Reviews

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

my favourite hotel in the world!

hey scott, glad i got this survey because i've been meaning to write to tell you how much my wife and i enjoyed our stay at the PG this past weekend. we have two young kids under 4, so nights away are rare at best. it was my wife's birthday to boot, which i casually mentioned on the phone when i was booking the room. from the moment we arrived, everyone - without exception - made us feel welcome, valued and special. that's rare in this current customer service climate but it's certainly been our experience every time we've stayed there. the front desk clerk - ian? - asked if our kids were with us this time and wished carole a happy birthday. nice personal gestures. upon arriving in our room, there was a knock at the door and a complimentary bottle of prosecco along with a lovely dessert was ushered in for carole to make her birthday extra special. i stay in hotels a lot and these touches may seem small to you and your staff...but to consumers like us they mean everything. world class hospitality, scott. the very best. well done. jonathan torrens

- Jonathan & Carol Torrens

Dear Jonathan & Carol (& two wee-ones),

Your note is very much appreciated - I know you are super busy (like many of our guests) and we are always honored that people we had the pleasure of inviting into our "home" take the time to let us know what we did right (and sometimes unfortunately not so right... but that's how we get better). 

Thank you very much for your loyalty and I can assure you the pleasure is all ours.

See you soon,

Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, April 30, 2013

A fantastic break from everyday life!

My husband and I checked in for one night in an executive suite. From our arrival in the underground parking until the second we left, our experience was an enjoyable one. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was fantastic (including great serving staff) and to room was beyond compare. Thank you!

- Claudine Laforce

Dear Claudine:

Glad you had such a fantastic stay - hope the birthday event went well!

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Great !

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The service was great, the front counter staff were both friendy and accomodating. My hotel room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable to stay in. The location was perfect in temrs of being near both my course, and amenities. I liked the friendly, accomodating staff the best and there really wasn't anything I disliked. Highly recommend to anyone !

- Craig O`Neill

Dear Craig:

We love a rating of A+.  Your comments will be shared with all of our employees who represent us so well.

Kind regards,



Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Monday, April 29, 2013

How pleasant!!!!!

My husband gary and myself only live in middle sackville but decided to make an evening of it for the Great Big Sea Concert. We had friends join us as GIO for supper. Our friend was reluctant to go at first as she said "hotel food is always the same" Well, you have one converted. It was so pleasant and how wonderful. Our waitress's name has left me but she was wonderful and fun, even got some info about the concert for us. We did not know if there was an opening act and she sure found out for us. Our room 624 was clean and cozy. My choice for staying downtown has always been the prince george (even though we do not do it enough) The breakfast in the morning was great. We forgot to put our selection out the night before so it could delivered to the room but it was wonderful to sit in the beautiful and cozy dining area. Thank you to all!

- Barb Cross



Monday, April 29, 2013

Always feel special and welcome!

I love staying at the PG and have done so regularly for the last several years. I love the service, the amenities and just the total feel of professionalism. Everyone is great! Exceeds expectation! Because you have me so spoiled I just want to comment on two things; I normally get feather pillows in my rooms and they are on my profile and I did not get them my last stay. This is not a huge deal but as I say you have spoiled me and it is so nice to have them. Also you used to send out emails a few days before the stay and I notice that you do not do this anymore. Too bad because it was always good and for someone who travels weekly like I do it is a good reassurance that I made my reservation. Two things that in the scheme of things are certainly not huge. You always make me and when possible, my family, feel very welcome. Thank you for that.

- Kerry Lynn Mercer

Dear Kelly Lynn:

We pride ourselves on our personalized service - and we are so sorry that we missed your feather pillows!!  Don't worry - it won't happen again!  E mails are still being sent out prior to your arrival;  however, we did recently undergo and service switch and I wonder if some of our E-mails fell "through the cracks".  Thanks for bringing these points to our attention - excellent feedback.

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, April 29, 2013

loved it

i thought the people and service were absolutely lovely. lots was going wrong with the accommodation, like phones and movies not working, and with amenities, like needing a shower cap and asking for one from the maid, but not getting one...things like that. but the service and people made up for everything.

