Reviews

Saturday, December 28, 2013

great

Everyone I spoke with was friendly and courteous. Not once was ignored even when I looked dumbfounded and lost, there was always someone who would smile and ask if I needed help.

- Mark Steeves



Friday, December 27, 2013

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay!

The staff was courteous and helpful at all times. The restaurant staff were particularly kind and helpful when I was selecting food for my granddaughter who is type 1 diabetic. They kindly helped check the packaging or labeling of acouple of food items for the carb count. You cannot imagine how much my family appreciated this assistance. We look forward to another stay at the Prince George in the near future. Also the 1 o'clock check out time is wonderful.

- Jane Williams



Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Great experience

Your inroom dining attendant, a very pleasant young lady was spectacular helping my daughter get her hair ready for her fancy dinner. This kindness and initiative was greatly appreciated and we'll remember and think kindly about your hotel in the future because of her.

- Darryn Steeves



Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Great.

Parking was clean and well lit. Staff at front desk was extremely aware And available to help, I walked to the desk 3 times an each time I was created from approx 20 feet with eye contact and positive body language. Lobby looked great decorated for Christmas. Elevator was efficient and halls to Room were cleared, out room was clean, stocked and inviting. Great view. Our floor (4th) I believe had a room for no pets yet next to us was what I would assume a new puppy someone brought along. Also opposite side, was a guest with an acoustic guitar, not the hotels fault but was annoying. Facility felt secure and warm. After midnight A stag member asked if we needed help carrying things to our room. Nice and helpful.

- Richard O`Fegan



Monday, December 23, 2013

A-1 staff and stay all the way

Everything was wonderful.

- Daniel Campbell



Monday, December 23, 2013

Awesome hotel with a feeling of luxury!

Visited Halifax for three days to attend Christmas theatre and concert and it was very pleasant to be so close to both-with one we didn't have to venture outside. Close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Desk staff were very professional, pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and attractive-great view. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious - a bit pricey but atmosphere was nice and staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't go to the restaurant Gio but it looked great. Parking in the arcade was very convient and nice not to have to clean the snow off the vehicle- thought that $22. was a little high. Plan to stay here again !!

- Trudy Mackenzie



Thursday, December 19, 2013

I know now why they recommend you !

service and accommodation were more than expected, your staffs are proud to be your employee and the show it. free coffee-orange juice while someone else is fighting to find us a transportation to the airport, quick re-checking because our plane was canceled, good tips to find restaurant during the storm, good room-service, excellent service at your restaurant GIO and good food even if it was a slow night cause of the storm. in one sentence high class hotel. can wait to come back !

- Stacey Dutremble



Thursday, December 19, 2013

Sophisticated "down home" convenience...surprise free hospitality

we would choose the Prince George again and again

- Robert Harrison



Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Fabulous

Beautiful hotel, beautiful room, excellent amenities, excellent customer service. Got back to my around after midnight and I wished room service was still available for a meal. Apart from that, I can't wait to come back.

- Cate Hollett

Thank you Ms. Hollett,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Can't ask for a better place to stay

Very clean, comfortable and conveniently handy to the WTCC

- Denise Rioux

Can't ask for a better guest either Ms. Rioux...see you soon,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Great Stay

Great stay, as usual, with no complaints. Service, accommodation, food, everything good!

- Eric & Joy Hatfield

See you soon Dr. Hatfield,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, December 16, 2013

Loved it

We had a great stay. Staff were nice enough to mention that the place where we were going for a party was just across the street and told us how to get there from inside without even needing a bed. The room was really nice and clean and the bed was heavenly. The only disappointment was the cost of valet parking $30. I only pay about $20 when I stay for business at the detas

- Shelley Withers

We ll we love you too Ms. Withers - when are you coming back?  Soon we hope,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, December 16, 2013

Outstanding as usual!

Outstanding as always!

- Danny Moore

Shucks - thanks Mr. Moore..... see you soon?

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, December 16, 2013

Nice, but annoying

As you probably know, I haven't stayed at The Prince George in a number of years, for no other reason except that my company moved their rate to another hotel. When the opportunity came to stay there again last week, I was pleased. My stay was excellent, the room was comfortable and the front desk staff were welcoming. However, when morning rolled around, the housekeeping staff began knocking on my door at 8:25am and again around 9:45am (this one was whatever time I called to the desk). After the second time of this interrupting my sleep, I calle dthe front desk to ask what time checkout was, fearing that it was early. When I was told 1pm, I shared my frustration with the guest service representative. They empathized with me. The knock never came again, but as I checked out at approximately 11:40am, the maid was standing in the doorway of the room across the hall, appearing to be waiting for me to leave (I know this is not the case, but it appeared that way).

- Chuck Boudreau

Welcome back Mr. Boudreau.  My apologies for housekeeping disturbing you.  This is absolutely a training issue and therefore my responsibility to ensure all employee receive the training they need to look after our guests - My apologies Sir.  I hope we can welcome you back soon so we prove to you we are listening to your feedback.


Happy Holidays,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Monday, December 16, 2013

pleasant experience

I needed a same-day reservation for a hotel in Halifax because something very important came up. In the chaos of reserving online, i realized that i had reserved a room in a different, unnamed, hotel by mistake. I called them immediately and was told it was impossible to cancel my reservation because they require 24 hours prior to the stay for a cancellation. Irrational, considering it was a same-day reservation that I had JUST made. The clerk was rude and not at all interested in helping, but eventually with no grace at all, and some attitude, "allowed" me to cancel but cautioned they would not be so generous if it ever happened again. I assured them it never would. I then called the Prince George and was treated to pleasant and helpful service from the moment I called. It continued when I arrived there and was treated courteously and helped with parking. The hotel room was, as always, a pleasantly appointed one and I had a great view out my window. Checkout was unproblematic; they validated my parking and transacted the business seamlessly. Needless to say, I will not make the mistake of reserving a room in that other unnamed hotel (that has a different 'peerage' title in the name....)

- Joan Levack

I am glad we could be there for you Mrs. Levack - we are blessed with an awesome reservations team and it could have been anyone of a few great team members but I will track down who looked after you and make sure they know how you felt.  Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again very soon,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Saturday, December 14, 2013

As always absolutely amazing

The Prince George has become my hotel of choice when coming to Halifax. It has everything (and more) that I need to make my stay welcoming, enjoyable and safe... amazing staff, beautiful location, accessible room. I have not found another hotel where I feel as welcome and completely accepted. I truly value each time I get to stay at the PG.

- Emily Duffett

WOW - Thank you Ms. Duffett.

Happy Holidays and hopefully we will see you soon into 2014,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, December 13, 2013

Christmas Party

Service was good , front desk staff very nice , building and room very clean

- Jason Buckland

Happy Holidays Mr. Buckland & thank you for staying with us.  I am glad to know you enjoyed yourself,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, December 12, 2013

I feel well cared for whenever I stay at the Prince George.

What I like best about staying at the Prince George is that I can park my car indoors while I stay. I also like the fact that I do not have to go outdoors to get to my meetings, eat lunch, and for entertainment or even to make necessary emergency purchases. What I like least is that I don't have more meetings in down town Halifax. When I forgot my Insulin in the fridge in the room, it was stored properly for me and returned to me. When I got the call about it, I was at Dartmouth Crossing and had checked out from Prince George.

- Joe Marshall

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us Mr. Marshall.

Happy holidays to you and yours and I hope we can welcome you home early in the new year!

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, December 12, 2013

Top Shelf

Satisfied in every way from check-in to check-out

- Gerard Giovannetti

Mission accomplished then Mr. Giovannetti.  Thank you for letting us know and we hope to see you again very soon.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 11, 2013

My favorite hotel in Halifax

Best hotel to stay at when in Halifax. Very central. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is very clean and comfortable.

- Howard Macdonald

Very kind Mr. Macdonald - see you in 2014!

Happy New Year,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Great Hotel

I liked that parking was included in our package. The service we received at the front desk and in our room was excellent. The room was very clean, bed very comfortable. I found that we could hear the people talking in the next room although we couldn't make out what they were saying, we could hear. A lot of noise in the hall late at night, people partying but I guess it was due to the time of year (Christmas Parties). The location is great.

