Reviews

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

The perfect hotel

Excellent from start to finish. Bell staff always there and helpful as was front desk. Appreciated free WiFi and printing. I had 8 pages of b/w emergency printing for a meeting and it was complementary! Other hotels routinely charge $20 just to send something to the printer. I apparently also left something in my room and they are sending it to me on their own initiative. Rooms as requested and perfect. Housekeeping staff excellent. With a good location and sunny days as we had who could want more.

- Jack Littlepage
Victoria

Hello, Mr. Littlepage:

Thanks for completing our Guest Survey following your recent visit with La Chaine des Rotisseurs.

We were delighted to host La Chaine and have received many great comments regarding our hotel, our service - and Halifax!  So glad that we were able to make everything run smoothly for you.

Very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Halifax in the future.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Mom and son weekend...

I brought my son down for the Atlantic Cross Country final at Point Pleasant park. It was also Hal-Con weekend, so we wanted to be close to the WTCC. We were very impressed with the ladies in the Terrace, who surprised Matthew by remembering him, and what he ordered the day before. Excellent staff, especially Terri Lynn! We had a great time, and enjoyed our weekend in Halifax.

- Gary & Cathy Baker
New Maryland

Dear Cathy:

Thanks so much for your survey.  I was delighted that you chose The Prince George for your Mom and Son weekend, especially with the Hal-Con event right next door!

I appreciate your kind compliments and will certainly forward them to Terri Lynn in our breakfast restaurant.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 30, 2012

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND ALWAYS CONSISTENT

We always stay at the Prince George when we visit Halifax.The staff are so friendly and make us feel very welcome.The accomodations are excellent and location is great but it truly is the people that make the difference.

- Norman & Jill Rafuse
Parrsboro

Hello Norman & Jill:

Thanks so much for continuing to make The Prince George your hotel of choice in Halifax!  Your kind compliments will be passed along to Christine in the Terrace who just recently celebrated her 25th anniversary.  It's worth mentioning that Christine has never missed a shift since she started with The Prince George.  Amazing!!!

I do hope that this hotel continues to be your favourite spot in Halifax whenever you visit.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Crown Room addition added a great flavor.

Liked best---Cleaniness of the rooms, neww addition on the Crown floor, and the helpfulliness of the staff. Liked the least---at some times the limited parking, and the low roof in some areas.

- Hector DiPersio (senior)
Atlantic Central
Sydney Mines

Hello Mr. DiPersio:

Thanks so much for completing our guest survey - and it is always a pleasure to welcome you!  We do have notes in your profile to ensure your room is always close to the elevator - please let us know if you have any other special requests.  Should you have any difficulties with our parkade, don't hesitate to ask for help from our Concierge who offer valet for an additional $5 a day.  Valet service can often prevent a lot of headaches with parking.

Appreciate your feedback and observations and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Beautiful hotel with wonderful service.

We stayed at the Prince George because of Hal-Con for three nights. No matter where in the hotel we were or what we were doing the staff was kind, funny and incredibly thoughtful--one of the servers at breakfast overheard my sister had come down with a cold and brought her a sleeve of Halls. The entire stay was fantastic and I will recommend your hotel.

- Patti Larsen
Alexandra

Dear Patti:

Thanks for the feedback - the Hal-Con event was a real spectacle and enjoyed by all!  I will certainly forward your kind compliments to Stephanie (who fits your description).  And she has a heart of gold.

Thanks again!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Outstanding.

I was fortunate to stay at your hotel to attend the Grand Chapitre for La Chaîne des Rôtiseurs. Over all my experience was wonderful. The recdeption, the cleanliness of the room and maid service, to the late check out because of a change in my departure.

- Beat Hegnauer

Dear Mr. Hegnauer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey following your recent visit to The Prince George.

We were delighted to host La Chaine and were very proud to showcase both our hotel and the City of Halifax! Thanks for mentioning the deficiencies which you noticed in your guestroom - both of which will be addressed immediately.   I understand that all of your events went well and it sounds as if a good time was had by all!

I do hope that your travels will bring you back to Nova Scotia as we would love to accommodate you once again at The Prince George.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, October 29, 2012

The Prince George is a Classy Hotel !

As always, the service and the accomodations were excellent. The restaurant, "Gio", is a top notch culinary experience.

- Allan Boudreau
Weymouth

Hello Judge Boudreau,

Thanks so much for writing - and I am so glad that you enjoy our service  - and the culinary delights of Gio!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, October 29, 2012

Always a great experience!

Everything is always so clean and put together. Everyone is always so friendly and also professional. The thing I liked the least was checking out. I wish I lived there.

- Adrian Roy
Amherst

Dear Adrian:

Let us know when you're moving in!!!!  We look forward to your next visit and hope that you will always consider us your "home away from home".