- Regalena Melrose

Dear Regalena:

Profuse apologies for the malfunctioning phone and movies - certainly not our usual standard.  This should have been checked prior to your arrival!  Glad to know that our staff made up for it.  Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, April 29, 2013

Why in Nova Scotia Canada that no CBC French station are present ?

To whom it may concern, April 29, 2013 I have stayed regurlarly at The Prince Georges this past year 12-13 by personal choice and I still do not understand why there is no CBC or other "Canadian" French channels or networks present on your tv dial ! The only choice provided is "TV 5" which are mostly European French productions if I may say so and never related to Nova Scotia or Canadian features or stories. My reasonning is that if we want to attract a French or bilingual tourist and bussiness crowd, we should offer something else than mostly American or copies of Amerucan shows and features as the only choices. I remember having choices of channels between CBC French and private French Canadian channels not too long ago here ! What is the reasoning to offer American tourists or bussiness people only an American flavour in Halifax ? Francophone Canadian channels have much more to offer all around in my opinion ! Sincerely , Michel de Noncourt Arts Council of Nova Scotia Communications Chair

- Michel deNoncourt

Dear Michel:

Thanks for your comment - and be assured that other guests have made the same observation.  We are addressing this complaint with our cable provider and hope to be able to offer a wider variety of stations in the future.  I really appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, April 29, 2013

great downtown hotel

even though this is a older hotel we really appreciated the friendliness, cleanliness, and the fact you have kept up with the times with all your modern conveniences.

- Doug Baird

Dear Doug:

Our hotel property is currently undergoing a transformation - so you will see even more modern conveniences in the future!  Thanks for the great feedback.

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, April 29, 2013

Consistent Quality

Always stay here when in Halifax on business. Great location, always clean and staff always friendly and helpful. Love the fitness and pool facilities.

- Jeff Duplessie

Dear Jeff:

Thanks for great comments.  We don't like to put too much paper and "clutter" in our rooms - but the Where magazine and Halifax Visitor Guide should always be in place.  Our Concierge team is standing by to give you the best advice and information so don't hesitate to ask.

Kind regards,



Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Monday, April 29, 2013

Great stay !

Wonderful stay. Staff were FANTASTIC !! Thank you to each of them from the front desk, room service, to conceriege. Very friendly, helpful and accomdating. It was my first time staying on the crown floor and I enjoyed much more. Nothing bad to say at all and look forward to my next trip to Halifax. Thank you again

- Tamara Alleyne

Dear Tamara:

We have a great team here at The Prince George and they need to know that they are fantastic...because that is what they strive to be!!  Thanks so much for saying so!

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, April 25, 2013

Anniversay night

We had a good rate, a lovely stay, great suite and the extra touch of delivering some chocolate strawberries was a nice surprise. Room service was timely and efficient. I noticed that the hotel seems somewhat bare in the common rooms. Istayed at the PG often from 09-11 and there seems to be less decor. Linda Duncan

- Alan Duncan

Dear Linda and Alan:

Thanks for responding to our Guest Survey and thanks for the positive feedback.  We are in the midst of improving and refurbishing - and some of our furniture has been moved around!  Stay tuned for big changes in the year ahead!

Kind regards,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Lovely room and service

Unfortunately I was not able to enjoy the opportunity of being a guest because I was attending a conference. Would recommend to friends and family.

- Lucinda Low



Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Nice place to stay

We were in Halifax for Stars on Ice. Reception and the room was nice, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was good, but a bit pricey.

- Bryan Drummond



Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Nice!

Stayed at hotel becuase of work...am employeed with Bridgeway Academy/Turning Tides and the conference at the WTCC was being held. Thank you for the discounted price, much appreciated. The room was clean and the distance between the two locations was "GREAT". Thank you so much for everyone that I spoke or dealt with at the hotel was wonderful...hats off to your staff. Very friendly.

- Tracy Graham

Dear Tracy:

We were delighted to host our guests with the Turning Tides Conference and thanks for the "hats off"!

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Very Good.

We had a very good stay at your hotel.The room was plesant spacious and well furnished.We had a fine breakfast in the morning.We were attending the "Stars on Ice "skating show.It was raining and one of your staff was good enough to tell us how to get to the arena without going outdoors--a real plus on a rainy evening.The only negative was having to pay for parking,but I guess thats down town Halifax.On the whole a great stay.

