Reviews

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

all good !

Was able to check in a bit early, Used valet parking which is so much easier. I left my blackberry in the car and they went and retrieved it an brought up to my room, good service. Was attending a function at WTCC so location was awesome, didnt have to go outside. Everyone was pleasant. Breakfast in the terrace was very good, Food served quickly and piping hot. No complaints at all, Barbara

- Barbara Hall
Beaverbank

Dear Barbara:

Glad that everything went so smoothly!  Thanks for the compliments and I do hope that you enjoyed your event at the WTCC!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Incredible first time stay plus honeymoon

My husband and I had just gotten married on November 23rd and we stayed at the Prince George Halifax. When we arrived we found out we had been upgraded plus given a bottle of beautiful prosecco. The hotel also helped my mother figure out what type of flowers to give us and helped her decide on a cute candy basket from a local candy store. Everything about the room was amazing, especially the bathroom and the enormous shower. We stayed in room 616 which we heard had the best bathroom. Our bed was so comfortable and big. We love the lounge on our floor and the continental breakfast was wonderful. The beverages available throughout the day was so nice. We will absolutely be back again soon for another lovely stay. Hopefully next time we will make it to the pool.

- Christopher Benoit
Stellarton

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Benoit:

Many congratulations on your wedding this past weekend!  I was delighted that you chose The Prince George for your wedding night and was pleased to help with the flowers and the Sweet Jane's basket that your mother ordered specially for you. 

Very best wishes from all of us for a lifetime of happiness together!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Friday, November 23, 2012

Girls Night!

We came to the city to celebrate the daughter of a friends having her braces removed. When in Halifax we always stay with you. Your hotel is always accomodating to our needs. The kids are always treated with as much resect as the adults are. The rooms are beautiful and watching the young ladies we had with us so excited to have their own bathrooms and hug the fabulous pillows on the beds was so much fun!! As always thanks for making our stay wonderful. PS....I still miss the guy in the parkade!!

- Paul & Sheila Barkhouse
Mirror N.S.
Western Shore

Dear Sheila:

Thanks so much for your feedback - and I was really pleased to learn that the girls had such a good time! A great excuse for a girls night out (or in!).

John will love to know that you still miss him in the Parkade booth - but he does still work for us as a Houseman for our public areas.

Thanks again - and we'll see you soon.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Friday, November 23, 2012

Comfortable, Wonderful Hotel Accommodations

I have stayed at the Prince George Hotel a number of times over the last few years. I have never been disappointed! The service is great, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are always clean and comfortable.

- Theresa Hollett
Goose Bay

Dear Theresa:

Thanks for completing our Guest Survey following your recent stay.  So glad that you enjoy The Prince George and I do hope that you can encourage your Board to stay with us too.

Have noted your comment regarding extra K-cups for your next stay!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Monday, November 19, 2012

Great facility and outstanding staff.

I had a great experience at the Prince George. its a very nice facility all around and my room was terrific. But your greatest asset is your staff. The service in every regard was top notch. I have stayed in most hotels in Halifax but definately give the staff at the Prince George the highest rating.

- Bruce Oliver
Fredericton

Dear Bruce:

Thanks so much for your kind comments.  I have a great team of caring professionals here at The Prince George - and it is their high standard of customer service that makes the difference.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, November 19, 2012

Memorable first experience

This was my first stay at the Prince Goerge hotel. I really enjoyed the accomodations on the 6th floor, especially the lounge area and the breakfast that was available. I totally loved the keurig in my room and appreciated that the mini fridge contained milk and cream. The entire hotel was in good repair and looked clean. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown.

- Lisa Holmes
Kanata

Dear Lisa:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey.  I was delighted to learn that everything went so well and have passed your kind compliments on to Vicki Vaughan-Day!

Thaanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, November 19, 2012

A great stay!

Really like the unque aspects of the hotel-the boarding pass station was really handy. A maintenance worker even asked if the pool water was too cold as another guest had complained. (It was a great temperature)

- Kim Harkins
Woodbridge

Dear Kim:

Thanks so much for sending such a positive review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. 

I will double-check with regard to the Maritime Travel conference rate - but so far everything leads me to believe that it was $119.  However, I will get back to you on this!

Thanks again for the great feedback.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, November 16, 2012

Bitter-sweet goodbye...

Our stay at the Prince George was in fact, our last few days in our beloved Halifax. We have been posted to Edmonton AB and as the movers came in to pack up our lovely home, we chose the Prince George as our final destination before leaving Halifax for good. As on our previous visit, the PG provided much fun for our 6 y/o in the pool & hot tub, and we were also closer to my oldest son Kenny, who works at the PG in catering; so it was great to be able to spend time with him in-between his breaks, especially as he is remaining in Halifax and we now had to move so far away from him. Thank you, yet again for another meaningful visit to your lovely hotel, and perhaps one day fate will find once again walking through the front doors of your beautiful establishment, in the mean time, look after my Kenny G for me please. With kindest regards, the Queenan family.

- Kenneth Queenan
Hammonds Plains

Dear Kenneth:

We were delighted to be your "final stop" before your next adventure.  Moving is always stressful but we all hope that you will settle down quickly in Edmonton - and Kenny can keep us posted!  And don't worry - we'll do our best to take care of him.  Every best wish to you and your family - from your "home away from home" in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, November 16, 2012

Prince is King in Waiting...

Thanks so much for making my short stay at your Hotel very pleasant. Your personnel were courteous and professional. Service was impeccable and my accommodation could not have been better. Past visits I have stayed at the Delta Barrington...but not any more. I am a convert. A special thank you to the lovely front desk young lady who went back to my room after I had checked out to retrieve my phone charger after I realized I had left it plugged into the wall. It may seem like a small thing but let me assure you it was very important to me. Thank you Prince George Hotel. Richard Crawford Manager, Group Risk Management The Royal Bank of Canada Toronto, ON

- Richard Crawford
Toronto

Dear Richard:

A convert!  That is all we need to know - and we look forward to your next visit.

I will find out who retrieved your Blackberry charger for you and will certainly pass on your thanks and appreciation.  It's often the small gestures that make a big impression.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Warm welcome, comfortable, clean room, delightful experience.

After 26 years the property appears to well taken care of and in good shape. Staff is well trained, eager to assist, and very effecient.

- Larry Stephan
South River

Dear Larry:

I was so sorry to have missed you during your recent stay!  I am sure it was most intriguing for you to walk through these doors again and see all the changes - trust you left with a positive impression.

Hope to see you the next time you visit - you can only stay at The Prince George whenever you're in Halifax!

Very best wishes,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Crown service treated us like royalty.

Loved the personal attention and details. Within 15 minutes of arrival, we received a fruit plate and personal note from Amber in reservations with complimentary drinks at Gio. The room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom was immaculate. The Crown floor lounge was a lovely perk, well-stocked and spotlessly clean. There was no noise. Dinner at Gio was a little uneven. Service was attentive. Salad was oily and lacked acid and there was no jus with the steak but the gnocchi was excellent and cannoli/tiramisu were a highlight. Amuse-bouche was amazing (pork dumpling). We'll definitely be back!

- Jill Lacey

Dear Jill:

Thanks so much for your positive review - so glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and were treated like Will and Kate!!!  Appreciate your feedback on our restaurant, Gio.   We welcome your constructive review!

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Very nice visit, again.

We always enjoy the atmosphere and professional service at your hotel and this visit was no exception. We were placed in a regular room on the 4th floor facing the waterfront which we enjoyed. We have experienced the Crown level on other occasions and have loved that location, especially the breakfast room. I was pleasantly please to receive a piece of delicious birthday cake upon arrival, as that was the reason for our visit to the city. Such a nice touch. Thank you. The hotel bathroom was fine although I was wishing for a shower cap. Coffee machine was great and I was happy to find real cream and milk in the fridge. That makes a difference. I missed not having a newspaper to read with my morning coffee. Bed and pillows are very comfy. We did not use any facilities other than our room.

- Jane Mason
Mount Uniacke

Dear Jane:

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.  Don't hesitate to ask for any "extra's" you may require - we can add your requests to your guest profile and ensure you always have a newspaper delivered, shower cap available or any other other personal preferences, every time you visit.  Hope you had a great birthday - see you on New Year's Eve!

Kind regards

Nick Carson
General Manager



Monday, November 12, 2012

It was absolutly fabulous !!

People are really nice, the room was beautiful and thank you again for the playpen for our daughter and the teddy bear in the bed ! The location is perfect really close to everything ! The swimming pool is great ! Nothing wrong to tell !!