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, October 29, 2012

I had a great stay

I enjoyed my stay with you frrom Oct 17 to 26th.....There really wasn't anything I didn't enjoy. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and the concergie was very helpful. Thanks to everyone for a good experience.

- Kaydee (Kathy) Deremiens
Brandon

Dear Kaydee:

Since you stayed with us for a few days, it is great to learn that there was really nothing that you did not enjoy!
We were very pleased to be your "home away from home" and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, October 26, 2012

Courteous Service & Friendly Smile!!!

- Clean rooms - Comfortable Beds - Outstanding Food - Great Service - Lots of Amenties - Great Location

- Dennis Oake

Dear Dennis:

Thanks for your great feedback - it sounds as if everything went well in every way!  Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, October 25, 2012

Fantastic

We loved the Prince George, you made Halifax very special for us. It started with the care when I made the reservation, Paige was so helpful. Then we arrive and Rachael, Rayanne and Laura were so courteous and informative. They were delightful and so helpful. The impression of your hotel and your city made me feel honored and excited to be there and at your hotel. Then Stephen was so helpful with not only daily activities but also helping us plan the next leg of our journey. The room was clean and comfortable. Our experience was superb. I am already looking forward to a return trip to Halifax. Also the restaurant Gio was exceptional. I know this glowing report seems unreal but it was truly memorable and exceptional. We live in Seattle, WA and do not get to the East that often but we have told our family in Maine and Boston and also our friends here and we recommend the Prince George as the place to stay. Your staff made our trip great. Sincerely, Addi Brooks and Bob Pennell

- Robert Pennell
Seattle

Dear Robert:

I was delighted to learn that you had a "superb" experience at The Prince George - with special thanks to Paige, Rachael, Rayanne, Laura and Stephen.  Thanks so much for your lovely compliments and your glowing review!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Girls Night Out

Hi checked in on Saturday afternoon. As always the staff were polite and courteous, welcoming me back to the Prince George. We stayed in the George Suite and Penny made it extra special by sending us a bottle of wine and a book of Nova Scotia for my girlfriend who was over visiting from the UK. She was overwhelmed by it all, Thankyou so much, Anne Bulmer

- Michael Bulmer
Mill Village

Hello Mrs. Bulmer!

I was so pleased that the weather was good for your friend's visit from the UK - and glad that you enjoyed the "girls night out"!  It's always my pleasure to take good care of you!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Overall Good Experience

We attended the wedding of our niece (Sarah Thomas - Thomas/Mueller wedding). It was a beautiful experience - the wedding was held in Bedford and then all other parts of the wedding were held at your hotel. Our room provided us with all we needed for our accommodations, the reception was beautiful and a wonderful experience.- from decorations, to the food provided for the meal, to the picture-taking, to the dancing and even the candy dishes provided for the children. Staying at your hotel made it so convenient for participating in the wedding festivities. Having said all this, we did experience one thing which was not so nice - the room directly across from us (our room was 207) had a continuous flow of people coming and going from that room. I believe they were guests of the other wedding party held the same weekend. We had no problem with this until after midnight, even up to 1 a.m. but from 3 a.m. til 5 a.m. there were still people coming and going from there, talking very loud and laughing - a couple of times, it sounded like they were trying to get their husbands/men to leave there to go to their own rooms. This really did interrupt our sleep which we felt was not necessary as we had paid for our room, the same as they had. Happenings like this makes one think twice as to whether or not we will make a return visit to your hotel. Sincerely Sheila & David Thomas

- David & Sheila Thomas
Barton

Dear David and Sheila:

Thanks so much for writing and I was delighted to learn that the wedding went so well!  Please accept my apologies however, for the noise and disruption from a neighbouring room.  I can certainly appreciate your annoyance and frustration and certainly do not blame you for complaining.  I do hope that this will not completely deter you from staying with us again and I have made a note to ensure a Crown Floor room on your next stay to encourage you to give us another try.

I really appreciate your feedback and do hope that you will return.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Great Stay

The Crown floor is perfect for us. The access to the lounge for coffee/tea, water, juice and snacks is very useful. The ability to have breakfast in room or just down the hall in the lounge saves us so much time, especially when attending meetings. Our room was nicely decorated and renovated since we had last stayed on the crown floor. I like to shower instead of a bathtub with a shower. I was pleased we had a room with a harbour view. We will certainly return and stay on the crown floor always.

- Joan & Terry Haliburton
Antigonish

Dear Joan and Terry:

Glad you enjoyed the Crown Floor - and I'll make a note to ensure you receive a room with a new glassed in shower whenever you stay in future... and a harbour view!