- Carman Rev & Alice Burns

Dear Carman and Alice:

Thanks for choosing The Prince George Hotel for Stars on Ice.  It really is so convenient, especially in bad weather.  Appreciate your kind comments.  All the hotels charge for parking - although it's sometimes hidden in a higher room rate.  Check our website for specials and packages - the Perfect Escape includes parking - it's a popular choice!

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, April 23, 2013

My HYZ favourite

Always friendly accommodating staff, a great location and lovely view of the harbour. Decor starting to look a little tired and bedsheets almost looked unpressed.

- Robert Gillespie

Dear Robert:

Hope we can continue to be your favourite.  Expect some very positive changes as we continue to renovate and refurbish.  No excuse for the crinkled sheets, however - I'll follow up on this point.

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Great weekend

I was very impressed by the staff, friendless, courteous, and efficient . The cost is high and we should get a break for using hotel parking.

- David Geddes

Dear David:

Thanks for the kind comments - I'll certainly pass on your compliments to Jordan, our popular bartender in Gio! Check out our website for specials and packages throughout the year - the Perfect Escape gives you parking and breakfast for an all inclusive price.  Excellent value.

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, April 19, 2013

Smooth Sailing for a Viennese Opera Ball weekend

The entire stay was very smooth and comfortable. Right from the quick and friendly check in to the check out I had a very enjoyable stay. The room was well appointed and the cleaning staff very efficient and also very friendly. While it might be difficult, some way of allowing easier access to the window to adjust the drapes would be an asset - the two chairs and small table fill the space.

- Michael McFadden

Dear Michael:

Thanks for the positive feedback - I'll be sure to pass along yur kind compliments to Jordan, our popular bartender in Gio!  Look forward to welcoming you back in the future - and note taken of the difficulty adjusting the drapes.

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, April 18, 2013

Excellent Service as Always

My fiance and I have made it a habit to spend a night at the Prince George at least once every 6 months. We have always had exceptional service. We prefer to stay Crown Service and enjoy the amenities and service received there. On check-in, our key cards were ready, I just gave my name at the desk, was handed the key cards and was told "welcome back" - little things like this are what make your hotel stand out from others. I appreciate the little touches, such as noticing we've stayed there before, and not having to go through a big check-in process upon arrival. The valet was more than courteous. We ordered room service, which was quick. The food was excellent quality and served hot/cold appropriately. The pay per view movies on our TV was not working initially, but it was quickly fixed while we were out after a call to the front desk. The only negative experience, and it was quite small, was breakfast. We chose to have it delivered to our room and completed the request the night before to hang on our door. In the morning, it was delivered at the correct time, and the employee was very polite. However, when we sat down to eat we realized that we were missing 3 items we had requested. I went to the lounge to see if any were available there, and most of the offerings there were empty. It was quite a busy weekend, and it was later in the morning around 10:00am, so I understand that things had run out. What we were served was of great quality and we really enjoyed it. This by no means affected our overall experience. When we stayed last time, November 10 2012, we were celebrating our anniversary. Shortly after arriving to our room, we received a complimentary bottle of champagne as well as a card congratulating us on our anniversary. I regret that I don't remember the name of the employee who sent it (a girl with blonde hair, her name started with C, she checked us in), and I also regret I forgot to fill out this survey at that time with this little detail. These are a few of the reasons why we truly enjoy staying at the Prince George, and are so looking forward to spending a few nights there as part of our Honeymoon this coming September.

- Michaela Diggins

Dear Michaela:

I do hope that you will continue with your twice yearly visits.  Thanks so much for the feedback and I am so sorry for the missing items at breakfast - especially as everything else was so excellent. You're right - it's the small things that count.  I'll find out who sent the champagne and forward your compliments.

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, April 18, 2013

Friendly luxury!!

My wonderful friends and I spent Saturday night in your King Deluxe Suite - we were in Halifax to go to the Leonard Cohen concert. Your service was impeccable - the room and amenities were clean and thoughtful - the location perfect being so close to the Metro Centre. Staff were alway cheerful and accommodating. I really can't think of anything lacking except maybe more coffee in our room - for three coffee drinkers, we ran out very quickly....

- Paula Benson

Dear Paula:

Sorry you ran out of coffee.  Don't hesitate to call in future as we would be happy to supply more.
Thanks for staying with us - when there's a fabulous concert at the Metro Centre, it makes for a truly relaxing night away.

Kind regards,




Thursday, April 18, 2013

Great hotel clean friendly and good location

This was our second stay with you and most enjoyable if ever we return to Halifax we always give you first choice, thank you and your staff for making our stay a good one.

- Graham Card

Dear Graham:

Thanks for making us your Number One choice!  We all look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,




Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, April 18, 2013

Downtown comfort

The Prince george is very perfectly placed and convenient for almost anywhere in the city. I have attended conferences at other hotels but generally stay at the Prince George because of our preferred rate and knowing exactly what to expect. The staff is always frieendly and accomidating. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

- Paul Boomhower

Dear Paul:

Thanks for mentioning the three "C"s ...clean, comfortable and convenient.  You're right about the lack of washroom facilities at the pool level, although, weather permitting, there is access to the Regency corridor washrooms by simply walking out on the patio and through the glass door.  Anyway, I realize is can be inconvenient to go upstairs from the pool to the Fitness Centre and I'll keep this in mind as we move forward with renovation and refurbishment!  Thanks again.

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, April 18, 2013

LOVE YOUR HOTEL

We had tickets to the Leonard Cohen concert at the Metro Centre so the Prince George was an ideal place to stay. The room was very comfortable and we had a nice view across the harbour. Our breakfast the next morning was very tasty. We got parked and had no problem with checking in or anything else connected with our stay.

- Pearl Drolet

Dear Pearl:

Make sure you stay with us every time you book tickets for a concert at the Metro Centre.  We'd love to help you make a night of it!

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, April 18, 2013

Simply the best

The best hotel in Halifax.

- Scott & Joy Mackenzie

Dear Scott and Joy:

I was delighted to read your kind comments and will certainly forward your compliments to Kim in Housekeeping.
Look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I love going back to he Prince Geroges !

During this visit, I had a unique experience. We helped cook part of our dinner. It was great to learn and to experience new things. I learnt all about Truffle Oil !

- Lily Durepos

Dear Lily:

Normally we would always cook your entire meal!!!  However, in this case, I am very pleased that you were happy to participate.  Thanks for writing.

Kind regards,



Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, April 15, 2013

Both my wife & I had a great stay. Staff were excellent

The accommodiations , amenities, and service were excellent. We stayed on the 6th floor, and liked the hospitality room service the best. There were no dislikes during our stay.

- Hector DiPersio (senior)

Dear Hector:

It's always great to welcome you back, Hector and I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with no dislikes!  We "like" that.  Your kind compliments will be passed along to Stephen, our Concierge.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,



Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Monday, April 15, 2013

Excellence

Our stay was incredible, best hotel visit ever for us. We were on a one night getaway from our 4 children and had an amazing visit. Everything was clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. We don't have a single complaint.

- Angela Grandy

Dear Angela:

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed a great "getaway" and very much appreciate your positive feedback.  I do hope that the kids will allow you another night away in the future - and trust you will choose to stay with us again!

Your sincerely,




Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Friday, April 12, 2013

We love the Prince George.

My granddaughter was attending a boot vamp on Barrington St, at the Centre for Arts and because of our experience from the year before, ( my son and daughter-in-law had booked us for a Christmas gift in the red suite which was awesome. We had a lovely room this time but not as great as the the suite, of course. Our main focus was to have an exceptional dinner at the Gio restaurant, and that we did. The added touches of the chef with the appetizers, the courtesy of the servers and their attentiveness made our dinner even more special. We had a special package with breakfast included with our room and was very satisfied. At the end of our trip, we were allowed to stay until 3 because of an employee at the desk. Our granddaughter was not finished her course until after her open house which took place at 5 , so my husband explained this and the gentlemen let us stay in the room til 3. Thanks for all your hospitality at the Prince George and all the employees. You do a great job.. Hope to see you next year.

