first. The room was clean and well attended. Dinner and service @ Gios was, as usual, the best Halifax has to offer. Check in was great Ed had an appt. With an orthopedic surgeon and we asked for late check out and were treated very graciously. The one negative to our stay was that the lamps and the phone by our beds were unplugged. I did stand on my head!!!!!!!! And plug two lamps in but could not budge the bed to get at the phone or other lamp plug. Certainly help was a phone call away but didn't seem to want to bother. We have stayed at the P.G. for many years and your sister hoteln,as well and have most always been treated very well.

- Edward & Lorna Ripoll
New Glasgow

Dear Mr & Mrs. Ripoll:

Thanks so much for posting a review on your most recent visit.  It's always great to hear from our regular guests! I'm so sorry that you had some complaints this time and cannot understand how the lamps and phone became unplugged. Please accept my apologies that this was missed by Housekeeping.  And I know how awkward it is to access those plugs under the bed.    There should be no need for our guests to stand on their head to turn on a lamp!!!!

I appreciate your kind comments regarding dinner in Gio and our customer service in general. Be assured that I will personally check your room the next time you stay with us to ensure everything is in full working order.

Sincerely,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, September 10, 2012

Amazing!!

My wife and I were in NS for our honeymoon. Before we arrived in Halifax, certain aspects were great and some experiences were dissatisfying. Once we arrived at the Prince George our vacation took a wonderful turn. Paige (at the check-in desk) was very friendly and accommodating. She offered to send some Champagne to our room. She kicked-off the experience on the right foot and I knew we would be in good hands. The room was beautiful and very clean. All the staff was very pleasant; door men and cleaning staff acknowledged us as we passed. Lastly, Bienna (I think that was her name) was helpful with our in-room dining order. I wouldn’t change a thing and will certainly stay again. Thanks

- Joseph Marando

Dear Joseph:

I was delighted to learn that your honeymoon in Nova Scotia ended on just the right note - when you walked through the doors of The Prince George!  Thanks so much for your positive comments - which have been passed along to Paige at the Front Desk and Deanna in Room Service.

Many congratulations to you both.  I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back - perhaps to celebrate a future anniversary!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, September 07, 2012

Wonderful home away from home

It was my first visit to Halifax from my home in Calgary. The Prince George was a great place to stay and explore the downtown core and the harbour. The Crown service was a nice bonus.

- Tammy Yamkowy
Calgary

Dear Tammy:

The ultimate compliment is for the hotel be described as a "home away from home".  Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and trust you had a good trip back to Calgary.

Next time you book, take a look at the special packages posted on our web site - our "Perfect Escape" is always popular and includes your guestroom, parking and a $25 dining credit in one all inclusive price.  Most of the downtown hotels charge for parking - although often the charge is "hidden" in a higher room rate.

Thanks again for your feedback, Tammy, and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, September 06, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better stay !

Our experience was wonderful from the initial booking right until the checkout. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to find and there was ample parking underground. Our room was spacious and clean. The shower was amazing. The hotel gave us a wonderful book and congratulated us on our honeymoon, a very nice personal touch. The breakfast was tasty and the inroom coffee was very handy. The pool area and hot tub were very clean and relaxing. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was a quick walk to the harbour and to lots of restaraunts. It was a wonderful week long stay and we definately know where to stay if we come back!

- Stacy Tennant
Orleans

Dear Stacy:

I was delighted to learn that you spent your honeymoon at The Prince George - and I hope that the house-hunting venture went well!

Thanks so much for your kind comments.  Sorry that you found the pool a little lively during your stay.  Normally, we ask that children leave the pool at 9 pm and I do regret that this "rule" was not enforced.

I am so glad that The Prince George played a large part in your wonderful week.  Very best wishes to you and your husband for a lifetime of happiness.

Warm regards,


Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 05, 2012

There are many hotels in Halifax but...

It was such a nice surprise to arrive and find out we were on the 6th floor. We really loved the new lounge with the breakfast and the wonderful extensive beverage selection. It was so impressive how well cared for the lounge is as well. The staff in there were very professional and so competent. It was nice to be able to sit in that great natural sunlight and have a bagel and coffee in the morning. I was also especially happy with the cleanliness of my room. It is such an important thing to me (and a lot of people). The fridge is a great feature, we made use of the dvd player, the ipod dock so useful, and I love the Aveda amenities. Mint is my favourite soap! I must also mention that I love the Gio restaurant so much and cannot wait to eat there every time we come back. They made sure we had a table on a very busy night. The chef is a genius and the food is always incredible. He is on my top five chef list (their restaurants where I've eaten) which includes Gordon Ramsay, Daniel Boloud. Earlier this year I became extremely ill and could have lost my life. This year has been a process of slow recovering and has been exhausting in many ways. So to be able to travel and come to the Prince George, to have been treated so well and get the extra treat of being on the Crown floor starting off the day so nicely every day of our stay, to recognize familiar faces who understand the true spirit of hospitality, and to slip into a comfy bed with soft cool pristine bedding, with the night lights shining off the water in the harbour, I felt very grateful. The generous hospitality of the Prince George couldn't have come at a better time for me. This was my fifth visit to The Prince George. There are many hotels in Halifax but this is the only city in the world where I don't wonder where I will stay when I visit next.

- Patricia Hutahajan
Brampton

Dear Patricia:

It was an absolute delight to read your Guest Survey and I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments and observations.  Such great and positive feedback reassures us all that we are "on the right track".