Thanks for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Great Stay

I had a great stay at the hotel. Location is perfect and I had a great afternoon relaxing in the pool and Hot Tub. Also I will note that the beds were the most comfortable I think that I have had in a hitel for a very long time, and I usually stay in 4star hotels. I booked this hotel using Hotwire and usually get the Westin but lucked out this time getting to stay at your hotel. I cant wait to stay there again.

- Christa Wamboldt

Dear Christa:

I am so glad that Hotwire chose The Prince George for your stay!  I do hope that we will become your hotel of choice in Halifax from now on.  Call our in-house Reservations office for the best rates and packages throughout the year!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, October 22, 2012

Home again!

Having been away from Halifax and the Prince George for some time I was happy to be able to plan to go back - not my usual reaction to staying in a hotel, but the Prince George is a place with happy memories from both business and personal stays. I half expected to find little more than nostalgia, and the usual hotel experience. It was even better than I remembered. Lovely accommodation, a comfortable bed, incredible food at Geo, and the staff were all friendly and professional. What a team! There was even a 'welcome back' note waiting for me. Thank you - it felt like my home from home. I will be back. In fact I was delighted to find an excuse to make my stay two nights instead of one next month.

- Philippa Moss
CB Regional Hospital
Tatamagouche

Welcome back, Dr. Moss!

Thanks for continuing to make The Prince George your hotel of choice in Halifax!  I'm so glad that we are still your "home away from home"!  Delighted that we did not disappoint.

See you next month!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, October 22, 2012

Very Nice

My colleague and I were attending a 4-day course being held in Halifax. This hotel was recommended to us. We were pleasantly surprised with the accomodations and felt it was good value. The rooms are clean and the beds were made quickly. Nice amenities too - a fridge where we could store some fruit. We both forgot our shampoo and were pleased to see the shampoo and conditioner bottles in the shower vs the small little ones most hotels use.

- Kimberley Millar
Ottawa



Monday, October 22, 2012

Awesome expereience!

My wife and I stayed with your hotel for 4 nights and we have nothing to complain about. The service was great and the people very attentive. Thanks for this vacation.

- Pierre LaForge
Hanwell

Dear Pierre:

You can really get a good feel for the hotel when you stay for 4 nights and I was delighted to learn that you so enjoyed your short vacation here!

Thanks for the great feedback and I do hope that The Prince George will become your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, October 22, 2012

Good Stay

Please see my review at tripadvisor.com. I am sliphorn.

- Thomas W. Billing
Springfield

Dear Thomas (Sliphorn):

Thanks so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.  That really means a lot to the hotel since so many travellers these days read the reviews first!

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, October 22, 2012

We come with some repetition. When we come, we stay at the PG. The location is great, the hotel itself is classy, but not "high-brow". And the service is some of the best you'll ever get; in any product/service context. This time we brought two other couples with us; a three room booking. They have heard about our Halifax fun, and wanted to try it out. As much as they loved Halifax (the food, the live music, the sights, etc), they loved the PG too. Commented regularly on the Hotel, the service.

- Dennis Kerr
Newburgh

Dear Dennis:

We could not ask for a better review.  Thanks for your recommendation, your appreciation, your confidence in our service.  It means a lot to all of us here at The Prince George.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, October 18, 2012

A great destination to spend our 24th wedding anniversery

We checked in to the hotel shortly after 3pm on Saturday October 13 to a pleasant, friendly and welcoming staff. We were checked in quickly and then off to our room on the 5th floor. The room was wonderful it had a lovely king size bed (which was our choice at check in 2 doubles or 1 king given by your pleasing staff) and also plenty room to move about, a very spacious room which to me is a plus. However we did not take part in any of the hotel's amenities the reason for this is we had already planed our trip prior to arriving and knowing what great things you had to offer. Location was fabulous you are located in the middle of the downtown and a walk to everything. I truly enjoyed our stay from the moment I entered till we checked out. I had never stayed at your hotel before and due to Hotwire we had the opportunity to enjoy one of the best overall hotels in the city, we are sure to return.

- Lisa Boudreau

Dear Lisa:

I am so pleased that you found us through Hotwire - next time you stay you must make a point of trying our great restaurants and pool and fitness facilities!

Our Housekeeping Department has an excellent and thorough Lost & Found system - thanks for the kudo's!  It's so annoying to lose a charger when travelling.

Hope that you will book with us directly next time.  Just call our in-house Reservations team.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, October 17, 2012

35th Anniversary - done right

It's been 35 years. We were married in 1977 and honeymooned in Nova Scotia. Back then, funds and time were limited. We skipped Halifax entirely. Now, 35 years later, we're returning. And Halifax is the first stop on our list. As such, I wanted to surprise her with something ... special. Something unique and interesting. Something memorable. After all, she's been all that to me. Online research identified The Prince George as the #1 hotel in Halifax. So I took the chance. Online opinions were correct. The Prince George Hotel was easy to access, the facility stately and well maintained. The staff was very pleasant and helpful in all matters. But the best was the room. Outstanding. Clean, comfortable, well appointed, lots of space, quiet. I travel considerably in my job and have the option to experience many facilities. It's rare to find a Hotel of this quality. I wanted ... rather, I needed this special trip to start out right. Thanks to The Prince George Hotel for a better than hoped for beginning.

- James Gearhart
Centreville

Dear James:

We're are so glad that you took a chance on us.  Thanks for returning after 35 years to Nova Scotia - what a great idea for a special anniversary.  Delighted that we impressed - and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Everything was Perfect

We had a great 3-night stay. We love the location of the hotel, the king deluxe suite, and the very helpful and friendly staff. We had a particularly good experience at Gio on Saturday night. We had eaten an early dinner at a pub that day and then wandered around the town for Nocturne. We returned to the hotel just before 11, and were looking for something light to eat. The greeter at Gio was happy to seat us even though the kitchen was due to close in 4 minutes. Our server was equally pleasant and welcoming. My husband and daughter ordered their food, but because of my DFGF diet, I had not been able to find anything that would work for me, especially because I was looking for a small bit of something that late at night. The server insisted on having the kitchen come up with something for me, and in the end I had a very tasty chicken and vegetable soup. I was impressed by the server's persistence in finding something for me, and in the kitchen's ability to go off the menu so readily and to produce something special. It was very much appreciated, and certainly enhanced our already positive feelings about the hotel.

- Diane Mcclure
London

Dear Ms. Diane:

I was delighted to learn that our Kitchen was able to come up with a quick meal to meet your needs - especially on such a cold night!  Thanks for your kind compliments which have been passed along to all concerned.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Coming Home

It's been 20 years since I lived in Halifax and I was a wee bit worried about bringing my corporate, big city, colleagues home to Nova Scotia for the TD Bank Group's People With Disabilities conference. I shouldn't have given it a second thought. I am absolutely, positively and completly thrilled with the level of service that your Team at the Prince George provided my participants. I can't begin to thank or even explain to the individuals who were working how very much they were a part of our event's success. They remembered our names. They smiled genuinely through every request and nothing was ever a problem. They found us specialized transit vehicle for wheelchairs, helped us find a transportation to take participants from here to there and back again and every day they asked if there was anything they could do to help make my event better. Thank you so very, very much for having the best people in Canada all in one place. It was a busy, busy conference and it was made easier and better soley because of the Prince George and your Team. Thank you and I can't wait to come home to the Prince George again.

- Tina Murphy

Dear Tina:

It was absolutely our pleasure to host the TD group and I am delighted to learn that everything went so smoothly, especially as you had been worrying a little bit!  Your kind comments mean a great deal to us all and will be shared with everyone with whom you came in contact.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Two thumbs up

The service was excellent. The room was clean, comfortable, and just the perfect lighting. I loved the bathroom, lots of room, and I loved the make-up mirror!! It is an amazing place to stay and I will definitely recommed it!!

- Carolyn Evans
Credential Financial Strategies Inc.
Conception Bay South

Dear Carolyn:

Thanks for giving us two thumbs up!  We can't ask for more.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Good times were had!

Service: The service was great. In the middle of the night when we realized we'd need a second crib it was brought up right away. The service in the restaurant was great - it was the time we most interacted with your staff. Accommodation: The room was always clean and had everything we needed. I appreciated the little crib sheet in the crib, it was a nice touch. I also appreciated the tea and coffee in the room. Location: The original purpose for our visit was to attend The Wiggles concert so we chose your hotel for its location. We extended our stay when we got an appointment for our son at the IWK and the distance to there was also good. Amenities: I wish you had a gift shop! I like to browse.

- Anne Luker
Glace Bay

Dear Anne:

Your kind compliments have been passed to all of the employees in our restaurant.  So glad that you enjoyed your stay with your family - and trust the Wiggles concert went well.

Hope you will choose The Prince George for your next Halifax visit.

Regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, October 15, 2012

A great weekend getaway.

Due to time constraints we were confined to the local sites, Peggy's Cove being our limit (which is not to be missed). Our first night was to be dinner theatre, but there was a Moosehead game right next door to the hotel so we put it off until Sunday, when they weren't open as it turns out. Real good hockey there and wife and I really enjoyed the family/community atmosphere at the rink. No regrets there. We have to admit that we were disappointed that the hotel room didn't face the harbour, until we opened the blinds to a view of the Citadel a block or so away ( we were on the Crown Floor and breakfast room was great, even in the evening to grab a juice or a light snack). That was our introduction to Halifax history, and besides Peggy's Cove, pretty much everything we wanted was in walking distance of the hotel - thankfully we brought good footwear as it easy to walk to the harbour but a steep climb back up the hill. Once you make it down the hill, there is lots to see and do. For people watching there were quite a few cruise ships docked from all over the world. We also saw the Titanic exhibit and toured Alexander Keith's brewery and ate at a lot of great restaurants and just basically enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. Not much open on Sunday.I won't talk about the casino....