- Clifford Mullen

Dear Clifford:

It sound as if a good time was had by all!   Thanks for the lovely overview of your experience in Gio which will be shared with all those involved.  We will always extend a later check out when we can.  Hope the boot camp went well and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, April 08, 2013

Prince George Teddy Bear

My family and I stayed at the Prince George on the weekend. I frequently stay at the PG for business etc... This was the first trip that we took with our newly adopted son Kayden who is 2. On Arrival (April 5th at approximately 7:39 pm) your conserige gave kayden a little Prince George teddy bear. He immideatly cuddled it in his arms. This was a very nice gesture. Thank you so much! We hope to retunr this summer.

- Eric Matchett

Dear Erik:

Congratulations on the wonderful new addition to your family and welcome Kayden to The Prince George.  Please bring Kayden + teddy bear to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,


Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Thursday, April 04, 2013

Overall experience was fine.

A couple of minor concerns and one major one. First let me preface by saying that all staff with whom we had contact were great. all were very friendly and helpful. One minor concern was that there was leftover food in the fridge when we checked in. It was quickly disposed of. Next, the coffee machine in our room didn't work, or, at least, we couldn't get it to work. However, the coffee in the dining room was very nice. Our major concern centers around our car as we were leaving. Some workers were power washing the floor on the lower level of the parking garage when we were packing the car to go. My shiny new car had an inch of grime all over it. It was so thick that I had to stop at a corner store to buy bottled water by the jug to clean off the windows before driving home, just for the proper visibility. When I got home I spent a good portion of the afternoon washing my vehicle. I called the hotel the following day to speak to the manager about this and was told that she was not in but would certainly get back to me the following day ( Tuesday ). it is now Thursday night and I have yet to hear from anyone. This, I find unacceptable, if not downright rude. We enjoyed your nice room and really nice dining room and all of the staff therein. It was our first stay with you, and it's too bad that it ended on a sour note. Thank you

- Donna Stewart

Dear Donna:

Please accept our sincere apologies for the mess on your car.  No excuses, but there was a mis-communication regarding the area of the parkade being spray-washed on this particular day, there was far more mess than usual and you were not alone in your frustration.  I am so sorry you had to deal with this and we won't let it happen again.  Our Front Office Manager did try to reach you - and if she did not manage to get in touch with you for any reason, please feel free to contact me directly.  I truly hope that you will not be deterred from staying with us again.

Kind regards,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, April 03, 2013

The Stay of Your Life

As in past years, my wife and I booked are stay at the Prince George Hotel located in downtown Halifax. living a 2 hour drive from the city it is always nice to have the chance to stay over in the big city, shopping, walking, and sites that are way different then the country life. Our first few years of this we stayed at different locations, some for their perks, others for the cost. Finally about 5 years ago we found the Prince George, and truly life has never been the same for us. The people are the greatest that Halifax has to offer. Friendly, helpful, polite, and down right helpful. If they don't know the answer,"just wait and I will find someone that does".Our stay is always on the 6th floor, and we just love the little changes you have made, yet the staff remain the same. Even this weekend for easter brunch while walking into the new Gio, I was greeted by name by 2 staff members. I was amazed. As I stated before, we have stayed at several places in Halifax, but for the past 5 years there is no other. Thank you to your staff, and everyone that is committed to our stay, and please don't ever change. Yours Truly Ken and Nathalie Jamieson

- Ken Jamieson

Dear Ken:

You have no idea the positive impact that such glowing comments have on all of us at The Prince George.  Be assured that everyone will get to read this.  It is so encouraging to know that we are on the right track!

Kind regards,



Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Wednesday, April 03, 2013

Excellent as usual

I am a returning customer. As always, the room was perfect in terms of location and amenities, with one small exception - no shower cap for my partner. She was however able to get one without difficulty from the front desk. Renovations to the main floor look fantastic, and we are looking forward to a stay at the end of the summer - hopefully most of the changes will be complete - we love breakfast on the main floor.