We were all so sorry to learn that you had been seriously ill in the past year and we hope that your stay at The Prince George lifted your spirits and helped with your recovery. We were wow'd to read your review of Gio and very touched to learn that you will only stay at this hotel when you are in Halifax.

We will do our utmost to ensure that you are always well looked after each time you visit.

Thanks again!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 05, 2012

Beautiful Halifax

had a suite (227) because of the ages and gender of my kids. Reception was very helpful when I booked and expressed this requirement. Room was great with a lot of nice little touches. Concierge's were helpful as were the girls at reception. Also like this hotel because of the location

- Mike Kisel
Stittsville

Dear Mike:

I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Prince George!

Thanks for commending the excellent service you received at the Front Desk - that particular suite works very well for a family. 

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, September 05, 2012

Extremely satisfied!

The hotel and accommodation are very comfortable but what I noticed most was how helpful, pleasant and personable each staff member was. Most were not just cordial but had personalities and had great interaction with me and my daughter. I especially was impressed with a young man at the front desk, Alex? isoner(something like that) and Natalie, the hostess in the restaurant. I must say, from a person who does all the hiring in my office, you've done a great job with your staffing. Congratulations!

- Cynthia Strandholt
Collingwood

Dear Cynthia:

Thanks so much for writing such a positive review of your experience at The Prince George!  I will be certain to forward your kind compliments to both Alex and Natalie.

I do apologize for the hassles you experienced with your parking ticket as I realize how frustrating this can be when you arrive at the gate and your ticket does not work.  Be assured that we are constantly working to ensure our system is working efficiently.

There is an Airport Bus shuttle to and from the Airport; the schedule can be found at www.airporter.biz or we can arrange for our excellent limo service to pick them up - Atlantis Limo;  Atlantis charges slightly less than a taxi from the airport and are very reliable.

Thanks again for your feedback and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 04, 2012

Thanks for a very comfortable stay

Overall very pleased with our stay. Wonderful service, great location and very comfortable and quiet room. Thank you, The Langmuirs

- Angel Langmuir
Toronto

Dear Ms. Langmuir,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our Guest Survey!  I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel since this was your first stay with us.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 04, 2012

An Elegant hotel...great location,family and dog friendly....will stay there again,

We spent 2 nights at the Prince George as a family of five with our terrier.We were very happy with the hotel, our room and thrilled with the complimentary upgrade that included access to the lounge on the 6th floor! The front desk staff and the others we encountered were gracious and helpful.Will definitely stay there again when I/we visit our son at Dahlhousie.!

- Clare Dossetor
Ottawa

Dear Clare:

I was really glad to learn that your family of five enjoyed their stay - and that includes your terrier!!

Hopefully you will be visiting regularly (because of the Dalhousie connection) and will choose to book with us again.

Thanks so much for your great feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 04, 2012

Great place to stay

The hotel and rooms were very clean, staff were helpful and accommodating, and the location was ideal for accessing the downtown and harbour area. I would definately stay there again.

- Jane Dey
Windsor

Dear Jane:

I really appreciate your positive review and will certainly pass your kind compliments on to JF in our Concierge Department.

Glad to note that all of the staff you encountered were pleasant and helpful.  I very much hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 04, 2012

Very enjoyable stay

I travel on business very regularily and have developed an expectation of how my stay at a hotel should occur. I was very satisfied with the hotel in all facets of our stay. My daughter and I were made to feel very welcome from the first moment we stepped onto the property, the speed with which we were checked in, and the very knowledgeable staff able to answer any of our queries. Congratulations to you and your staff. Neil Shortt Program Manager Pipeline Maintenance Projects TransCanada Pipelines

- Neil Shortt
Calgary

Dear Neil:

It's great for us to receive such positive feedback from a seasoned traveller!  Thanks so much for your feedback.  I'm glad that you and your daughter were made to feel so welcome.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 04, 2012

Expectations met

I have always wanted to spend a night or two at the Prince George. But since I lived in Halifax it seemed a bit of an extravagance to do so. However, I returned from a year teaching in South Korea, and I am now waiting to get my visa to teach in Saudi Arabia, and I figured this was the perfect time to treat myself. I booked a two-night package while I was in South Korea. I thought everyone was very helpful and welcoming.I least liked my view but not enough to request a new room.

- Arlene Lahey
Louisbourg

Dear Arlene:

I am so glad that you finally treated yourself to an overnighter at The Prince George! Thanks so much for your positive comments - hopefully we can make sure you get a great view of the harbour next time you stay.

It must have been Erin who delivered your Room Service order - your compliments will be passed along to her.

Good luck in Saudi Arabia!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 04, 2012

Beautiful hotel! Great stay!

We had a wonderful stay at the Prince George last week. We were only there for one night, but the hotel left quite an impression on us. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was beautiful. We had a great room service breakfast on Friday morning. My only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer!

- Margaret Blackmore
Grand Falls-Windsor

Dear Margaret:

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a Guest Survey and I was delighted to learn that we left such a positive impression on you!

I very much appreciate your positive review and have passed your kind compliments onto Paige at our Front Desk.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back - perhaps for a longer stay.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, September 04, 2012

I HAVE BEEN GOING TO THEPRINCE GEORGE SINCE ITS OPENING IN 1986 0R 1987 , THE LAST 4 DIGITS OF ITS LOCAL PHONE NUMBER

VERY GOOD

- Del Boudreau
Tusket

Dear Del:

The hotel opened in 1986 - it's amazing that you have been staying with us right from the beginning.  We certainly appreciate your loyalty and you have probably seen a lot of changes over the years!

Always a pleasure to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager