Reviews

Monday, September 30, 2013

Restful

We were at the Prince George for 4 nights, attending a conference at the WTCC. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed with smiles and good cheer. We were acknowledged with a hello and smile any time we walked through the halls or by the reception desk. Our room was always spotless and we even had a note from the housekeeper appreciating our tidiness ( I certainly liked that it was noticed). The proximity to the convention centre and Midtown bar made it easy to plan a meeting place. We are originally from N.S. and co-workers stayed with you at my recommendation. I was very pleased that the N.S. friendliness came through strongly. We did not have a meal in the hotel. I find the cost of your breakfast to steep for 4 mornings. I would like to have a continental type breakfast offered. There is no restaurant close by that serves breakfast. We ended up going to Tim Horton's in Scotia Square (not open Sundays so we stayed hungry) Our room was quiet and restful after full days exercising my brain. Thank you.

- Susan Rhynold

Thank you Mrs. Rhynold - maybe next time you could try our Crown Service which includes access to our Crown Lounge and every morning plays host to a continental breakfast?  


Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you home again very soon,

Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, September 27, 2013

Great wedding

I had an awesome time at a recent wedding. Stayed the night in a suite with my young family and the room was a great size, nice furniture. I misplaced something at the wedding and your front staff were more then helpful in helping me find it and also gave my son a nice teddy bear.

- Nicholas Petropolis

Thank you for mentioning Colin by name - he is a true gem and I will definitely let him know you thought so too.


See you again very soon Mr. Petropolis.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 26, 2013

Very comfortable stay!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Prince George. The location is great, rooms are clean and comfortable, bathrooms nicely updated, coffee makers are a great touch! I appreciate your green efforts.... who needs linens changed daily? or little bottles of products? Good for you. The service at the front desk was great... each and every individual was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We would have stayed an extra night if you had had availability. We chose your hotel because of the deal on Tripadvisor....thanks for making that available.

- Eileen MacKell

Dear Mrs. MacKell,

Next time we will have another night for you - I am sorry thsi wasn't the case on your recent visit with us - thank you for staying with us.


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 26, 2013

A very good stay.

The stay was very good and staff deal with a minor billing issue.

- Gerd Andres

Thank you Mr. Andres and if that billing issue hasn't been fixed yet please call me at 902-491-4242 or email at stravis@princegeorgehotel.com and I will do whatever I need to do to correct the issue.


Thank you for staying with us,

Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 26, 2013

Diappointed !

My husband and I travel frequently and generally stay at 4 & 5 star hotels. We also travel frequently to Halifax and decided, for a change, to try your hotel. The hotel itself is fine, the rooms acceptable ( although the coffe maker in our room didn't work) but I feel the staff need to be more accomodating and put the customer first. On check in, after a seven hour drive, I do admit we probably were more curt than need be, but asking for a higher floor shouldn't immediatley elicit a somewhat negative response, We were given a room on the 5th floor but the air conditioner compressor was extremely noisy.A maintainence person was sent and he said "it is the compressor, they all sound like that ,just turn it off if you don't like it !" We of course asked for a different room and were given a room beside the ice machine. If it is evident we preferred a quiet space this made no sense. At this point we just didn't want to stay at your hotel because we were not feeling valued however we were told if you leave you have to pay the room charge anyway. I would have preferred " I'm sorry our hotel doesn't meet your expectations, hopefully you will give us an opportunity to another time'. Keep the customer happy. We stayed and are now left with a not very pleasant memory of your hotel. The importance of this to you is that as we are seasoned frequent travellers, so are our friends and colleagues . I will not recommend your hotel to them because we didn't feel welcomed or valued. They will tell their colleagues and friends and so on. My point in sharing this is so you can think about your staff and how you can improve their interactions with customers.

- Kathy Glazer-chow

Dear Ms. Glazer-Chow,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our guest satisfaction survey. 

I am sorry for any miscommunication with your high floor request and our Maintenance technician's response to the compressor issue.  This is not typical feedback for us Ms. Glazer-Chow and I can assure you our team cares about the guests we welcome into the hotel.  I wish you didn't have negative memories about the Prince George and if we are lucky enough to welcome you back to the Hotel I have every confidence we would deliver a perfect experience.  

I hope we get that chance,

Scott


Scott Travis

General Manager



Thursday, September 26, 2013

Awesome as always

Upon my arrival I was greeted like an old friend. I was there to attend a Gala at the WTCC on my return back to my room I was pleasantly surprised to have a plate of sweets delivered to my room. Your staff are always so very kind. Keep up to great customer services which seems to be lacking in the world today.

- Tracy Black

And I can assure you Mrs. Black.... we love you too!,  Thank you for your loyalty ...... we appreciate it very much.


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 26, 2013

Beautiful property, great service, but some minor hiccups in the experience

I enjoyed my stay at the Prince George. Loved the building and the room. Loved how close I was to the WTCC and the night life. Staff were very courteous and professional. I loved the fact that there was a Keurig machine instead of the small drip machine and I was even more impressed with the idea of having fresh cream in the room instead of coffee-mate. The only issue I had with my stay occurred when I woke up and decided to make coffee in my room. The fresh cream was not so fresh ... the creamers were either frozen or had gone bad, but either way were completely solid. I grabbed the cordless phone to call front desk and despite being on its charger, the cordless phone was completely dead. I was able to use the desk phone to call the front desk and new creamers were delivered quickly. These were minor issues, but for a hotel of your caliber, they really stood out as disappointing.

- Greg Doucette

Dear Mr. Doucette,

These are the tiny details we pride ourselves in getting "right".  My apologies for us dropping the ball.  We will discuss these issues amongst the team and get it right next time Mr. Doucette.... which we hope next time is very soon.


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 25, 2013

excellent as always

Everyone is in high spirts and always smiling. You can tell your staff enjoys what they do.

- Shannon Fougere

Why wouldn't we love what we do Ms. Fougere?  We get to invite the best guests in the world into our hotel and for that we should be smiling all the time - thank you for saying so & see you soon.


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Date weekend with my Hubby

Hi, Chris and I stayed at the PG for the Sept 8th weekend, using Chris's PG loyalty points and an extended business trip as our excuse for a "date weekend" away from life in Ottawa. This was a return to the PG for me & everything was lovely. We stayed on the 6th floor which was a huge treat. The dark haired, 40 something lady, who runs the breakfast & coffee rooms is awesome and does such a good job. Everything in the coffee room is fresh, clean & beautiful. The renovated shower in our room was beautiful & so the upholstered furniture. We has a lovely dinner at Geo, I love the wall of glass sculpture & vases. Chris really enjoyed his supper but I was not as pleased with mine this visit as last. I think the problem was that I had your amazing soup with Thai chilies & that filled me up! I was probably just too full to really enjoy my scallops. However, the service from the wait staff was awesome and we have a very enjoyable evening. Your bartender was so entertaining and the waitstaff so pleasant that we lingered at the bar until closing time. We has a bottle of organic bubbly with dinner and then sampled two delicious white wines, from the Jost winery, at the bar. All in all, a great evening. I love the lobby at the PG, it is so elegant; thank you for the huge bouquet that is always front and center...fresh flowers always make such an elegant atmosphere. I understand that the lobby is due to renovations & I look forward to the results. Many thank, Joanne Daley

- Christopher Daley

Thank you Ms.. Daley and we are already looking forward to your next getaway.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 23, 2013

Love.It.Here!!

GREAT property! Walkable to the water, shopping, etc.! Beautiful room - neat & clean - great food, hospitable & very helpful staff! Loved it! Recommend!

- Jennifer King

Dear Ms. King,

Thank you for mentioning Kim - She is the truest of all professionals and we are exceptionally lucky to have her on our team - I will make sure she knows you pointed her out - thanks again,


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 23, 2013

Nice hotel, great room, tiny pillows

I stayed at the Prince George for a seminar at the WTCC during Sept 2013. The check in was efficient and friendly. Morgan was very helpful and accommodated any requests I had. The room was clean and well organised. The queen beds were comfortable and the covers were heavy. The only problem I had was with the pillows. Hotels are falling into the same trap in that the shorter pillows look good on the bed but they are not good for sleeping. I personally prefer a pillow that is longer than my shoulder width otherwise they do not provide the support I need. The restaurant breakfast was very good and served quickly with many smiles. I had lunch in the main restaurant and the experience was well worth it. Good food and knowledgeable staff on the various merits of different wines.

- Randy Stevenson

Notes have been made Mr. Stevenson on your permanent account here - large pillows have been noted on your account and will be waiting for you next time.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 23, 2013

Underwhelming

I am a Starwoods and Fairmont Platinum member and the stay at your hotel did not meet my expectation for a 4 star hotel. No bathrobes when we checked in and no complimentary water. One good thing is that the bed was comfortable.

- Jim Beckett

I was hoping you'd say you will never return to the big brands Mr. Beckett and that you have found a new home in Halifax - if we can ever be of assistance Sir please let me know @ stravis@princegeorgehotel.com or 902-491-4242.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 23, 2013

great visit

We were there for the Engineers Nova Scotia AGM. Had a great time.

- Conrad & Lorraine Lelievre

Thank you!


Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 23, 2013

Thanks for the free parade!

This was my first stay but won't be my last. The staff were friendly, knowledgable and very helpful. Room was very nice and well kept.

- Paul Burns

Glad we could be of assistance Burns - see you soon we hope.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 23, 2013

Love Love Love

My colleague and I stayed in room 622 for 2 nights while attending a Coaching Seminar at the Halifax WTCC. Every aspect of our stay was absolutely perfect, the location, the venue, the room, the lounge to the high standard of cleanliness to the aveda toiletry products. Kudos for class and service.

- Sarah Justason

We love u 2, we love u 2, we love u 2 Ms. Justason - thank you for the support - we appreciate it very much.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, September 20, 2013

Excellent Service

We had a wonderful stay at your establishment and I cannot say enough about the quality of service. Fom check-in to exit we received such gracious hospitality, service and advice. I would not hesitate to recommend the Prince George to anyone heading to Halifax. Please note that we received a lovely cheese plate and bottle of wine from Allison( the wonderful reservationist) for our family (I booked 3 rooms for our family group) and Stephen(the concierge) so helpful with restaurant suggestions and other "issues". The hotel was well maintained and clean, the staff polite, pleasant and efficient. Bravo to you !

- Lucinda Berkey

Dear Ms. Berkey,

An A+ on quality of service brings a smile to my face every single time - thank you very much for sharing.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, September 20, 2013

Fantastic!!

start to finish, just wonderful. Great access in and out of the city. Hotel was clean and quiet, the mattress was so comfortable. I loved the shampoo and soaps were in squeeze bottles, which really cuts down on waste. The products are also green, earth based and soap from Aveda... awesome. I am vegan and I happened on the hotel by chance thru hotwire. I was very happy, I think that your website should really push this aspect more. I have spent so many months going thru the hotel options, I don't recall that being forthcoming. Well, I went to the wooden monkey, also great suggestion from the check-in desk. The information desk was also great, it set my day off well. The only suggestion that I can say, is having a hop on hop off bus as a daily and reliable mode of travel would really enrich the experience and I think people would spend more time and more money thru the city. My father was the project manager for bringing life back to the Baltimore Inner Harbour (Maryland) and Fanueil Hall Marketplace in Boston, MA. He also did the Museum in Toronto... anyway, Halifax really reminds me of these areas, it is really wonderful to see the life coming in and so much potential. I thank you for your wonderful hotel. I hope on the next trip, there will be a theater show or concert to see, I had bad luck to come on a mid-week schedule. Many thanks again, Lisa Schroeder

- Lisa Schroeder

Dear Ms. Schroeder,

We look forward to visit number 2 and I too hope there is something spectacular going on when you stay with us next - I love this city and it shows so well when we are on the big stage.  Thanks again.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, September 20, 2013

Our stay at your hotel truly exceeded our expectations in every way.

Well, to start off with Julie is a true asset to to your organization. She went above and beyond to make our stay not only enjoyable, but remarkable. Your entire staff is to be commended for their dedication to superior service. My wife and I have travel extensively, and we would rate your facility as one of the finest that it has been our good fortune to have discovered. While the facilities and the accommodations are marvelous we simply cannot say enough about your personnel. You have truly assembled an All Star team that works together in a cohesive manner that provides for a high level of customer service. I certainly hope you pass on our appreciation to every member of your staff.

- Peter & Mary Rubinelli

Dear M/M Rubinelli,

OK - Nothing being touched on one condition..... you come back again - lol.

I hope so.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, September 20, 2013

Service

I have been visiting Halifax and staying at the Prince George for years. The staff has always been very courteous and friendly and I have seen two very familiar faces over these years. Of note is Orla (or Rola?) the woman on the 6th floor who has been doing breakfast all these years. Also the gentleman who polishes all of the brass in the elevators. The beds are so comfortable, it makes it very hard to get out of them in the morning. I stayed in room 609 this last visit and only two things I would like to mention: 1. could you have installed some towel racks in the washroom as there is no place to put a handtowel or bath towel other than over the shower rail. 2. While this room has two double beds, for my next visit, I will request the same room (if available), but would it be possible to have only one of the beds made up completely, that way you are not having to fully replace two sets of bedding on my departure. Thank you

- Nadine Dunsmore

Dear Miss Dunsmore,

Have you ever heard the saying "cut from the same cloth"?  This is a perfect example of that because John & Rola are married and have both been with us for a very long time.  I am proud to report we get lots of comments for both of them and deservidly so.  I will definitely share with them the kind comments you made too.  

Thank you very much for pointing them out and for your loyalty - we appreciate it very much.  See you soon.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 19, 2013

Our stay at the Prince George

An excellent hotel, clean, spacious, close to the waterfront. Only suggestion would be front desk staff could be more welcoming to arrivals, a bit of friendly chit chat goes a long way. Same on departure, how was your stay, thanks for being here. Cheers, Greg Lewis

- Gregory Lewis

Dear Mr. Lewis,

This is not a common comment regarding our front line team - I am sorry this how we made you feel.  I will definitely share your experience with the team so they know how you felt.  Again my apologies.  I have every confidence this would not happen on a subsequent visit.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 19, 2013

Fantastic

My sister, husband and I keep raving about our stay at your hotel. All amenities were spotless - the pool at fabulous space. We stayed on the 6th floor and loved having access to the kitchen - once again it was a pleasant space. Dinner at GIO was also great. We hope one day to return to visit your lovely city. You should be proud of the accommodation you are providing - keep up the good work.

- Robert & Alexandra Kuebler

Dear M/M Kuebler,

OK so next stay is for at least twice as long - deal?  I hope so.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 19, 2013

Love staying at the Pronce George

I always find that staff extremly friendly! Perfect location. Will be staying again the weekend of Oct 3rd! Holly

- Holly Stuart

Thank you very much Ms. Stuart and see you on the 3rd!

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Very nice hotel to stay at friendly and helpfull

Every thing was all good. enjoyed our stay at your hotel. the door guys were very helpful with everything. from parking our car to getting us a wheel chair for my father. Access to the down town area was easy after you figured it out. More info on that part would be a great help. We did'nt know about that unti.ll the bell hop told us how to get down to the water front.

- James Papp

Dear Mr. Papp,

We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.  Thank you for choosing us on your recent visit to our awesome city.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

very impressed

great service, polite staff, helpful concierge, great location and delicious room service.

- Craig Browdy

Dear Mr. Browdy,

Our Lobby team is absolutely fantastic - thank you for mentioning them.  They will be thrilled to know you were pleased.  See you soon.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Night in the city

We have stayed in the Prince George many times. Its our first choice when staying in Halifax. It location, location, location plus super friendly staff. We have stayed here with our children for March break, this trip was our wedding anniversary . From the moment we arrived the staff didn't disappoint. We had a wonderful stay and we are already looking to see when we will stay again. Soon hopefully. Thanks to all for a great visit.

- Martin Fisher

Dear Mr. Fisher,

Happy anniversary - Thank you for trusting us to be part of your special occasion.  See you next year?


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Attentive Staff with Wonderful Customer Service

Absolutely everything I experienced at the Prince George exceeded my expectations. But the best part was the staff. They were there for every request, opinion, and just a friendly hello!

- Stacey Goen

Dear Ms. Goen,

I will definitely share your kind words with the team.  Thank you very much for staying with us and for being so complimentary.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Great service, good company and enjoyed the stay very much.

I arriving in the wee hours of Wednesday morning and was greeted by my first name, which was a pleasant suprise. Room was very clean and I especially liked the way you dispense your shampoo, conditioner and hand soap. I would recommend your hotel to any traveller going to Halifax.

- Henri Van Dam

We always look forward to welcoming you home Henri and we hope to do so again very soon.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Relaxing

Walking into the Prince George is like a little bit of home! The staff are so friendly and accommodating! I would not want to stay any where else, this place is fantastic! I cannot wait till i go again. Thanks

- Michelle Marshall-Johnson

Dear Ms. Marshall-Johnson,

Any time the magical word "home" is used in a survey then I know we did our job - thank you very much for staying with us..... we look forward to your return.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

A holiday!

Since I always travel with my husband when he goes to Halifax , I do look forward to staying at the Prince George. Very friendly staff on arrival ,greetings are perfect.. Room is always fresh and clean. Gio's is my favorite breakfast area with Ginger Crumb with yogurt and a cup of chai tea. Then for dinner , I had the haddock , so yummy.. Therefore what makes me happy it doubles for him. Thank you to all , it makes our stay wonderful.. Elise Doucette

- Raymond Doucette

Dear Mr. Doucette,

WOW - thank you.... flattery will get you everywhere with us - lol.

Thank you very much.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Not the greatest stay

I was a bit disappointed with my most recent stay at the prince george. All the rooms below the Crown Floor were booked, so I paid what I consider to be a very high price to stay on the Crown Floor. The room was 2 doubles, nothing spectacular. When I booked the room I was not told it was a joining room. Apprecaited being at the end of the hall, but nonetheless, not an idea stay. To top it off, the crown room ran out of diet pepsi very early and I was not impressed with the selection of crackers at night. No cheese? Not the greatest stay I've ever had, and by far the most I've spent to stay here.

- Leah Conrad

Dear Ms. Conrad,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our guest satisfaction survey.  Notes have been made on your account Ms. Conrad and I can assure you we won't run out of diet pepsi again.... you may even have your own personal stash waiting for you.  

I am sorry this stay wasn't as you expected but if you will trust us I promise you we will make it up to you next time.  I hope we get that chance.   

Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Very pleasant stay

Service was great, accomdation were very comfortable, location was perfect. I enjoyed the location the best, was perfect walking distance to many Halifax sights. What i liked the least was my view. I like a room with a view but this is hardly a complaint as i spent so little time in my room.

- Theresa Abraham

Dear Ms. Abraham,

Hopefully your next visit is much longer and we get you on a higher floor for you to enjoy some of the great views from our rooms/suites & t
hank you for staying with us.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Average Experience

I travel often throughout the United States and Europe and this was the first time to Halifax as well as staying at your hotel. The room was clean and always refreshed daily by the cleaning services. It was also nice that your thermostat in the room considered the temp conversion capabilities as it allowed me to switch over to the measurement in which I am familar with in the United States. I had limited interaction with the staff but when I did I had a very pleasant experience and the bar tender staff in the resturant was exceptional. The beds were a little firmer than I care for and the pillows were too soft that I couldn't get a good night sleep.

- Joel Davis

Thank you for staying with us Mr. Davis and I hope by now someone has been in contact with you to set up a rate with us for future travel.  Hopefully we can welcome you home again very soon.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Our favorite close to home getaway!

The staff are amazing, so accommodating and friendly. I recommend the Crown Floor, breakfast in bed included. Wonderful lounge with coffee machine that makes a variety of different coffees and teas, snacks and breakfasts as well. We like water view rooms. If you have an opportunity to book The George Suite I highly recommend it. The height of feeling totally indulged. The location is perfect, next to the Metro Centre, couple blocks up from the waterfront. Grafton Street Dinner Theatre and Cheers are on one side of the hotel and The Keg is right out the front door. The underground parking is a real plus as well. We have been to the PG many times and will be back many more!

- Scott & Katherine Gates

So when are you coming back Mr. & Mrs. Gates?  Soon we hope.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Lovely stay

The staff was exceptional, especially the concierges, who were most helpful. All were very friedly, even the housekeepers.

- Christine Walden

Dear Ms. Walden,

I my best "Elvis" voice - Thank you, thank you very much.

Now in my regular voice - we appreciate your support very much and look forward to your return.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Great hotel, fantastic staff

Check in was slow despite the fact that there was only one person in line ahead of us and three people behind the counter. The rest of the stay was fantastic. Beautiful Crown Room, amazing shower, comfortable bed, great views of the Citadel. Least was the TV. Not that we were there to watch TV, but no TSN, no HD in 2013? Give me a break. Food was fantastic at the Sunday brunch, however, in the afternoon when we got home, we both turned ill. Not sure if it was something in particular that we ate, or just a combination of too much eating and the variety of what we had. Odd for both of us to not feel right.

- Mike Ledwidge

Dear Mr. Ledwidge,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our guest satisfaction survey.  

I am glad to know you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and I am sorry to learn you weren't feeling well.  Our brunch has many flavours and options - sometime the combination can be a bit overwhelming (speaking from experience for sure - lol)

I am grateful you chose to make the Prince George Hotel your home while staying in Halifax.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Great Hotel

Everything was just great. Friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. Clean room and efficient housekeeping and maintenance, throughout the whole building. We'll be back.

- Kenneth Beaton

Dear M/M Beaton,

See you soon.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 16, 2013

Superior service and amenities, excellent staff and great location

The staff was exceptionally attentive, very professional and friendly. Hotel was well maintained and very clean. The décor was tasteful without being overstated. Location was ideal, as the hotel is centrally located and very close to major venues. Enjoyed the whirlpool, however I did find that the water in the pool was a bit on the cold side. I would highly recommend The Prince George Hotel and I hope to visit again.

- Joanna Kotopoulis

Sorry about the cold water Ms. Kotopoulis - we added a bit of water that was lost through regular usage and sometimes the first or second person in will make the same comment as you did - it is piping hot now I can assure you.  Thank you and see you again.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 12, 2013

Amazing stay!

My boyfriend and I stay at the Prince George for our one year anniversary. I won a one night stay in an auction. From the time we stepped foot in the front door, we received nothing but great, friendly service. Our room was beautiful and extremely clean. We really enjoy the lounge which include free computer use as well as snacks and drinks. We liked that the pool was open later then most hotels, as it gave us a chance to really utilize the facility. I would definitely come back for another stay!

- Ashley Leclerce

Dear Ms. Leclerce,

Happy Anniversary!  See you on the 2nd one too?
 

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 12, 2013

“As ALWAYS .. Great Stay & Great Service”

Here is the review I posted on Trip Advisor ... We have stayed at the Prince George many times over the last few years. The rooms are pretty average, however the service, pricing and location is Excellent! The staff are very friendly. The bathrooms are stocked with Aveda products. The lobby is beautiful. Gio is next door .. The Keg across the street .. and my fav restaurant in Halifax The Press Gang is right around the corner. Its an easy walk down to the harbour. Also as an animal lover, this is also a dog friendly hotel. All in all I highly recommend. And we will definitely stay again.

- Tonya Russell

Dear Mrs. Russell,

Thank you very much and I hope we can welcome you back real soon.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 12, 2013

Great location with pleasing accommodations

We found the location to be superb, the staff helpful with our questions, the rooms immaculately cleaned, and although full of guests during our stay, amazingly quiet for a good night's sleep. We would gladly stay again!

- Phillip Newton

Sometimes we have packages available on our website Mr. Newton that include breakfast or parking or another feature of the hotel or local community.  If we are lucky enough to welcome you back in the future hopefully we will have a great offering that includes everything you are looking for.  And hopefully we see you again soon.  Thanks for staying with us.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Returning loyal customer.

Once again I stayed at my hotel of choice in Halifax. I have been a frequent guest of The Prince George for more than 10+ years. As a loyal customer I am offered great rates and upgrades upon making reservations. I stayed on the Crown Floor once again during this visit and was delighted with the Crown Lounge, which is something new. Other than the Ice Machine being out of order, I found it to be an nice added touch. I also noted a change in the dining area, renovations, and it was quite nice. I stopped in at Gio's and enjoyed a cocktail or two there and enjoyed chatting with the bartender, who was very attentive and personable, however I have forgotten his name for which I am sorry as would like to single him out. If it would help....I stopped in at Gio's on Saturday evening Sept. 7th. He was also a fellow Acadia alumni thus gave us something in common to chat about. My room was very pleasant, which I always find them to be. All-in-all my stay was a positive one and have no hesitations whatsoever to stay at The Prince George upon any of my visits to Halifax.

- Dean Rector

We look forward to welcoming you home again very soon Mr. Rector.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Very pleased with our first visit.

Everything was very nice.

- Millard Adams

Parking charges frustrate me when I travel too Mr. & Mrs. Adams.  I almost always try and find a rate that includes this charge and we often have those specials on our website.  I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay.


Scott 

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Excellent

Very good stay at your hotel and I do not recall ever getting a handwritten note from the housekeeking lady thanking me for keeping my room clean and tidy.I hope your staff is fairly compensated because they do a good job. We will hope that next year for DEFSEC your hotel is offering fair rates for our stay. Regards Maurice Cassidy

- Maurice Cassidy

That would be Kim Mr. Cassidy - she is a true gem and a definitely asset to our team.  Thank you for mentioning her and for staying with us.


See you again we hope,

Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 11, 2013

The wait to check in almost ruined the surprise.

When I went to check in for both rooms under my name I was told that they weren't clean. I was previously told and understood that check in was 3pm and the rooms would be ready by then. At 4pm when we arrived they were not ready. We had to get into the executive suite to decorate, place the cake, balloons and presents by 5pm. Luckily, at 4:30pm we were allowed into the room. That's when I noticed the sparkling wine and chocolates weren't there and hadn't been mentioned by the front desk so I had to call down while decorating to arrange their delivery along with the cake to the suite. Luckily, everything worked out and was ready by 5pm. But it was close.

- Tara MacDonald

Dear Ms. MacDonald,

My apologies Ms. MacDonald for the room not being ready when you needed it.  I am glad to know everything worked out in the end but I wish things were a far more nuisance free.  Next time it will be!


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Best hotel I stayed in NS

I was traveling for pleasure in Nova Scotia and I was able to get a room at the very last minute. No regret at all, all services are high quality and the price remains reasonable. Thank you to all the team !

- Guillaume Dournel

Dear Mr. Dournel,

Thank you for the kind comments.... hopefully your travels bring you back this way very soon.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Spoiled on my first trip to Halifax thanks to a wonderful stay at the Prince George Hotel!

Excellent! I stayed at the Prince George for the Benwell/Gillis wedding and had an amazing time :)

- Andrea Layfield

Dear Ms. Layfield,

Glad we could be the spoil"er" - we hope to do it again sometime..... SOON!


Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, September 10, 2013

BANISH THE BURNOUT

Stressed from work and the responsibilities at home I decided to disappear for a couple of days in Halifax. I'm a 'standard room' kind of person but this time I booked a suite. Room 542 was super clean, spacious, had a great view, a gigantic jet tub and shower and all the little extra bits of luxury I don't always allow myself. Usually I prance around the city checking out the cafes ,art galleries, etc but this time I spent most of my time in the room. I threw snacks in the fridge, ordered breakfast in the room,put on the fluffy bathrobe, and curled up with a good book. I even brought my paints and did a little art project while I was there (no I didn't make any mess). The king bed was heaven! Quite a change from falling asleep exhausted on a couch with two dogs!

- Annie Bennett

Dear Mrs. Bennett,

Anytime you want to come back I can assure you we will help to extinguish the "burnout".


Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 09, 2013

First time in Halifax, stayed for one week at your hotel and loved it!

Gio was one of our best meals. Fantastic food. The room was perfect, love the tea and coffee/Keurig machine.

- Stephanie Lord

Dear Ms. Lord,

Let's get you back for 2 weeks next time!

lol
2 weeks or 2 days we would love to have you come home again very soon.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, September 09, 2013

Above and beyond

The best way to explain my stay at the Prince George is to give an example of the service that was above and beyond what was expected. When I got back to my room the first day after it had been cleaned, there was a note from the person who cleans the room complementing me on how I maintained my own room. The note was very thoughtful, respectful and provided a human touch that is not always present in stays at other hotels. The cleaner should be complemented on her thoughtfullness and care she takes with her 'clients'.

- John Shaw

Dear Mr. Shaw,

lol - I am willing to bet that was Kim N on our Housekeeping team.  She is a true pro and I will definitely ensure she knows you think so too.  Thank you for mentioning this Mr. Shaw.


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Sunday, September 08, 2013

Wonderful weekend away!

We spent two nights at the PG recently and as always received 5* service! Our too Service was delicious, check in quick and easy! The crown floor lounge was beautiful and tidy and we enjoyed the availablity of bei able to grab a drink or snack easily, and breakfast was right across the hall!

- Liana Vandenhof-Rhodenizer

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us Mrs. Vandenhof-Rhodenizer and thank you very much for letting us know about the ripped sheet so we could "make a rag" out of it so it didn't affect another guests stay.  Hopefully we will see you very soon for lots more 5 star service!

Scott Travis
General Manager



Saturday, September 07, 2013

Classy, caring, luxurious comfort - the Prince George way!

Everything was extraordinary as per usual - my favourite hotel to stay at whenever I am in Halifax.

- Nancy Fijan

Dear Ms. Fijan,

Craig is one of the most creative people I know and we love seeing what he will come up with next.  You must be thrilled to be finished - congratulations from all of us and I hope we get the opportunity to still welcome you back from time to time.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, September 06, 2013

very good

We return to our home town of Halifax each year to visit relatives and friends and we usually stay at the Prince George Hotel. We book the Crown floor because we enjoy the convience of the hospilitaly room for breakfast,snacks and drinks.You are very fortunate to have such an excellent attendant for the hospilitaly room to keep it clean and to make all guest feel welcome. This year we were pleased with the improved housekeeping when our room was attented to on a more timely manner. Over all we usually enjoy our stay at the Prince George.

- M Robert Langille

Dear Mr. Langille,

That would be Rola Mr. Langille and she looks after our guests like they were guests in her own home - I will definitely share you kind words with her.  Thank you for singling her out and for staying with us..... see you soon,


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, September 06, 2013

Sleep like a baby and treated like a king and queen

Was a night that i wont forget ever again for my Anniversary and the things leading up to it. I had a surprise evening all set for my wife that she had no idea what was going on for our 5th Anniversary and a time line. But like the luck i have i take the turn to pull on to your guys street and loard be hold there are 3 Fire trucks and a bunch of cop cars there helping with getting the smoke out of Geo's restaurant that had a little miss hap. I contacted your front desk and they told me to come around back and park underground and come right up to check in and they would take care fo everthing for me and my parking to help me with my plans . So in the end everything came into play and was just a little late with the flowers taken to her work over in the Scotia tower at her work . But she was a very happy wife and surprised wife with everything i had planed and done. So once again Thanks for the best night's stay and hope to see you guys again. Donnie

- Donnie Macdonald

Dear Mr. Macdonald,

Happy Anniversary to you both - see you again soon.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

Well worth the stay

Very happy with everything

- John & Cathy Lysnes

Too kind Mr. & Mrs. Lysnes - we appreciate your support.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

Awesome stay

I had a excellent stay at the Prince George. We stayed there because we were attending a concert at the Metro Centre. It was an excellent location. The staff that were working were very helpfull especially with directions. The parking is expensive but was convenient. I would definately stay there again.

- Laurie Sheriff

Dear Ms. Sheriff,

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay with us.  Thank you again for your loyalty to us.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

PG hotel was a great experience

We really enjoyed our stay at the Prince George Hotel. Very friendly and accomodating staff and the valet service was superb. I would recommend the PG for the location and service anytime.

- Bill & Lori Baxter

See you soon Mr. & Mrs. Baxter & thank you for the kind comments.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

Great Hotel, Mediocre Experience

On August 23rd my wife and I, along with another couple, stayed at the Prince George for my best friend's wedding in which I was part of the wedding party. Overall your establishment was accommodating and staff were generally helpful with not only the wedding but the evening as well. However, when I checked in mid-afternoon I found that the 4 of us had been given a room with only one king bed although when I had called to make the reservation months before the woman I confirmed with assured me there were 2 doubles. I asked if this could be changed and was told that - understandably - you were completely booked for the night and nothing could be done. Since we had to get ready for the ceremony, I left it at that and hoped we could arrange for some cots at a later time. After the ceremony my wife called from the room but was told that there were no cots available at this time, putting our party in a awkward situation. Needless to say myself and another ended up with blankets on the floor for the night. It was a terrible sleep and really took away from our experience, especially when I had confirmed 2 double beds in the room. I really appreciate your follow up e-mail and hope that my feedback can be helpful for future situations such as this. Regards, Dylan Irvine

- Dylan Irvine

Dear Mr. Irvine,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our online survey and share your feedback with me. 

I am very sorry for the confusion or mix up with the bedding in your room.  I will definitely follow up with our team to see where the communication breakdown at reservation time occurred so this does not occur in the future.  My apologies for this significant nuisance Mr. Irvine as we do realize the importance of a good night's sleep.

It was a pleasure having you and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back for a nuisance free visit with us as it appears you otherwise really enjoyed your time with us.

Scott
Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

Awesome experience!!

Loved our stay at the Prince George. We were upgraded to the Crown floor because we were on our honeymoon and the front desk staff were so friendly!! Our room was beautiful and it was so quiet at night, like we had the whole floor to ourselves. The hotel is in the perfect location as well! We were a two minute or less walk to everything there is to see downtown. We will definitely be back!!

- Mark MacDonald

Dear M&M MacDonald,

Thank you very, very much for letting us be part of your honeymoon.  We value that you trusted us with this special occasion and look forward to welcoming you back again and again.


Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

enjoyed our stay immensely

It was my fiance's 50 birthday and he'd never been to Halifax. I called in advance to see if a family member could drop off a cake to our room and the woman was very pleasant and helpful. Check in was fast and friendly. The room was spotless and beautiful. Check out was quick, courteous and inviting. When the opportunity comes again we would definitely be booking with you.

- Sue Cochrane

Dear Ms. Cochrane,

Happy 50th to your fiance (albeit late now) from all of us.  I am glad we could play a small part in his special night.

See you on his 51st?

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

Halifax Wedding

Thanks for making our weekend extra special. I realize that getting people in early is sometimes hard to do but it came together for us as your people were amazing. Thanks again Patricia Miller

- Patrica Miller

Glad you enjoyed yourself Mr. & Mrs. Miller.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

My favorite place to stay in the Maritime provinces

We do a lot of work for Nova Scotia Tourism - and have over the past seven years, and counting - and this work has taken us to every corner, nook and cranny in the province. But the beginning or end of every stay includes a night or two at the Prince George. Great customer service, very nice accommodations, the waterfront views (which I request) are excellent, the easy proximity to the Argyle Street dining district and waterfront is excellent, and having FAST Internet is a HUGE plus over other places. We love it there! The only think we dislike about the hotel is the parking garage (it's tight and horrible getting to the elevators with luggage) - so thank goodness for valet parking! Keep up the great work! It really is a great hotel and you have an excellent staff. Roger Brooks

- Roger Brooks

Dear Mr. Brooks,

We will always be there to Valet - see you again very soon,


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

Fantastic Special Occasion Night

I stayed at The Prince George through a special they had that included a 3 course meal at Gio restaurant. The room was fantastic! Very comfortable and frankly made me feel like I was not even in Halifax. My partner and I shared a nice bottle of wine and got ready for our big evening at Gio. We were greeted with a very friendly smile and a wonderful martini when we entered the restaurant. The food was, as always, absolutely flawless. The service was over the top friendly. We had fully intended to have a wonderful dinner and then head out to another spot for a few drinks, but we couldn't bring ourselves to leave. We must have lingered over dinner for close to 3 hours, and it was really a wonderful night. We left to meet a bottle of bubbly in the room and then had a wonderful nights sleep. In the morning we indulged in the most amazing bathtub in the world. I felt like I had a mini vacation I was so relaxed. The front staff were so friendly and asked how we liked everything. This is a wonderful hotel, very easy going and top notch staff. I would come back for that special in a heartbeat. I think it's the best deal in the city!

- Victoria Page

Dear Ms. Page,

Mission accomplished for us Ms. Page - thank you for your kind words.  We have a plan in place to address the furnitures age in the coming months so hopefully before your next visit we have this shortcoming addressed.


I am glad to know you enjoyed your time with us.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, September 05, 2013

The service and amenities of the 6th floor were fantastic.

Every employee we came in contact with was very pleasant and helpful-they all seemed to enjoy their position in the company. Accommodation was very good, clean rooms, robes were a nice added touch. Location to down town was excellent. Amenities on the 6th floor were fantastic. We really didn't use any other parts of the hotel during our stay. Thank you for the hospitality we will definitely consider a stay here again.

- Patricia Macleod

I hope we can welcome you back very soon Ms. Macleod - thank you for staying with us

Scott Travis
General Manager