- David Tighe

Thanks for staying with us Mr. Tighe & thank you for mentioning Kim.  She is gem and we are lucky to have her.... that's for sure.

Happy New Year,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Excellent!!

Check in was easy and friendly, had valet parking - excellent. The room rate was good and was only there for one night, but felt very well taken care of. I do not know any employee names anymore compared to when I stayed here quite regularly in the past. Your staff are super!!

- Judy Whitehouse

Thank you M/M Whitehouse - I can assure you the pleasure was all ours.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 11, 2013

fabulous

This hotel is our first choice when staying in the Halifax.This past stay was precipitated by my husband requiring eye surgery for a detached retina.I was buying gift certificates at the front desk for xmas gifts.We had just been to the eye surgeon who wanted my husband in early the following A.M. for surgery.I asked the woman waiting on me if they had any specials we could take advantage of because we did not want to battle the early A.M. traffic coming in from Chester.She told me there were special rates for patients.So we booked two nights so he could go right back to the hotel after surgery and then go to another early A.M. appointment to have the eye checked the day following the surgery.The room was quiet and comfortable.It was great to have a fridge so he could have a beer in the evening and juice and yogurt in the A.M.He slept for 5 hours comfortably after the surgery.We ate dinner at Gio/a? both nights.Very convenient as he did not feel like leaving the hotel for meals. i think we watched an in room movie and we parked in your lot. We love the king size bed,as we sleep in one at home.That is the best feature,I guess.The worst feature was the water pressure.Extremely low.The food was fabulous so was the wine.No complaints there. Friendly,helpful staff everywhere.No complaints there.We did not use the pool or fitness centre. All in all,one very satisfying experience!

- Penny Bremner

We will always be there for you and your husband Mrs. Bremner.  I hope he is feeling better and we get to welcome you home again very soon.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 11, 2013

As always, a great stay

We stay with you every time we are in Halifax. We travel with our dog and he is always welcomed at you hotel, he loves his gift bag!

- Greg & Joyce Mailman

Thank you for staying with us Mr & Mrs Mailman.  I am so excited about the lobby reno.... it is going to be awesome for sure!  Good luck with the bid and Happy New Year.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Sunday, December 08, 2013

Except!

I live in Adelaide Australia so don't get to Halifax often only when my client East Link needs me every few years. I was very impressed with the staff service focus and the restaurant was unbelievable for a 'rural town'. The coffee at breakfast was terrible!! Reg Coutts

- Reg Coutts

You don't like Starbucks Mr. Coutts?

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, December 06, 2013

Excellent

My Hotel experience was probably the best I've ever had. I travel a lot for work, and was at the Prince George for the TIANS Conference. The first evening we were treated to food prepared by Gio, and it was extremely good. The servers were friendly and well trained, and the staff at the hotel in general were very nice. I liked that I could choose the best time to have my room cleaned, or if it wasn't needed that I could opt to not have it done, and I liked the dispensers for shampoo and soap as opposed to individually wrapped bars. I also thought the room was beautiful and enjoyed the decor.

- Lindsay Young

Thank you Ms. Young and don't wait until next years TIANS conference.... how about we see you back over the winter for a little getaway?


lol

Thanks for staying with us,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, December 06, 2013

Fantastic

The room was beautiful and large, the bed was super comfy. It was nice and quiet, the room was spotless. The check in and check out was quick and easy. A very short stay so we didn't get to enjoy the pool or room service. Our loss I'm sure!

- Andrew Moore

Sounds like a longer stay to get you through the winter would be an awesome idea Mr. Moore.... Let us know when you want to book that - lol...... soon we hope,


Scott Travis
General Manager



Friday, December 06, 2013

Best Hotel Stay In North America! Amazing Hotel, Staff and Amenities - First Class

Thank you to all the Staff and Management at The Prince George Hotel in Halifax, it really was a first class experience. From the time I arrived I could tell that attention to detail was something that The Prince George excelled in; the front desk staff were so attentive and efficient, the rooms had amazing amenities and I can't remember the last time I had such a great night's sleep. I had the privilege of dinning with clients in the hotel restaurant Gio and it was an experience we will soon not forget from the food to the service it was first class all the way. Thank you to everyone for a stay I will not soon forget!

- Ryan Melnyk

Thanks a million Ryan - We are glad you enjoyed yourself.  We are super excited to be part of the Temple/Atlific family.  Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back again very soon.


Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Thursday, December 05, 2013

Relaxing Stay

Our stay at the Prince George was very relaxing and enjoyable. Everything from check-in to having robes delivered was easy and all staff were friendly and accommodating. Our dinner at Gio was delicious and our buffet brunch the next morning was better than expected, with lots of options and an omlette bar. We really enjoyed the 1:00pm check out as it gave us lots of time after breakfast to pack and check out. All in all it was a great stay with no complaints. Thank you for a great relaxing stay.

- Mary Finney

Thank you Ms. Finney for your kind comments & happy holidays to you and your family & friends,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Everything was excellent as always.

I don't think I have anything to add to the headline. We always stay at the Prince George when we visit Halifax. We don't want to stay anywhere else. The location is perfect for our preferred activities, and we have never been disappointed by the quality of the hotel or its service. The showers are new since we were last there -- very nice.

- Jeff & Nancy Land

Thank you Mr. & Mrs. Land for continuing to let us be your home when your travels bring you to Halifax.  See you soon.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

WONDERFUL!

Was at a refresher course. My stay at the P.G. did not disappoint. Excellent service and the best beds in the whole world!

- Ken Buchholz

I love sleeping here too Dr. Buchholz..... I couldn't agree more.... our beds are dreamy - lol.  


Thank you for staying with us and on behalf of all of us we wish you a safe and happy holiday.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Special

We had a Great stay, The staff was Very Friendly and Very Polite The room was nice, nothing over the top, the bathroom was nice, everything was clean. room 617 was a nice perk to our stay, just that little extra that made us feel Special The Gio was a Good experience, the food Amazing, the service, a little more attentive would have been better, we waited a long times, between times and at one point gave up and got our own wine. They was Friendly, just not attentive Front desk staff Great Drop off at front door was busy, no place to park just to check in Overall 9 out of 10 for us Thanks

- Mercedis Joudrey

Dear Ms. Joudrey,

Thank you for all of the details around your recent visit.  My apologies for the lack of attention with respect to wine service - that can be frustrating - I will definitely let the team know how you felt.  


Thanks again and next time we re looking to be a 10/10.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Powerful time at the Prince George

During my first nights stay, the power had gone out for a few hours but the staff were in great humour and seemed to cope well. It was very nice to have treats offered in the lobby and to read the morning paper by the beautifully lit Christmas tree. I want to thank the Prince George for having such large hot water tanks during the power outage which enabled the use of hot water (unless your generator is hooked to them somehow). It was very kind to see staff taking flashlights to people's rooms who called down to the main desk. I enjoyed my room, the view I had from it, the pedway to my conference at the World Trade Centre, the close proximity to restaurants& shopping, and the underground parking. I want to thank Gio for the charcuterie platter I had...yummo! Also, the room service food was delightful as well. With each stay I am reminded of the exemplary customer service at the Prince George and recognize faces that have been there for years. Many thanks!

- Melanie McCarthy

Dear Mrs. McCarthy,

Thanks for understanding and I am glad you enjoyed the lobby treats.  I 
think that is the first time in our history that we lost power and I hope the next time comes in about another 28 years.


Again thank you for your loyalty and patience.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Great stay!

Everything was great - the room was very clean, very comfortable, and the staff, as always, was fantastic. We'll be back again.

- Jerry MacAlpine

See you soon Mr. MacAlpine,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

First Time Customer at the Prince George Hotel - Halifax

I have recently moved to Cape Breton, and have not acquainted myself with the province yet. A large conference was being held in Halifax that I was to attend for work, and the Prince George graciously gave a reduced rate to "Tian" conference attendee's. I booked with a lovely young lady over the phone, who explained everything to me regarding the room, parking, and the pedway. Upon arrival, a gentleman met me with a large umbrella to dodge raindrops, and assisted with my suitcase. The desk staff were all smiles and very pleasant. The young lady explained how to get to the pedway, and asked if there was anything else they could do for me. My room was spotless, and very comfortable. I will return to the Prince George when visiting Halifax next time. Thank you!! Karen Hamilton

- Karen Hamilton

Welcome to the best province in the world Ms. Hamilton ..... hopefully we will be seeing more of you in the coming months.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

the best hotel in Halifax by a fair stretch.

Our room was gorgeous. Service was impeccable and I was so impressed with the timely manner in which maintenance arrived and fixed the hot water tap on the tub. I will definitely be back. :)

- Faustina Waters

Very kind comments Ms. Waters - thank you very much.  We look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy Holidays,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

My first stay and definitely not my last

Liked how quick the elevator was Liked the bedding, pillows etc Like the lighting options in the room Liked the magnification Mirror in the bathroom and that it was portable Liked the size of my room Liked how "blackout" the curtains were Very quiet Close to everything- loved the connections by pedway Used valet parking- great service Liked the keurig coffee maker LOVED that there was real cream and milk in my fridge Liked that there was no automatic newspaper delivered outside my door Liked the least: - felt that the scent of the soaps were manly (sort of a little like a pine forest) but liked the environmentally sized containers. - this is something in every hotel so don't think much can be done... don't like that the television automatically defaults to the "sales" section. Would like it to stay on my last channel watched. - would have liked being asked at check-in if I needed an internet password instead of having to call down and get one - would have liked an automatic check out receipt slipped under my door

- Brenda Lagrandeur

Thank you for such great detail Mrs. Lagrandeur.  I am glad to know you overall enjoyed your visit with us.Thank you for choosing to stay with us.


Happy Holidays,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

O'Regan's Staff Christmas Party

Great evening. Stayed there due to our Christmas Party. Only hiccup was when we checked in our Key Cards didn't work the first time. Had to return to the front desk and have them re-programmed. All else was great and we will be staying there agian in the future.

- Aaron Searle

Dear Mr. Searle,

My apologies for your key card not working.  Since your visit we installed a brand new (awesome) key card system to alleviate exactly what you described - I am sorry this nuisance affected your visit with us.


Happy Holidays,

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Nice stay, great breakfast.

Nice clean modern hotel with convenient parking. Room service breakfast was very quick and delicious. Thanks.

- Ron Sweet



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Nothing exciting

I was in town on government business. I had hoped, however, to go to Scotia Square after I checked in to have a look around, do some shopping, etc. I got in at 6:10 pm. After putting my bags in my room, and trying to find the pedway to go to Scotia Square, the front desk did tell me that Scotia Square closed at 6:00 pm. That was disappointing, but not something the hotel was resposible for. However, that was just the beginning of a series of frustrations. Relative to my stay in the hotel, I had the following concerns: No pen in the room, only a pencil clock was set to the wrong time had trouble with starting the Kuerig limited in room dining menu no signage to find access pedway Thanks

- Lauri Gallaway

Dear Ms. Gallaway,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our online survey and sharing your feedback with me.  The detail you provided will be invaluable in evaluating our product and where we need to focus for continuous improvement.  Thank you.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Scott

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Christmas party stay over was excellent as usual

This is our second year staying at the Prince George Hotel while we attended our Christmas party at WTCC. Front staff were excellent and very prompt...I'm not sure how they do this but I noticed whenever there is more than a couple of people at the counter another person pops out for the back to help at the counter ( cameras in the back maybe ?) anyway it was all good and we had a great breakfast the next morning Thanks again we will see you next year !

- Ken Robinson

Maybe guest services Ghosts Mr. Robinson and not cameras - lol.


Happy Holidays - we look forward to your third stay with us.

Scott Travis
General Manager



Wednesday, December 04, 2013

great service, fantastic location, great staff

Chantal the breakfast hostess has been very attentive, proactive and friendly

- Paul Weber

Thanks Paul,

Scott Travis
General Manager