- Warren Mcintosh

Dear Warren:

Thanks for writing such a detailed overview of your visit.  Glad you enjoyed Halifax - there is a pedway link that connects down to the Waterfront (and back) which helps with some of the hills!   The fridge is left empty because so many people like to fill it with their own snacks and drinks these days - but everything is available on our "Little Cravings" menu with no additional fee for delivery.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, October 15, 2012

Extremely welcoming and VERY pet friendly!

As you can well appreciate, traveling with TWO Bouvier des Flandres can be a little stressful at times. At the Prince George Hotel all your staff was extremely accommodating and VERY welcoming. A special heartfelt thanks to Blair in Housekeeping. She copied lots of options for us to walk our dogs and we especially enjoyed our walk to and through Point Pleasant Park. Your hotel is in a fabulous location for both people and pets. Many thanks for your warm hospitality. Sincerely, Trish Robertson and Sean Key

- Sean Key
Island View

Hello Sean:

I think this was the first time we have hosted two Bouviers des Flandres at the Prince George - and it was hard to miss them!  What great dogs!  So glad that everything went well and your kind compliments have been passed along to Blair.

Hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Sunday, October 14, 2012

Fantastic stay

We arrived early and asked if we could store our bags until check-in time. The staff were very eager to help and did not hesitate to offer to call us as soon as our room was ready, and even put our bags in our room immediately instead of waiting until we arrived back. The room was great, very clean and tidy. The bed was heavenly! We loved the location - it made exploring downtown easy. The only negative thing we found was the selection at the restaurant was a bit limited.

- Dan Oldford
Paradise

Dear Dan:

Thanks for the great feedback - so glad that everything went so smoothly when you first arrived.  Appreciate your comments on the menu in Gio.  The selections are constantly changing so I do hope that you will give the restaurant another try in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, October 12, 2012

Great stay and super convenient for the WTCC.

Real creamers in the frig were my favourite touch. Thanks. I consume enough white death in my travels.

- Andrew Bates

Hello Andrew:

Thanks for your comments and for noticing the real milk and creamers in the fridge; it does make such a difference to the taste!

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, October 11, 2012

beautiful regal hotel in the centre of everything

fantastic service ,facility and staff- Penny Cameron is a delight and fully exceeded our expectations with regards to our reservations and Virgil (concierge) was pleasant,easy-going,congenial and very helpful when booking our wine tour and just to talk to on a regular basis as we were exiting the hotel. We especially enjoyed the end of our day in the wonderfully hot hottub and swim in the pool. Also the outdoor patio was a great retreat just to sit in the comfortable lounge chairs and relaxing environment!

- Kevin Mustard
Midland

Dear Kevin:

Thanks for posting such a positive review and I was very pleased to learn that you had such a great week with us.

I appreciate your kind compliments which have been passed along to both Penny and Virgil. 

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, October 11, 2012

Moments of Magic

First of all, I have worked with the Prince George for many years. Prince George has been taking care of our Michelin employees and the feed back has been outstanding! When my associate and I had the opportunity to spend time in Halifax, it gave us a fabulous opportunity to experience what all our other employees only spoke about. A "moment of magic" is having the unexpected happen. For me, this is what the front desk extended to my associates and I during our stay at the Prince George. 1. We arrived early and the front desk offered to move my colleague to the same floor and closer to my room. Just this offer alone was a very nice offer and we accepted. We told them we would check back at the front desk after we came back from an early lunch. Before we left the hotel, not only were we confirmed a new room, same floor and NEXT door to my room, a front desk representative delivered the key to my room. This is a "moment of magic" ! 2. I was in the middle of a presentation when my "mouse" died and I needed some batteries. I called the front desk and they had them delivered to the room withing minutes. Amazing...another "moment of magic"! You guys saved me! We had breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was delightful! Thank you for taking care of all our employees and for continuing to go above and beyond everyones expectatons! As a customer service person myself - you set the bar high and that is rare today. I look forward to the chance to come back and stay with you again! Lisa Linville - Relocation and International Services / Michelin N.A.

- Lisa Linville
Greenville

Dear Ms. Linville,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our Guest Survey request.

Although you did not give any further details, perhaps "Moments of Magic" is all that needs to be said!!!