- Barry Malcolm

Dear Dr. Malcolm,

Thanks for mentioning our renovations - work will be completed soon with more changes to come during the year.  Stay tuned!  Shower cap requested has been added to your guest profile so that this item is always supplied to you when you visit.

Kind regards,



Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Tuesday, April 02, 2013

Wonderful

We both really enjoyed our stay at your hotel for our extended week end get-away after a long winter. We keep coming back year after year as we always receive the best of service and love the crown floor. It was very nice of Penny to send us the little treat as it just adds that extra touch that makes us feel special! We usually spend Easter and Thanksgiving at your hotel and hope to continue this. We especially enjoy your package weekends as it makes it affordable for us to continue year after year. Thank you!

- Linda & Earle Sweezey

Dear Linda & Earle:

It's a pleasure to "spoil" you whenever you visit and thanks for continuing to choose The Prince George for your getaway weekends.  I'll pass your compliments on to Rola.

Kind regards,



Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Tuesday, April 02, 2013

As always we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you..the staff is always so friendly and accommodating...location is perfect...beds are so very comfortable..and Gio's is always a great place for per dinner drinks or a nightcap...my husband always has the oysters...claims they are the best he has ever had!!

Excellent!!

- Dan & Susan Jenkins

Dear Dan and Susan:

Thanks so much for your positive comments!  And Dan, obviously you are quite right about the oysters!!
Look forward to welcoming you both back.

Kind regards,


Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Tuesday, April 02, 2013

every detail looked after to perfection

great location for all events & dining in Halifax.special & unexpected happy anniversary chocolate strawberry plate.. thank you.

- James Davidson

Dear James:

Happy Anniversary - it seems that everything was perfect!

Kind regards,



Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada



Monday, April 01, 2013

March Break stay

Everything was excellent!!!!

- Tara Perrot

Dear Ms. Perrot,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Guest Survey following your recent visit to The Prince George Hotel during March Break.

I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax!

Sincerely,


PENNY CAMERON
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada

The Prince George Hotel
1725 Market Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3J 3N9
direct 902.425.1986 reservations 800.565.1567





Monday, April 01, 2013

Very pleasant

My son and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Prince George. We stayed on the 6th floor, and the lounge was a real treat. What a lovely space, beautifully appointed with nice touches such as center-pieces of fresh flowers. The breakfast was also quite nice (the pastries were delicious) and a good value for the extra cost of the room. I just wondered why you would have 0% fat-free yogurt though, and not at least the low-fat version. I would rather not eat yogurt if it is fat-free, what is the point? The location was perfect for us. We were in Halifax visiting Dalhousie University but also wanted to stay near the harbor. Your concierge was helpful in directing us to the bus station when we were leaving for the airport, which is a much better option than taking a taxi ride (less than one-tenth of the price). He was very much on the ball, as I was being told by one of your reception staff that he did not know much about the bus schedule, and the concierge swept in with our luggage and took us to his desk to give us the next bus departure time. The reception staff was courteous, and your lounge attendant kept the space nice and well stocked. Two more things to point out, though: 1) In your lounge, the printer has only recycled paper from somebody else who had used it, misprinted something over many pages, and stuffed the paper back in the tray, apparently. All the paper had a line or so of jumbled letters across, and it made printing our boarding passes a challenge. There was no stock of printing paper around that I could use instead. 2) When we arrived on Friday morning, the space across from the reception area was being rearranged (maybe for a function/) and looked like it was under construction. It was not a very good first impression, but it was alright the next day. I found your lobby a bit sparse and sad (I cannot remember if you had any furniture, flowers or seating areas), but I suppose it is functional. All in all, a very good value for our money.

- Momo Podolsky

Dear Momo:

I really appreciated your detailed survey and was pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay! You mention that our Lobby looks a bit empty - this is about to change as we are undergoing renovations and refurbishment throughout the hotel and during your visit, our Terrace Dining Room was under construction - just to add to the chaos!!
Thanks so much for mentioning the printer paper in 617. This should be checked daily and I do apologize for the "recycled" paper that had been put back in the printer.
I do hope that The Prince George will continue to be your hotel of choice in Halifax.

Kind regards,

Penny Cameron
Manager, Guest Experience\Concierge
Member, Les Clefs d'Or Canada