- Annaig Moraze
Saint Pierre & Mique

Hello Annaig:

I am so sorry that I did not get an opportunity to meet you and your family during your recent stay.  Thanks so much for contacting us via Facebook; your requests helped us to ensure that you had everything you needed for your little girl.

I was delighted to learn that everything went so well - and we will all look forward to welcoming you back in 2013! 

I hope that The Prince George will become your "home away from home" in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, November 12, 2012

Great hotel. Very clean and comfortable

I have stayed at the Prince George before; I returned because my prior experience was excellent. My only issue was with your restaurant, Gio. I had previously had such a great meal there and had anticipated another, but Gio was reserved for a private party. That said, your concierge was wonderful in suggesting another restaurant, calling in a reservation and providing directions. (That restaurant was not as good as Gio). Thank you for all you do to make travelers comfortable. It is important to me.

- Susan Blatchford
Park Forest

Dear Susan:

I'm so sorry that Gio was closed for a private function during your recent visit. It's always a good idea to make a reservation in advance, but I know that's not always feasible.  Thanks for the compliments regarding the Concierge who helped with alternate arrangements - I'll pass on your thanks!

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Sunday, November 11, 2012

Awesome location and great service.

Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Place was super convenient to Hal-Con. Staff remembered what type of tea my friend had the following mornings. She loved that! We definitely want to stay there next year.

- Raymond Saulnier
Saint John

Dear Raymond:

Thanks for staying with us during the Hal-Con Event!  I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service here at The Prince George and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, November 08, 2012

The only hotel I stay at!!!

I love the prince George! The rooms are lovely, the underground connection is so convenient, and the employees are always friendly, and ready to help whenever I need them !! Prince George is deinantly the only hotel I stay at when I come into Halifax!

- Mary Jayne Veinot

Dear Mary Jayne:

Anders is a great addition to our Front Desk team - he is always upbeat and personable!  Thanks for your compliments which will be passed along to him.  He is also becoming a regular on the Neptune Theatre stage!

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services,
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Tuesday, November 06, 2012

I love the PG for many reason

To begin, I must start by saying that last week-end was the first opportunity for quite awhile that I was able to spend a week-end in the city so I was happy to see that the Prince George remained as great a hotel as it always was. I began staying at the Prince George several years ago when my daughter Kirsten Godbout worked for you. It quickly became my hotel of choice. Service- very customer oriented. You are always made to feel that your stay has been truly appreciated Accommodation- Very attractive, well appointed rooms Location- Perfect as I like to be central, downtown so I can walk about the city easily. Amenities-Didn't really require anything this stay that was not right in our room Dining- We ate at Gio and it was as fabulous as every. I requested a table that Terri-Lynn Acker was serving as she is a close friend. Her service was impeccable as was that of the others who assisted.

- Karen Mattatall
Shelburne

Hello Karen:

Thanks so much for writing - and many of us here still keep in touch with Kirsten!  I was delighted to learn that you continue to enjoy the hotel and have passed your kind compliments on to Terri in Gio.

Hope The Prince George will contine to be your home away from home in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, November 05, 2012

AGM

We stay at the Prince George as our AGM is being held at the world trade and convention center, for pure convience, however the hotel is beautiful, staff was awesome, they have made a continued quest out of me!

- Nicole Nader
Nova Scotia Association of Optometrists

Dear Nicole:

It's a pleasure to note that you may become a regular guest as a result of this trip!  Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, November 05, 2012

Class

I hadn't been back to the Prince George in some time, though have been to Halifax & Dartmouth. The thing that impresses the most is that everyone there speaks to every guest as if the hotel were a $1000-a-night hotel and all the patrons were people who saw $1000 as chump change. By that I mean all the hotel people I encountered --front desk, concierge, bartender-- treated me and others with a polish and class that felt like this was a place too expensive to stay at because it was frequented by the rich and elite. The room was spacious and well equipped. The lobby area was bright. Only the meeting room I attended was like a typical hotel meeting room (the Lunch provided was tasty). And that's not a criticism. It's a nice hotel staffed by very nice people. And the walkway to everywhere is a bonus.

- Patrick McWade
Southampton

Dear Patrick:

I have worked at this hotel for a number of years - and it is the people who work here that make the difference.  When you walk through these doors, they treat you as if you are walking into their home.  Thanks so much for your lovely kind compliments.  Hope to see you back soon.