Thanks so much,

Sincerely,

NICHOLAS CARSON
general manager

The Prince George Hotel
1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3J 3N9
direct 902.425.1986 reservations 800.565.1567



Thursday, October 11, 2012

Great, per usual.

It's always a great stay there. Speed of check in / check out as well as speed of service in The Terrace.

- Lynette Campbell
Atlantic Central
Moncton

Hello Lynette:

I was so pleased to learn that you always enjoy your stays at The Prince George!  Thanks so much for completing the survey and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, October 11, 2012

The best of time had by myself and my husband, we were treated like gold by all!!!

From the moment I called your 1-800 line to book the room, Carrie was so pleasant to talk to and I knew in an instant that we were booking the right place for my "surprise" 18th anniversary for my husband Mike. I had to work as well for 2 hours but with such great assistance as Carrie gave us, we upgraded to the crown floor and Carrie was just perfect explaining everything and the view we would have of the city. I was talking with my coworkers about what I was doing, and she suggested calling back to arrange more....I had no hesitation as I knew Carrie would be on the line (as she stated before the end of our first call, that I could call back anytime if I needed assistance). Well I did, and she was perfect, arranging a conversation between myself and Stephen the concierge. I wanted to courier a photo album of our 18 years together from the moment we met to the moment we married (3 years ago), and have blown up pictures since we got married to this year. Well Stephen was amazing, he organized everything for me, and all I had to do was get the package to him. I couriered it the next day, and even though Stephen wasn't working, he had the others put the package away for him to action. Well he went above and beyond! The moment we go to the hotel, it seemed that everyone knew who we were......we checked in, and Mike had no idea that we were on the crown floor. The concierge was Vincent/Victor (sorry guy). We went to the room, and Mike was thrown, and he had no idea why there were pictures spread all over the bed, and thought we were in the wrong room....well once he realized what was going on, he knew that I had somehow got the hotel to fix this up.......It was amazing...Thanks so much Stephen and Carrie. Then Carrie had a card for us at the desk w/ 2 glasses of wine stating "You made my day with your call"....Imagine...Now she made our day too :) And when we went back up to our room, Stephen had a bottle of white wine chilling for us....we sat back enjoyed the view and the wine...and could only think of how special we felt at that moment, and how your staff are simply incredible. We had more dealings with your front desk (simply fantastic)......and your staff kept asking "how did he like the pictures?".....so they knew who what where when and how...and how special is that! Please don't hesistate in letting your staff know that they made our day/night extremely unfortgettable. Sometimes we are a bit concerned when you are a gay married couple booking hotels ect...and I prefer to be who we are, so I can judge how we are and will be treated, and I can say we both were treated like gold by your organization!!! GREAT JOB, and we will be recommending you to everybody and anybody that will listen!!!!!

- Scott Gallant
Moncton

Hello Scott:

It was a treat to read your wonderful review and I am so glad that Stephen and Carrie took care of every detail to ensure your stay with us was everything you wanted - and more.  Thanks so much for your feedback - it means so much to everyone involved! 

We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both back in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Wonderful week end

We are once again very happy with the service we received at your Hotel. A surprise Friday evening when a bottle of wine and strawberries dipped in chocolate arrived at our room to wish us a happy anniversary. So pleased and touched with the thoughtfulness of this gesture! The card signed by Janet Turple ( I think) and wanted to say a thank you to her for being so thoughtful. I guess I mentioned that it was our anniversary when we decided to book an extra night. Also, we continue to have our breakfast in our room and so enjoy when Rolla delivers it. It seems like we are old friends now after many years of visiting your Hotel, always in April and again in October. Also, received directions to Dartmouth Crossing from one of your staff in the lobby and they were excellent. I followed the directions he printed off for me and had no problem whatsoever. I was just sorry I did not notice his name or he could have been thanked properly. Our room is always so nice and we so enjoy harbor side and enjoyed it so much! Our anniversary was actually Monday, Oct.8th so when our breakfast arrived there were more chocolate strawberries marking the occasion. Again, not sure who is responsible for this but just want to say a big thank you to each and every one who made our stay so pleasant.

- Linda & Earle Sweezey
Moncton

Dear Linda and Earle:

Thanks so much for choosing The Prince George for your anniversary celebration!  It sounds as if everything went really well and I am sure it is always nice to see Rola, who has been with us for a number of years now.  I'll certainly forward your compliments to Janet at the Front Desk.

Look forward to welcoming you on your next weekend getaway!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 09, 2012

Elegant, excellent hotel

The service, the accommodations and the ambience were all first class.

- Mary Capwell
Kilauea

Dear Mary:

Thanks for the positive feedback!  I was so pleased to learn that your first impression was so welcoming - and I will be sure to forward your kind compliments to the two members of our Concierge team who took care of your luggage and vehicle.

Thanks again and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 09, 2012

This is the best hotel experience I have had in many years.

From the time I booked my reservation, checked in to the hotel, enjoyed my room, received prompt wake up calls, had my coffee machine replaced to the conference room and my check out, the service was absolutely excellent, without exception.

- Sandra Limoges
Parks Canada
Ottawa

Dear Sandra:

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your kind comments and observations!  I am sure you travel a lot and such positive feedback is great to hear.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 09, 2012

Needing a break!

I knew it was going to be great the minute I booked. When you need the royal treatment you need to book with "The Prince"! Everything was perfect, from the morning shower to the morning coffee. No complaints.

- Jennifer Baker
Summerside

Dear Jennifer:

What a great phrase!  "When you want the Royal treatment, book with The Prince"!  Thanks so much for your positive feedback and I very much hope that The Prince George will always be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 09, 2012

Splendiferous Anniversary Trip!

We were there for our 8th wedding anniversary and we loved The Prince George. This was our first time to Nova Scotia. We stayed at three different hotels throughout Nova Scotia, and The Prince George blew the others away. (Although to be fair, there was nothing even near its quality on Cape Breton.) Our room was outstanding, the bed ridiculously comfortable, the toiletries awesome (which is a big deal to a girly-girl), the staff AMAZING throughout our stay, and breakfast each morning was fantastic too! The location was perfect--a short walk to great restaurants AND the best sights of the city. I have to say what I liked best was the comfy comfy bed, having a mini-fridge in our room and the spa-like shower. Least: the parking deck was TIGHT around turns, most of the spaces were pretty tight too and on each level it just...ends. We learned that one the hard way--got to the end thinking it would spiral back as most parking decks do, but we had to back up to be able to continue looking for a space. Also the entrance to the deck is not laid out well--there is not enough room for cars to smoothly navigate the entrance/exit if there is someone coming in and more than one car in the exit queue. Every time we left or came back, we had to either wait for the exit queue to finish before we could come in or had to back up to let someone in. Awkward.

- Amy Ingram
Stone Mountain

Dear Amy:

I was really pleased to learn that The Prince George was one of your chosen hotels for your wedding anniversary celebration - and it sounds as if we got 9 out of 10 ....!  Apologies for the parking ... when the lot is busy it can be very tight and I'm so sorry you had to back up.  Good point regarding the Downtown Link - and apologies that you were not advised, especially during a rainy week.

Thanks again for the feedback - hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 09, 2012

Fantastic ! Good food, good service and comfortable room.

Service was great. Room and beds were very comfortable. Love the coffee pods and creamers (nice touch). Liked the best was dinner at Gio's on Friday night (best food in Halifax). Liked the least was getting out of the parkade the next day. Seemed to be something wrong with the system that raises the gate to let people out.

- Stephen Curwin
Dartmouth

Hello Stephen:

Thanks so much for send such a positive review on both the hotel and our Four Diamond restaurant, Gio!
Sorry for the problems with the gate in the parkade - I realize that it can be very frustrating when the gate malfunctions, especially on a busy night.  I am working with the supplier to correct this occasional problem!

Appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 09, 2012

Job Well Done!

In May of 2011, I graduated from the Sobeys EMBA program. Classes were held at the World Trade Centre so for 20 months, every second weekend my home was the Prince George Hotel. During that time, everything was always up to a high level of standard, and if by chance there was something not perfect, the staff always went out of their way to make sure I was completed satisfied. I do travel a lot with my job so whenever I am in the city the Prince George is my choice hotel. My stay last week did not disappoint. I was thrilled to have been upgraded to the Crown floor and enjoy the new lounge. The amenities and decor in the lounge are exceptional...remember I travel alot and this lounge is one of the best. Please keep up the good work!

- Valerie Ryan
Empire Theatres Limited
New Glasgow

Dear Valerie:

It was our pleasure to be your "home away from home" when you were in Halifax studying for your EMBA and I am delighted that you continue to stay with us regularly.

Thanks for your feedback on the Crown Lounge - since you travel so much, you are certainly in a position to make a comparison with other hotels and I was so pleased to learn that ours scores top marks!

Look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,


Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, October 08, 2012

Made our city break even more enjoyable

We loved the Prince George hotel in Halifax, we loved everything about our stay. Good hotels these days tend to blend into the same service and so it is the little details that stand out - the little details like the breakfast girls remembering who takes tea and who takes coffee, how my wife likes her toast, taking an interest in what we are planning to do in the day and then asking about it the following morning. (2 of the girls even remembered this after 2 weeks when we returned for a single night at the end of our holiday - we thought this was truly special). The friendliness of the check-in staff who went out of their way to help us find our feet on the first night. The computer service providing guests with a flight check-in and boarding card printer. We had never seen this anywhere before and thought it was a brilliant idea. All in all, like I mentioned previously, the little things make a difference, they soon add up to make a big difference. We would certainly highly recommend the hotel to anyone that is staying in Halifax.