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, November 05, 2012

City break

I was greeted by a friendly smile and welcome at the front desk, i felt like the hotel was my home in the city. Coming into town from rural Nova Scotia for a music concert, this was to be a one night city break. The accommodation was clean and the room beautifully laid out, with a view of the harbour. The concert was fantastic, I appreciated the direct link from the hotel to the venue at the Metro Center, i will always stay at the PG when i am in the city. Thank you again for a wonderful if only too short stay. yours Paul Bailey

- Paul Bailey
Barss Corner

Dear Paul:

I hope that we will become your "home away from home" whenever you return to Halifax.  Thanks for the kind comments and feedback.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, November 05, 2012

Prince George Hotel is an excellent place to stay.

As always we had a great time . The people in the reception ( especially Alex ) and the people working in the restaurant,they all are so friendly and nice.We always look forward to go to your hotel.. Thank you. Birgit Topp

- Chris & Birgit Topp
Mulgrave

Dear  Birgit:

It's always our pleasure to welcome you!  Thanks so much for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, November 05, 2012

always an enjoyable stay at The Prince George

As stated above it is always a pleasure to stay here.Staff are knowledgeable,helpful and friendly from front staff to food service.Location is great too. Regards, John and Gail Ives Charlottetown,PEI

- John Ives
Charlottetown

Dear John:

Lovely to hear from you - and I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay.  Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Monday, November 05, 2012

Another great stay

Hi Carson, I had another great stay at the Prince George. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are nice. I had a little issue getting out of the parking garage when my ticket wouldn't work, but I buzzed the front desk and they cleared it up right away. Thanks again. Darrin McLean

- Darrin Mclean
Reserve Mines

Dear Darrin:

Thanks for the feedback - and apologies for the problems with the parking ticket.  Glad to hear that the Front Desk were able to quickly resolve the situation!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Friday, November 02, 2012

Friendly courteous service

I hadn't visited in a while but was treated just like I had never left.

- Fred Hughes
Nova Scotia Power Inc
Trenton

Dear Fred:

It's always our pleasure to welcome you to your "home away from home" in Halifax!  Your kind compliments have been passed along to Russell, Pema and Paige.  Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Thursday, November 01, 2012

Pleasant

Hi there, I had a wonderful stay at your hotel! It was short - just one night but I loved the accommodations. Comfortable and cozy and yet still classy. The concierge was an amazing help with things to do, where to go, directions etc. They were very courteous and welcoming too! Breakfast was delicious. I opted for the "a la carte" and loved that there was this option instead of partaking in the huge buffet. Overall, service was great. The only complaint I have is that there was no hand cream in the washroom! Thanks again and I look forward to staying with you again in the future!! Best, Sandi

- Sandi Ascenzi Naumann
Toronto

Dear Sandi:

Thanks so much for your feedback - your kind compliments have been passed along to our Concierge.  I'll make sure you are provided with some moisturizing lotion should you stay with us again....we have moved away from using the little bottles of product because of wastage but we still have Aveda available!

Hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Guest Services & Clefs d'Or Concierge



Thursday, November 01, 2012

Another great experience.

While I have stayed in many Halifax area hotels it is always a pleasure to stay at the Prince George. The staff ar?e professional, pleasant and happy to aid in any way possible. The hotel is always immaculate from the lobby to the elevator and hallways. The room are well appointed with amenities and if there is ever a need for extra towels, toiletries, blankets etc they are never more than a phone call away. I recommend the hotel to all my friends and family whenever they travel to the Halifax area. The downtown location is perfect for restaurant selection as they are a short walk away. Thanks for the great stay once again.

- Chris Carson

Dear Chris:

Really appreciate the recommendation - word of mouth is our best advertising!

Thanks for continuing to choose The Prince George.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager



Thursday, November 01, 2012

HAL-CON 2012

We attended again this year as a family and stayed at the Prince George for the second year as a row. It's so convenient to just be able to take the elevator and the pedway to the WTCC. We love the suites - they're roomy and have ALL the amenities you could possibly want, including microwave and fridge. The staff was helpful. Thanks for a great stay!

- Kimberly Charron
Marion Bridge

Dear Kimberly:

The Hal-Con event seems to become more popular every year!  Thanks for your positive feedback and very much hope that you will choose The Prince George again.  Whoops - apologies for the missing tea - but glad that you enjoyed the hot chocolate.

Kind regards,

Nick Carson
General Manager