- Charlotte Bruce-Foulds

Dear Charlotte:

I encourage all of our employees to read these reviews, and it really means a lot to know that their acts of kindness and the small details are really noticed by guests like you!  Thanks so much for your kind compliments and positive feedback.

I do hope that your travels will bring you back to Nova Scotia in the future - and that you will choose to stay at The Prince George!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, October 04, 2012

great stay...as usual

from valet parking to check in to meals, all was great. staff were pleasant and efficient and helpful

- Murray Hill
Pictou

Dear Murray:

It's always a pleasure to welcome you and thank you for continuing to make The Prince George your "home away from home" in Halifax for the past several years!  I really appreciate your loyalty.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, October 03, 2012

The Connected Hotel

I have travelled across Canada and the US and this is the first hotel that I have stayed in that actually served maple syrup with real blueberry pancakes.

- Troy Whitehead

Dear Troy:

Thanks so much for responding to our Guest Survey - and for your comments on "real food"!!!!

Your comment regarding US versus Canadian spelling is well taken...we tend to use Canadian spelling wherever possible (especially since one of our "proofreaders" is British and a stickler for correct spelling!).

Thanks again for the feedback and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 02, 2012

Great hotel! Perfect location.

I assumed on previous visits to halifax that the Prince George would be out of my price range -- but it wasn't! Great hotel, great price, great staff... and a three-minute walk to the Neptune Theatre!

- Kate Hewlett
Toronto

Hello Kate:

"Great hotel, great price, great staff and a 3 minute walk to Neptune" - I think you have just written a new ad campaign for us!!!!!  So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks so much for the positive feedback.

Hope to see you again soon - and whenever you go to a show at Neptune!

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 02, 2012

A Meeting Planner's Dream

From Day 1, this has been an exceptional experience. Barbara Broome and her team handled every detail of my conference with ease and professionalism. On arrival last Tuesday, I was ill and apparently looked it as the Front Desk seemed concerned. Their offer to go to the pharmacy for anything I might need was so kind. They did send up hot tea and cough drops to my suite and they were both much appreciated! My room was perfect. The meeting rooms were set exactly as I had asked and catering and banquets were timely in the delivery of our food both days. The warm cookies at the break were a big hit and the team responded quickly when on Saturday I requested more! I heard repeatedly from my group that they were impressed with the facility, food and staff. Kudos also to the Bell staff as they seemed to recognize patrons and they called me by name!! I will recommend The Prince George to my friends and associates and would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

- Paula Spicer
Society of Arthritic Joint Surgery

Dear Paula:

Thanks so much for the title of your survey "a Meeting Planner's Dream"!   I have forwarded your very kind comments on to Barbara Broome, Lynn and our Front Desk team and, from your description, probably Russell, and his Concierge colleagues.

I do hope that the special care and attention you received when you first checked in made you feel better quickly.  I was delighted to learn that everything went so well - and we were very pleased to host your Conference.

Many thanks again,

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 02, 2012

Satisfaction Guaranteed

Satisfied once again with our stay at the Prince Goerge. Enjoy the "feel"of the hotel, from the lobby with the unique flower arrangement to the room and esp the view of the harbour. Great location, close to Citadel hill for a walk with a view, close to Historic properties. Favorite hotel in Halifax, clean, comfy beds, excellent service. Great restaurants and music venues within walking distance.

- Trenna Adams

Dear Trenna:

Thanks so much for forwarding such a positive review!  It's great to learn that you like the "feel" of this hotel - because that is exactly the atmosphere we strive to create.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 02, 2012

Lovely hotel!!!

As always, a great place to stay. Everyone is so pleasant. Not a single staff member was too busy to say hello to us.

- Andre Lavandier
Bridgewater

Dear Andre:

Lovely to hear from you and thanks so much for the kind comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Warm regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, October 02, 2012

I had a wonderful stay.

I always love staying at the Prince George. It is in the perfect location and very friendly helpful staff.

- Tabitha Duffy
Atlantic Central
Riverview

Dear Tabitha:

It's always our pleasure to welcome you, as well!  Thanks for the kind comments and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, October 01, 2012

Relaxing

Staff at the Prince George made it possible for my wife and I to enjoy a weekend away from all the hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. The friendly staff was great to deal with! Additionally, the Restaurant (Gio's) was probably the best restaurant I ever went to and look forward to going back someday!

- Don Richer
Val Caron

Hello Don!

I really appreciate your positive feedback and I am delighted that you were able to truly relax during your recent stay.

Thanks for the rave review of our restaurant, Gio!  I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager